Some Winning, Some Losing, Some Quitting

The Results page is updated. 

Alright, I think I’ve tortured you guys quite long enough.  Are you ready to hear who won the contests?

The Ask Lady Shanny contest didn’t end up being quite the motivator that I had hoped it would be but I did get some really good questions from you guys.  The winner by random draw is Comrade GoGo.  It’s actually quite fitting that she won because the column was her original idea!  The draw was random though.  Congratulations GoGo!

The Comment Contest was far more successful and in total there were over 200 entries.  The winner by random draw is Krystle.  Congratulations!

Both winners should send me their real name and mailing address so that I may forward your prize.  Comrade GoGo is the winner of a $10 Starbucks card and Krystle is the winner of a prize package that is still being put together.  As mentioned for that one, it’s going to be an assortment and all things that I love.  Once Krystle has received the package perhaps she would be willing to leave a comment telling what was in it so as not to ruin the surprise for her.  Please, do not leave your name or address in the comments, you can use the Contact page or the Ask Lady Shanny page.

OK, that’s out of the way, moving on to this week’s weigh in.  If you’ve been following along, you know that this was my last Weight Watchers weigh in.  I keep saying it because I want people to understand that this is not about quitting or giving up or calling it done, it’s simply because I am not getting anything out of it anymore that is worth $16/week.  I purchased my own scale last night and weighed on it immediately after I got home from the last WW weigh in.  New scale weighs exactly the same as the WW scale so we’re good to keep going with no adjustment.

The weight loss itself is clearly slowing down and even though I don’t understand it, when I step back and take a real look at the numbers, I truly do not have a lot of weight left to lose.  To get to my ‘WW goal’ I have less than 15 pounds to go.  That’s not a lot.  I’ve said this before too, I will not be stopping when I get there, but will carry on eating healthy and exercising daily and wherever my body chooses to stop losing weight is where I was meant to be.  I don’t know what that number is going to be but I’ll be patient and diligent getting there.  That said, I would really like to be down 8-10 pounds by the end of March.  I think that by having a concrete goal instead of this airy-fairy goal is going to help a little, at least I’ll know where I am aiming.  I could just set my goal as 174 which is the ‘end of the WW road goal’ but there is no time frame on that.  At least this 8-10 March goal is reasonable and time dependant.  If I don’t make it there, that’s fine, it will still be a good way of keeping on course.

So how am I going to do that?  Well, it’s been a secret long enough, I suppose.  Again, if you’ve been following along you know that I quit walking to work and then was having a huge struggle as far as finding consistent exercise that didn’t make me miserable.  I found my new exercise, jogging (on the street rather than a track) and have fallen a little bit in love with it.  I’m able to do more than I ever thought I could and it makes me so proud of myself every time I do it.  I like the feeling while I’m doing it and I love the feeling when I’m done.  I truly believe that this is what I’m supposed to be doing right now.  It might not last forever, it might be temporary like the walking to work was.  But I’ll take it while I have it and do the very best at it that I can!

So far every second day I’m jogging around 1.5kms and walking 2 and then on the in between days I’m just walking the whole thing at a very brisk pace.  I have it on good authority that I need to take any increase in speed and distance slowly and carefully to avoid any kind of injury, so that’s what I’m doing.  I’ll keep on with this arrangement of time and distance until March 9th.  Then I have a big exercise day (it’s a secret for now) and after that we’ll see where I am and how I can move forward.

I’m also going to make a slight adjustment to my meal plan and try to get more calories into the beginning of the day up to and including lunch and then less in the afternoon and dinner.  Being the complete GEEK that I am, I’m going to figure out some way to chart that so that I can see it on a daily and weekly basis.  Apparantly you are supposed to eat 75% of your daily calories before dinner and then nothing after dinner unless you are truly hungry and then a small snack that does not interfere with sleep.  Going to bed hungry is BAD!  Did you hear that Carey?  It’s BAD and counterproductive and can actually cause you to heal slower if you’re ill or injured.  Sleepy-time is your body’s recovery and replenishment time and not having enough fuel in you to do that makes it harder or impossible.

