Stumped

It’s not even like the words are there and won’t come out.  There’s nothing there right now.  At all!  I have nothing of interest to write about.

This tends to happen when I am consumed with a new part of my plan and I am completely consumed with the jogging portion of the plan right now.  I amaze myself every night when I get dressed and go out and do the exercise.  I always said that I was not an evening exerciser.  Who was I kidding?  I wasn’t an ANYTHING exerciser before.  And now, when I’m already at home and cozy and relaxed, I put on work-out clothes and go outside (sometimes in the rain) on purpose and exercise.  It’s crazy!  This whole thing is crazy!  Me trying on a jacket and choosing a medium is crazy!  The reactions that I’m getting from men is crazy!  Me jogging over a kilometer at a time without blacking out or throwing up is crazy!  And then doing it again the next day is even crazier! The SO different way I feel and think is crazy!  The number on the scale that I haven’t seen since I was a teenager is CRAZY!!!!!!!!!

Like a friend said today, I’m the new and improved Shanny.  Not so much ‘new’ because a person doesn’t really change, but definitely improved. 

Actually, I was thinking about my success the other day and what I thought is that from the start I acknowledged my flaws and limitations and worked within those.  I planned for the things that would sink me and I made other arrangements.  As I’ve gone along week after week and month upon month I’ve paid attention and learned things about myself and my body and made adjustments where needed for those things too.  I think what’s key to my success is that I have not made myself miserable with anything that I’ve done.  I never force myself to eat things I don’t like, I avoid certain trigger foods, I made changes to my basic plan as I was ready for them and didn’t push myself too far out of my comfort zone all at once.  Because of that, I’ve never really suffered or felt deprived or tortured.  And that’s why I think that this thing is going to be successful well after all the excess weight is gone.  Because it’s not something I’m doing TO myself, it’s something that I’m doing WITH myself, with all parties in agreement.  One of the goofiest things that I think about is my napping.  It is a known fact that I loves me a good nap; a long nap, under the covers with no time limit.  I often think about the fact that I am aiming to get fitter and slimmer and that napping is not really condusive to that.  But then I think that if there was some kind of rule that said that I had to give up napping in order to be successful, I really would be miserable and tortured and whatever I was doing wouldn’t last long.  I know it seems silly to bank an entire lifestyle on a lazy past-time, but that lazy past time is as much me as the color of my eyes.  To try and change who you are when deciding to lose weight and increase fitness is a losing proposition.  It is my opinion that those who are the most successful when making any kind of shift are those who never try to alter who they really are but instead work to finesse certain aspects of their life.

Hunh!  I guess I DID have something to say after all!

3 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    February 28, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    I think those who are most successful are doing what they are doing ‘consciously’. Making a plan, tweaking the plan, using a standard plan as their guide – not a be all, end all. Each person is unique, find what works for you and don’t give up. That’s the lesson you have imparted to so many people. You said in an earlier post that WW was designed for the masses, it doesn’t work exactly the same for every person. You have to build it for your life, not build your life for the plan because otherwise it won’t work. All of that takes thought and planning and knowing who you are and where you want to go. You are a great motivator…keep it up. And absolutely love those moments of the size Medium, the men looking at you, the things you learn about yourself daily. They are the bonus prizes for what you are doing.

  2. ladybeams said,

    February 29, 2008 at 7:33 am

    I’m a nap freak also, probably more because I don’t sleep long or well at nite than due to anything else. One of the things they tout for weight loss is getting plenty of sleep. That is something particular to each one of us based on our individual make-up. I think maybe naps are more conducive to your weight loss than you might imagine. For me it’s about the only time I de-stress and it helps to round out the sleep time I don’t get in the evening, making it very beneficial, besides delicious.

  3. Marueze said,

    February 29, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Just keep glowing little glow worm, glimmer, glimmer.

    Hey, for me a Sat or Sunday afternoon is just so much better with a 2 – 4 hour nap. . .


Leave a Reply

