Serves Me Right (but in a good way!)

So ya, the eating disorder thing.  Definitely go and read the comments in the previous post.  The ones from Princess Darcy are hilarious (that’s my twinny) and JanB had a great thought too.  I expounded on my thoughts as they relate to hers and also there is someone in the comments asking for advice.

So wouldn’t you know it, the day that I am accused of having an eating disorder and starving myself, one of the foreman showed up to work with a generous serving of his homemade apple crisp for me.  I don’t actually remember asking for a taste, probably because I never for one second thought he would bring any.  But he did…this morning.  Once I realized that he wasn’t kidding I got kind of nervous (kind of?  how about a little panicky!).  This offer of apple crisp came directly on the heels of a conversation with my dear friend about how occassionally I’m going to have to start treating myself and not call it a failure.  One of my new things to work on is definitely going to be how to indulge a bit but still have the next meal or the next day right on target.  So, golden opportunity, right?  You bet!  Aside from a certain person who kept saying he wanted to WATCH me eat it (ya, cause that won’t make me more nervous!), it was actually the perfect opportunity to indulge a little, completely unplanned, and then get right back on track.  So I did.  And it was incredible!  Buttery and sugary and crispy and DELICIOUS!!!!!  I actually realized while I was eating it that I haven’t had anything with the real butter and the real sugar in a very long time.  Even my occassional indulgences are within a certain guideline (eg. sugar free hedgehog = 3pts) and I mark them down in the food journal.  How do you mark something like this down?  There is no way…and I’m actually alright with that.  I didn’t think I would be but I guess it’s one of those things you have to actually DO to see what’s going to happen.  Today was a weird day!

Today is also weigh-in day!  Did you forget?  I didn’t.  I moved weigh-in time to the morning and marked down my loss this morning.  Since I was already doing a post this morning I thought I would wait until this evening to give you the update.  It’s a good bloody thing that I did, too!  Apparantly my subtraction skills are not all that they could be at 5:05am!  The difference between last week’s weight (185) and this week’s weight (182.8) is…wait for it….NOT 1.2 pounds.  It’s actually 2.2 pounds.  And in a way?  I almost feel like I was supposed to think that I had a below normal (for ME) loss this week so that I could do the indulging thing even though I figured that I should have lost more.  Ya know what I mean?  It was almost as though the extra pound off was a little reward for stepping into new territory this morning.  That theory probably sounds questionable but I’m sticking with it. 

So for March Madness I am down a total of 4.8 pounds with only a range of 3.2 – 5.2 left to go and 3 weeks to do it in.  Totally do-able!  How is March Madness going for the rest of you?

5 Comments

  1. p4pretention said,

    March 11, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Congrats dude! I have my first MM weigh-in tomorrow morn.

  2. JanB said,

    March 12, 2008 at 5:41 am

    Congratulations!! I fell into the trap of letting myself have a cheat day every week, which turned into maybe three times a week of not eating according to my plan. But I am back to what I should be doing and I lost this week too. Whew. I was getting scared that I was unable to lose any of the rest of the weight that I have left to get off.Once in a while is ok, but to say, “the hell with the whole day” that was insane for me to be doing. I see that now.

  3. March 12, 2008 at 11:14 am

    That’s great! Good for you!

  4. MamaBearJune said,

    March 12, 2008 at 11:41 am

    That’s wonderful. You go, girl! Congrats on your loss and on your attitude. I have one meal a week where I eat what I want. I think that can be key for some of us so we don’t completely fall off the wagon. The author of the Abs Diet recommends it, too.

  5. MamaBearJune said,

    March 12, 2008 at 11:45 am

    OH, and congrats on the 8k. That is a wonderful accomplishment!


Leave a Reply