Anyway, I’m going to have to spend some time over the next few days figuring out how I’m going to adjust my caloric consumption throughout the day.  I’ll let you guys know if I have a breakthrough on how that’s going to work…or if I come up with the chart, I’ll share that too.

That’s it for me this evening.  I’ve been sleeping like CRAP these last few days and I’m exhausted.

11 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    February 26, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Did your bad sleeping coincide with your jogging? Sometimes it’s really hard to sleep after strenuous exercise, it can take up to 4+ hours for your body to get back to a relaxed state where it can actually sleep. I don’t want to discourage you, just offer up an idea.

  2. Lady Shanny said,

    February 26, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Nope, it didn’t. I had thought of that but it happened even when I went to bed a few hours after just the walking portion.

    Hopefully this is not something new that I have to deal with. As anyone who knows me is aware, sleeping is something that I am very good at and enjoy very much. I would hate to lose the distraction of mindless eating, smoking AND sleeping! I think I might then lose my mind!

  3. p4p said,

    February 27, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Congrats on finding jogging! I know it’s not everyones’ cup of tea but I think it’s kinda awesome. I started the same way as you, walking and then running, and a few months later I find myself training for a 10 k!

    Don’t forget to stretch ; )

  4. Comrade GoGo said,

    February 27, 2008 at 7:15 am

    I’m a WINNER! Heh. Yay! I’ll send you my info today :).

    That’s awesome about the jogging—I’m truly thrilled for you and I’m looking forward to progress updates on that front. You’ve come so far, Shanny!

  5. Krystle said,

    February 27, 2008 at 8:17 am

    Woohoo!! I won! Thanks Shanny, I’ll email you later.

    I’m responding from my blackberry, so when I get to work I’ll send you my info!

    Jogging? I love it too! Good for you for yet again finding an exercise you love! It sure makes things a bit easier then. 🙂

    Thanks again, I can’t wait to get the things you love, and of course I will share it with everyone once I get it!

  6. Tara said,

    February 27, 2008 at 9:00 am

    I fell madly in love with jogging years ago. It makes me feel so good.

  7. Princess Darcy said,

    February 27, 2008 at 9:22 am

    You should NOT go to bed hungry! If any one out there believes in keeping your blood sugar stable, so as not to cause ups and downs and highs and lows, then it’s imperative that you eat before bed, so that your body is nourished during the night (you don’t have to eat much, you’re not running a marathon in your sleep), adn then it’s imperative that you eat breakfast within 60 min of waking…

  8. madmargaret said,

    February 27, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    You’re going to do just fine Shanny! I quit WW two weeks ago, and just weigh myself consistently at home. I’ve picked Sunday morning as my official weigh-in day/time — and I think I’m also going to start tracking measurements. I found the last time that it helped a lot to know I was losing inches even when I wasn’t losing poundage. Good for you!

  9. MamaBearJune said,

    February 27, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    You are amazing and quite the inspiration! Congrats on great progress and the determination to continue making healthy choices! Doing a happy dance for you. Keep up the cigarette free days – one day at a time. I know you can do it!

  10. Manuela said,

    February 28, 2008 at 6:51 am

    I just came across tale from the scales and read about you quitting WW. I agree with you that at a certain point you know exactly what you’re doing. I’m the same and am following everything I learned and still using my weigh-in days. Instead of meetings I found these blog challenge sites. Much cheaper!

    I started jogging last summer and have tried to get some in this winter. I can totally agree to starting slowly. You can really feel it in your knees! (I just turned 40 too). I think new shoes are going to be my treat for spring and I’d like to increase the time I’m actually jogging.

    I’ll be interested to see you progress without the meetings. More importantly–CONGRATS on being smoke free!!!

  11. February 28, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    […] forgot… Lady Shanny must have been reading my mind because check out what I won at her post here. It’s exactly what I need right now, especially since she is SUCH an inspiration for me. […]


Leave a Reply

