A Secret No Longer!

Every time I do two posts in one day, it seems that people miss the first one because they don’t scroll down….SCROLL DOWN!!!!

******************

I can’t stand it!  I am TOO PROUD of what I did yesterday to not mention it here.  I kept it a bit of a secret because I wanted to be completely responsible for my own decisions regarding this endeavour.  My sister knew about it (cause she did it with me) and a couple of people I know in real life knew about it, but for the most part?  It was a secret.  Well no more!

My sister and I ran the Harry Rosen Spring Run-Off 8k!!!!!!  Do you have ANY idea how big of a deal that is?  Huge.  HUGE!!!!!!!  Consider that 6 months ago I was 65 pounds heavier and a pack a day (pretty much) smoker.  And yesterday I ran the majority of 8 kilometers!  So ya, I’m pretty proud of myself!

I won’t give you a moment by moment break down because that will be very dull for you.  But I did get a couple of text messages during the run and there are some pictures for you.  The messages I’m putting on here because, once again, the support and encouragement that I receive is astounding to me.  Really, I’m flabbergasted!  And because I am the way I am, I must share them with you!

Shortly before the start ~ Friend A:  Enjoy your run and remember, whether first or last, you’re a winner for being there at all.  You’ve come a long way baby  (this message was so unexpected and sweet that it brought tears to my eyes!)

About 15 minutes in ~ Friend B:  Don’t be SOFT!!  (this may seem like not very nice encouragement but coming from him it’s exactly the kind that works for me and flips the switch in my head when I’m in the process of talking myself out of things.  SOFT is BAD!)

Exactly 30 minutes later ~ SHANNY to Friend B:  Six done…send motivation please  (this was the 6km mark and I thought I was going to expire!)

Friend B’s response:  Suck it up and run!   (and the immediate thought in my head?  “Yup, that works!”.  And so I sucked up the whining and I ran!)

So what comes next in my running career?  At this point 4km is about the furthest I can run non-stop without feeling too much discomfort.  So here’s the exercise plan (because there is a goal in mind):

Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 1km jog followed by interval training (fartlek) or hill repeats

Sunday:  4km run (I’ll do it during the day, relax!)

Tuesday, Saturday:  rest days

I have it on good authority that if I stick with the one big run day and then add a kilometer every 3 weeks that I should be in pretty good shape to run a 10k with little or no stopping round about the middle of summer.  The interval and hill repeats are suggestions from a running clinic and should help improve my cardio.  The main reason that I had to keep stopping yesterday was that my breathing became wheezy and unless I was willing to do a header into the ocean, stopping was the only reasonable alternative.  I tend to recover fairly quickly though and had no real problems starting up again.  So I’m guessing that the fact that I’ve only been quit from smoking for 25 days may have had something to do with that.  Plus, I’d only been doing the jogging for about that same period of time (a little less) so it’s no bloody wonder.  Again, I think I did pretty well all things considered!

OK, so now you get pictures.  Since wordpress was kind enough to increase our free webpage storage, the pictures are going right on here.

1.The Beginning

Here we are first thing that morning around 9am.  Race started at 10 so we stood around and FROZE for an hour!

2. Beginning Both5. Start Line That’s the start line…maybe this isn’t so scary!

3. Both Start Line Still too nervous to goof around though!

 

 

 

 

 

6. The End

Race over!  Makeup all sweated off…but happy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Harry Rosen Run Results And finally?  The results.  Chiptime is the actual amount of time it took from crossing the start line to crossing the finish line.  Guntime is how much time had elapsed from the starting pistol until you cross the finish line.  So if it takes you 15 minutes to even get to the start line then that 15 minutes is added to your time.  Apparantly that’s the way that it’s official.  Seems weird!

10 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    March 10, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    I have tears in my eyes. That is such an amazing accomplishment! I’m so glad you shared it with your sister.
    I was actually watching some of the runners outside the hotel room and wondered for a moment if maybe that was what your Big Event was.
    Awesome job for both of you.

  2. marieclaude said,

    March 11, 2008 at 12:33 am

    GOOD FOR YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Like your friend said: you’ve come a long way, baby šŸ˜‰ When is your next race planned?? Races are exciting, aren’t they??

    My first race is scheduled for this Saturday (5K) and my second at the end of the month (also 5K)… For now I just want to cross the finish line… šŸ˜‰

  3. kim said,

    March 11, 2008 at 2:07 am

    WOW! you rock. i really envy you and how far you’ve come! GREAT job!

    i’m stuck so deep in this fat-hole that i have no idea how to get out at this point. i don’t feel like myself most days, i have tons of motivation (weddings coming up etc) but i can’t seem to get control… *sigh* i don’t wanna be like this any more. can you please come over here and be my personal coach/motivator etc. ? šŸ™‚

  4. Lucy said,

    March 11, 2008 at 4:53 am

    Well done! That’s such a great achievment. I have my first 5K to look forward to in June

  5. Krystle said,

    March 11, 2008 at 6:35 am

    WOW, WOW, WOW…. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    How AWESOME for you Shanny and Princess D!! Gosh… So proud. I have my first 5k on April 26th!

    And you Shanny, you look AMA-ZING!!

  6. JanB said,

    March 11, 2008 at 7:06 am

    Congratulations!!! How wonderful! I wish I could run!

  7. Empress said,

    March 11, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Girl..you have got it going on! Congrats!

  8. Comrade GoGo said,

    March 11, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Yay, Shanny!! Congrats on going for it!

    You are a secretive little minx, aren’t you? :b

  9. p4pretention said,

    March 11, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    HOLY SHIT DUDE. 8K. That is awesome to the max. And good call on scheduling in rest days – if you know when you’re going to rest you don’t feel guilty about it.

  10. Marueze said,

    March 12, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    What an accomplishment for both of you. Congrats!


Leave a Reply

