A Choice

…and if you’re faced with a choice and you have to choose, I hope you choose the one that means the most to you….

I heard that line in a song this morning and by this afternoon it had become very important!

I am currently being faced with a choice and the one that means the most to me is a matter of choosing whether to try and win the fight or to just walk away and forget it. 

Walking away means that I will swallow my pride.  It means that I’ll not worry about trying to get validation.  It means that I will stop blaming anyone else and just accept that I made some bad decisions and move on.  It means that I will stop waiting for an apology that is never coming.  And it means that I don’t get to be bitter about it anymore.  Read that line at the top again.  The choice that I have to make is the one that means the most to me and it means more to me to build myself a future rather than to try and squeeze a life out of the past.  I have to make the choice that may make it look like I lost the game.  I know that there is nothing there to win though, there never was.  I didn’t lose, I made the choice to stop playing and that’s totally different.

2 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    April 4, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    He will never validate you, he will never apologize. You would be waiting for a lost cause and while you were waiting you would miss the things you are supposed to see, the person you are supposed to be. And in the end, you come out whole, stronger, more powerful, and in total control of this part of your destiny. You made the right choice 🙂

  2. ladybeams said,

    April 5, 2008 at 8:24 am

    You’re right. Choosing not to play is totally different than losing. Excellent!


Leave a Reply

