First Solo Week = SUCCESS

UPDATE:  I just came across this post on a website that I read and it brought tears to my eyes.  For every woman who has ever pined for an unavailable guy, who has ever hoped for too long and sacrificed for too little in return.  For every woman who hasn’t figured it out yet and for those of us who have all too recently figured it out.  Read THIS!!!!!!!!! 

Results page is updated.  Was I a little worried about my first solo week?  Umm…ya!  It’s always a little worriesome when you take something that has worked really well, ditch it altogether and still expect to get the same results. 

I’ve been pretty good with the scale, I don’t let it make me feel bad or control me.  I do get on it every morning and mark down the measurement in teeny tiny print in my daily log book.  I don’t use it for anything I just find the daily fluctuation interesting.  This evening’s weigh-in is the only one that makes it onto this site and it’s truly the measure of my success.  I realize that daily fluctuation is totally normal and it’s a good bloody thing that I realize that.  I weighed yesterday morning at 182 pounds and by this morning, my first day of ‘that time’ I was up 3 pounds.  Now, obviously I did not EAT 3 pounds worth of extra calories, nor did I become so sedentary in ONE DAY that I managed to not burn off the extra 10,000 calories it would take to actually put on 3 pounds in fat. 

What did happen was what probably happens every month.  In fact I find it incredibly interesting that while I knew that the monthly increase would happen, I had NO IDEA that it would happen inside of 24 hours.  That’s crazy!

So, since I am determined to not let the lack of WW get to me, I am setting little goals for myself as we go.  You may remember from last Tuesday’s post that I set the goal of losing 8-10 pounds by the end of March.  Well, subtracting what I lost tonight, I have only 5.4 – 8.4 pounds to lose to reach that goal.  Completely do-able!

A couple of little updates before I go.  Krystle, I have your prize package done, I just have to get a box made up for it…and since that’s what we DO at my place of employment, I will get that done this week sometime.  GoGo, yours is a little more difficult.  I didn’t realize that I could not load a Starbucks card with AMERICAN money here in CANADA.  So I’m going to have to figure out exactly how to do that…but it is coming.

Second, there is supposed to be a very big day coming up on Sunday but the nice people have not cashed my cheque yet and they need to do that before I can participate in Big Day.  Unfortunately I can’t find the number of anyone to call to find out. Big Day is on, confirmation email was received!

That’s about it for this evening.  I spent the last two hours of my work day in a meeting with my supervisor and while the meeting went very well, that kind of thing can be very draining.  I have a lot on my mind lately and I’m just working on making sure I stay as level and unemotional as I can.  Incidentally, someone commented today that I seem far more ‘serene’ (their word, not mine) and relaxed than I ever have before and they wanted to know why I thought that was.  I will definitely give that one some more thought at some point in the near future but for now I would just like to go to bed and sleep a dreamless sleep!

Oh…one more thing.  My mom, my sister and I are going on a shopping weekend to Seattle at the beginning of May.  I can’t freaking WAIT!!!!!  But since that’s so far away and a person needs something to look forward to, I have the following: 

March 9th ~ Big Exercise Day

March 30th ~ Date to go to Canucks game

April 5th ~ Hair appointment (color, baby!!)

There are other assorted little things that I’m looking forward to along the way but those are the big ones.

Night-night!

7 Comments

  1. Krystle said,

    March 4, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Great job on the loss Shanny! And, sounds great about the package… I can’t wait! 🙂

    Sounds like you have LOTS of big things coming up, and LOTS of things you deserve! Good for you!

    What is included with your Big Exercise Day?!

    Good night!

  2. March 5, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Great job and thanks for the cake destruction idea! 😉

  3. p4pretention said,

    March 7, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Glad to hear you are doing well sans WW. I am sure you will keep progressing to infinity and beyond!

    Also, I am going to take your example of setting mini-goals along the way to bigger ones so I try harder. I’ve been all over the place lately, weight-wise. Up, down, upside-down, ignoring it *if I don’t weigh in it doesn’t count as a gain* (nice logic, ass), denial, up, down again – it’s like fucking weight gymnastics. I need to turn up my positive self talk, turn down my inner naysayers and try a little harder.

    I have an adult prom / ball / whatever thing where I have to dress ultra nice to the max April 12. So, I am going to join you on your quest to be down 8-10 lbs between now and then.

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    March 7, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    p4p, I am totally with you. Let’s start our own March Madness, shall we?

    Post results on our websites on weigh in day and do what we can, healthily and intelligently to move ourselves to being 8-10 pounds less by March 31st.

    Yes?

  5. p4pretention said,

    March 8, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Yes! You’re on! March Madness to the Max!

    Excercise strategy-wise I am training for a 10km race in May – I try to run 5 days a week, 4 of which I do at least 5 km and one I do a longer run on Mondays. This coming Monday is my 7 k run, and next Monday I am pushing for 8 (ack!). I also am trying to do some weight lifting (by way of attending a weight lifting class) twice a week.

    Any tips food wise? That is where I am having the most issues lately.

    Also, I was saving the voodoo doll envelope you sent me for a time when I forseriously needed it, and this week I totally did! It is cute / only mildly creepy and will forsures serve as a reminder of my goals. You rock, and thanks!

  6. Lady Shanny said,

    March 8, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I’m SO relieved that you like the voodoo doll…I was totally worried you would be offended by it!

    As for the other stuff, check your email!

  7. p4pretention said,

    March 8, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Totally not offended – it’s now my keychain!


Leave a Reply

