SPRING FORWARD: Weigh In #2

The difference between this week and last week is quite large.  4.6 pounds down from this time last week.  That’s quite a lot for this late stage in the weight loss although for the two week total it’s only 5.2 which is a little over 2.5 pounds down each week.  I’ll take it.  So, given what the original goal was (lose 8-10 pounds by the end of April) I’m doing pretty well.  I have only a little over 2 weeks until May 2nd so I’m going to go as far as I can in that time and then call it done.  I’ve totally come to peace with that.  I’m good with firm dates and firm timelines and firm expectations.  The airy-fairy ifs and whens drive me crazy.

After a short MSN chat with my sister tonight I’m going to try something that she suggested that will hopefully give me my sanity back as far as all the changes that are going on right now. 

Princess Sister says:  Maybe you should try living in the moment rather than discecting everything that’s going on.  That might make it more fun and things will fall into the proper place…instead of you trying to predict what that will look like.

Lady Shanny says:  I like everything to be all figured out and when it’s not it makes me neurotic!

Princess Sister says:  Pretty hard to live in the moment when you think you have it all figured out…makes it pretty hard to let something different happen when it isn’t what you’ve ‘figured’

That all makes perfect sense to me.  I’m torturing myself trying to predict how everything is going to go.  I’m torturing myself for not having my whole life all figured out.  And it’s making me crazy!  My dear friend said to me today that it sounds to him like I don’t know what I want out of life.  My answer to that?  You bet I don’t!  I totally overhauled a pretty big portion of my life in a really short time which opened up new opportunities that I don’t yet know what to do with.  So I need to figure it out, for sure.  I do NOT need to have it all figured out in the next week.  That said, I am going to settle the hell down and stop being an irrational, neurotic fool for 18 hours out of the day and see if that goes a little better.

 

5 Comments

  1. Tarable said,

    April 16, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Princess Sister is a smart girl! Gutsy, to call you out like that – but I like gutsy and it sounds like that’s just what you needed.

  2. kirsten said,

    April 16, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    I love your sister’s advice! Something I could follow as well.

    Down 1.5 lbs this week. Going to try to maintain for next week as I will be vacationing in a food centered environment. Wish me luck.

  3. MamaBearJune said,

    April 16, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    You’ve done such a great job! Congrats on your healthy habits. Sending hugs your way and prayers for a non-neurotic life. 😉

  4. madmargaret said,

    April 17, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    4.6 pounds is wonderful! Be proud of yourself!

  5. madmargaret said,

    April 21, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Hey Shanny — saw your note about comments — don’t want you to think I’m not thinking about you. Hope this reaches you — keep in touch!


Leave a Reply

