At a Loss (UPDATED)

I’m sitting here in a position that I don’t often find myself these days.  I have nothing to do and nowhere that I have to be.  Run is done, dinner is made, eaten and cleaned up, lunch is made for tomorrow, tanning is done, groceries are purchased, there is no hockey game to go to tonight.  I have nothing to do! And not only do I have nothing to do right now, I’ve had nothing to do since noon today when I got home from my run.  So little to do in fact that I took a 3 hour nap!  Napping is one of my very favourite things to do on a weekend and it’s been rather seriously neglected these past couple of months.  Actually, I find myself not even really needing or wanting to take a nap which is something that I totally was not expecting so when I had the opportunity today to get snuggly in my bed, I took it!

So what do I do now?  Since I have a whole evening to do whatever I want, I’m going to watch a little hockey, have a bubble bath, make some tea, watch a movie, download some music.  Little bits of stuff that I don’t always have the time to do these days.  And I’m going to enjoy it!

I am totally looking forward to this week coming up.  We have playoff hockey on Monday and Wednesday night (I haven’t decided if I’m staying afterwards…poking a sleeping tiger and all).  I’ve switched my run days around to accomodate those games and I am interested to see what my performance is like with the rest days more spread out.  I also am looking forward to weigh in on Tuesday since I think there is going to be quite a drop from last Tuesday.  And then on Saturday, the guy I’ve started seeing is home from his holiday.  Since I haven’t seen him in 3 weeks, I’m looking forward to that.  I’m a little apprehensive about it but overall kind of excited.  So it’s going to be hopefully a fast week.  The faster the next two and a half weeks goes by, the sooner I get to go to Seattle and get some new clothes.  I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it on here or not but I’m so growly about this whole clothes thing right now.  I know, it’s a nice problem to have, but it makes me insane because even though the reason I have nothing to wear is because I am getting smaller, it still means that I have NOTHING TO WEAR!  And with Seattle getting so close I am very resistant to buying anything until then, although I did have to break down on the weekend and get ANOTHER new pair of jeans (size 8 from The Gap) since the ones that I was wearing were getting ridiculous!  I also hesitate to wear any of the too large clothes that I have because I do not work as hard as I do to go about looking frumpy!  Which is a HUGE change for me from this time last year since I didn’t much give a crap how I looked when I left the house.  Now that I’m slowly picking things up along the way (tips from some unlikely sources) and learning to make the most of what I have, anything less is really rather unacceptable.  I’ll take a picture of my closet before I go and then hopefully one when I come back, the idea being that there better be a bloody noticeable difference in the ‘after’ picture!

That’s it for me for tonight, I have lazy things to do.

 

UPDATE:  I did some of my lazy things and then I started mucking around on the computer and decided to put up the closet picture.  I also did a new picture grid that I thought I would post as well.

The closet picture, from left to right:  3 pairs of Gap jeans, 2 of which are too big.  3 pairs of black dress pants, one pair of which is a little too big but still serviceable if I wear them right out of the dryer.  2 sweaters, 3 button down, long sleeved dress shirts, 2 t-shirts and 3 jackets one of which is too big but it’s so pretty that I don’t want to donate it.  As you can see from the top shelf, I have an over-abundance of coat hangers and an under-abundance of clothes to hang on them.  You can also see that the color palette in my closet leans more toward the fall/winter end of the color spectrum.  I cannot WAIT to go to Seattle!

And the grid picture.  I did this once already at New Year and decided that I would do it again now.  The difference between the top left and the bottom right (not the q-mark) is around 75 pounds (official number to be revealed on Tuesday).  The difference between the two bottom row pictures is about 30 pounds.  I put the question mark in as a place holder and will update the grid in another 3 months, we’ll see if there is any noticeable change.

7 Comments

  1. Comrade GoGo said,

    April 13, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Lady, I am so vicariously excited for your shopping trip! What are some of the big must-buy items on your list? Are there particular stores you’re going to Seattle to shop at?

  2. Lady Shanny said,

    April 13, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I have a list! In fact I have several lists. Besides the Seattle Seahawks jersey that I absolutely HAVE TO HAVE, some of my absolute must have items are….well, everything: T-shirts, a hoodie, jeans, spring/summer work bottoms (skirts, capris), summer clothes (shorts, sandals), spring/summer work appropriate tops, sunglasses, a new purse. I literally have not spent any money if I didn’t HAVE to (except the frigging 3 pairs of jeans that I’ve had to buy in the last 2 months) The extent of my work wardrobe right now is 3 black pants, 2 button down dress shirts and two sweaters. Since it’s spring here now, those clothes are almost inappropriate. As for clothes that I could wear on a date? Even worse! Honestly, my closet is ridiculous!

    Stores that I’m excited for? DSW Shoes, Sephora, Gap Outlet, Victoria Secret. We don’t have any of those stores here in Canada and I’m beside myself excited. I’ve got the 3 days all mapped out with a general timeline and everything. I’m bringing my laptop along and I have links to all the Sephora stuff that I want, the maps to the two outlet malls we’re going to, the Alderwood Mall directory. I’m insanely looking forward to this! Since we have really quite a short time to do all this shopping, my mom and I are going to split up which means that I will be doing the majority of my shopping by myself. Not a huge deal but I’ve had some questionable taste in the past. Hopefully that’s behind me now…I’ve made some pretty good purchases in the last couple of months so I’m hopeful. The thing that freaks me out? What if I can’t find anything? What if I end up between sizes or I just don’t find anything I like? I think it would break my heart to come back after all this anticipation and still not have any goddamn clothes to wear!

  3. madmargaret said,

    April 14, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Love the photo grid! The last time I lost weight (which, frankly, should have been the LAST time, but nevermind), I had a friend take 360-degree photos once a month — me with the same black tee shirt and blue jeans (smaller sizes, but same style) and the difference was amazing. I had them up on my website for my friends/family to peruse and they all said I looked like a different person. It’s a real gift to yourself to have this record. WELL DONE!

  4. April 14, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Love the closet Shannon… being the OCD/neat freak that I am (thanks to the army) I look with pride upon your closet org skills, at how neatly everything is stacked while not in use, each type of hanger next to a hanger of the same type.. LOL

    Hmmm… are all the pant flys facing the same way??

  5. Lady Shanny said,

    April 14, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Mad Margaret, I also really am in love with the grid. I stare at it for ridiculous amounts of time trying to even see a shred of who I am now in those first pics.

    MCG, I fear that in fact the zippers are all facing the same way! You should see my towel cupboard, it’s bloody PERFECT! It is certainly easier to keep the closet organized when there is NOTHING IN IT!

  6. Marueze said,

    April 14, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Gosh you are so organized. My closets look like bombs exploded in them, rubber maids abound with items for the switch of season. . . I have lots of clothes which cross over seasons. . . tanks, etc. I need to absorb some of your organization skills.

    Relax with the shopping. . . does you cell have a camera you can take photos if you are alone for a thumbs up from any one that you trust fashion sense as long as they have a phone that will accept the photos I guess. From where you are at this point you sound like you know what you like. . .if you stay overnight maybe you can do a fashion show for your fellow travelers and if necessary return the stuff the next day. . . But I think you will be fine.

    It has been wise that you have waited til now to show but I totally understand why you are antsy…

  7. Carol said,

    April 14, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Just love the new look. The light fringe shows off your beautiful eyes, you look stunning. Enjoy!~
    Carol


Leave a Reply

