A Lesson Learned

I learned a little lesson today.  If you are shopping for a bathing suit and you want to enhance what you have and detract from the spots that you aren’t so happy with, you are going to have to go somewhere other than the racks in the regular department stores.  Go to a store that specializes in swimsuits and be prepared to pay dearly for it.  It is worth every penny!This is the one that I got today.  You like?  I don’t know why it comes up as sort of a silvery-grey color here, but rest assured it is black and it’s lovely.  It’s made by Seafolly which is a renowned swimsuit manufacturer out of Australia.  It cost me a pretty penny but when it came right down to whether or not I was willing to pay that much for a bathing suit I had a little chat with myself.  “Self”, I said, “we did not lose all this weight and we do not work as hard in exercise and watching what we eat as we do so that you can wear an unflattering old lady bathing suit, so get off your debit card and let’s go!”  And then I came home and ran 4k for the second straight day.

So the running.  I finally, FINALLY have a new base point to work from.  I was having such a struggle to get to 4k over the last month and then on Monday it just all sort of came together and it was like it was meant to be.  I wondered if that was going to have been an anomoly and maybe I wouldn’t be able to do it again so I was apprehensive when I went out for my run this evening.  But lo and behold I was able to do it again.  I’m not going to say that it is super simple and effortless but all of a sudden that distance is reasonably comfortable for me to run.  Which is freaking AWESOME! 

I was remembering this evening when I first started out with the exercising, how hard that walk to and from work was.  How much I suffered and how that was the absolute extent of my ability.  And I was remembering in January when I walked 5 miles and that was the most I was able to accomplish.  I was thinking about how when I was first starting to run/walk that I didn’t believe there would ever come a point when I was thinking about anything other than how much agony I was in and how much I hated what I was doing.  And now?  I enjoy the time I spend out there (for the most part…I’m not going to lie, some days really suck!) and it’s the time when I do some of my best contemplating and thinking.  There is something about the physiology of exercise that, now that I’ve started to get a little bit efficient at it, creates a clarity that I don’t get at any other time. 

Additionally, since I’ve now been able to increase the exercise, I think I’ve come off the little ledge that I was on as far as weight loss.  It seemed to take me a really long time to recover from Fourth Week and my time of the month as far as the scale is concerned but what I actually think it was is a plateau that I could have stayed on indefinitely.  I think that I could have very well come to a reasonable stopping point and maintained quite nicely if I hadn’t been willing or able to increase the exercise.  Yes, I know, I don’t want to lose weight in my boobs and my curvy bits but more than that I really want to keep pushing myself in the exercise and that is automatically going to make the weight come off.  I’ll never be a waif and that’s fine.  But I can get fitter and that’s what I’m aiming for.

And finally, the guy.  He called me this evening and we had a nice chat.  He’s still out of town for another week and a half and that’s a little bit sucky.  But this evening after I hung up the phone the first thought in my head was ‘uh-oh’.  For various reasons and the way that the conversation went, when I hung up the phone I felt like he had managed to take down one of the small bricks in the barrier that I’m trying to keep up.  And that gave me the uh-oh feeling….in a good way…sort of…

 

3 Comments

  1. Marueze said,

    April 10, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Great Suit! Now hang it in a place that you see it regularly in your closet up front so you can be reminded of your accomplishments. The satisfaction of that will make it worth even more than the cost.

    Money well spent, I say!

  2. April 14, 2008 at 11:13 am

    So Shannon, have you done any of the LSD training I suggested? It might take you a bit further like maybe 5k or 6k ! LSD stands for Long, Slow, Distance and requires you to run VERY slow for a longer distance than you normally would. If you run 4k at normal pace, you should be able to run 5 or 6k at a slower pace and this will increase your endurance and lung capacity. It also puts a different type of stress on our hip adductors and gluteus forcing them to work almost the entire time vs. running faster which gives them a quick second break with each “stroke”

    On a deeper level, it also works the Vastus Lateralis which you will feel on the outside of your thigh. It comes across and tightens your muscles making your legs look great!

    Try it out!

  3. Lady Shanny said,

    April 14, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Hey Master Corporal (am I allowed to say ‘hey’ or is that un-army-like?).

    So the LSD. Ya, I actually haven’t purposely tried that yet since I think I’m probably already doing it. I go pretty slow already (about 7.5 minutes/k). I do know that to actually squeeze 4k out I had to keep telling myself to slow down and take it easy. If I’m not actually doing it but it could make my legs look even better then I need to get on that!

    I’ve been doing crazy amounts of squats and lunges after every run too to try and build muscle and firm up my rear. I’ve definitely noticed the squats in the fronts of my thighs and according to a particular guy on our hockey team, my rear is noticing the benefits as well!


Leave a Reply

