Stuff It!

I’m a little tired.  OK, I’m a lot tired!  Actually, I haven’t felt this whole body kind of tired since I started both Weight Watchers and walking to work.  That is why I presume that this spacey exhausted feeling is just my body adjusting to the new exercise routine.   Since the 8k this past Sunday I’ve been very diligent about getting out and getting my running training in.  My goal is to run a 10k in July without stopping and since that’s not a lot of time and my cardio is a lot of terrible, I started to do Fartlek training.  Go see p4p for a good explanation of what that is.

Part of what is making me tired is that there is a lot of stuff swirling around in my head right now from work stuff to a couple of instances of boy stuff to exercise stuff to body/weight stuff to personal stuff.  It’s a lot to focus on at any one time and it makes me want to just close my eyes and go to sleep…for a week!    Stop with the STUFF already!

I just about erased this post right now because it sounded particularly whiny but then I thought “this is my website and I am getting slightly “whelmed” with stuff and if I want to write about it I can!” (not OVERwhelmed…not yet…just….um….whelmed…)

One of the great things that I realized this afternoon when I got home was that I even though I want to just go straight to bed, the foundation of exercise is ultimately going to help me through life when it gets hard.  It’s a distraction for me because I can only think about what I’m doing.  It’s a constant from day to day and it’s also something that I get to do all by myself.  I know that I live by myself but at some point that is going to change and what the running gives me is guaranteed Shanny-time. 

I’ve seen it happen before where someone is completely dedicated to their health or fitness goals because they have nothing else going on.  And as soon as they get in a relationship or move in with someone or become otherwise distracted those goals become secondary and the focus becomes blurry and eventually just fizzles out.  I actually think it might be MORE important to continue on with your routine as a foundation to who you are as a person.  I know that I’m getting a little ahead of myself since I am quite a ways away from that sort of distraction but it’s something that I have to plan for.  The way I am and the way that I don’t neccessarily trust myself makes it neccessary for me to work things out in my head first.  That can sometimes cause little things to become far larger than they need to be but the value in the preplanning outweighs the occassions when I lose perspective on things. 

What do I mean by all this?  I mean that even though I am butt-dragging tired today I still ate properly and I am still going to go for my run.  Tired or stressed out is not an excuse for me to let everything slide.  No, it’s actually a reason to keep things as routine and regular as they are when I feel fantastic.  Maybe by doing something that usually makes me feel great I can trick myself into believing that I am not tired and a teeny bit stressed.  It’s worth a shot.  Plus, I have it together enough this evening to go and do my Fartlek while it’s still light outside which is like a little gift, just for me!  I’ll take it!

7 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    March 13, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    I’ve been arguing with myself for half an hour whether I’m going with the walking group tonight. I’m bagged and would like nothing better than to lay on the couch with my puppy on my tummy while we both have a lovely nap. Ooops, just about talked myself into it again!
    But you have inspired me so I will get changed and join the group for a 5km walk around the neighborhood.
    Thanks!

  2. p4pretention said,

    March 13, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Good for you! I think actually going to the gym (or in your case, putting on the running gear and stepping outside) is the often most difficult part of an exercise routine. That you are pushing through the tiredness and still eating on program AND fartleking is amazing, and something to be proud of. Maybe reward yourself with like an awesome sportsbra! Or like a shoddy wrist watch to keep time while you are training (shoddy because you are going to sweat all over it anyways)!

    About the tiredness: when I first started training for the 10k I totally experienced the same thing. There were a couple nights when I forseriously went to bed at 8:00!

    It gets better.

    You do adjust.

    I think it took me at least 2 weeks to turn down the really ridiculous tiredness. But note, I am as fond of sleep as I am Oreos.

  3. Lady Shanny said,

    March 13, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    We were just talking about sleep at work today…probably because I was whining about being tired. Anyway, I said that I am a low energy person by nature and that, given the opportunity, I can fall asleep almost immediately no matter where I am or what’s going on around me. Aaaah…sleep. Snuggly, warm, cozy, dark sleep. ZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  4. p4pretention said,

    March 13, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    I…I notice you fell asleep mid-post. That is probably bad for your neck.

  5. lillian64 said,

    March 13, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I hope you feel better. Keeping with my routine helps me through the blues. Working my muscles always puts a smile on my face.

  6. Bev said,

    March 13, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    I don’t know about you but every year I forget that allergies make me extremely tired. You said you were having allergy issues also, maybe that’s contributing. Just a thought.

  7. Tarable said,

    March 14, 2008 at 7:04 am

    tee hee… Fartlek


Leave a Reply

