Stuck? Maybe Not!

Are you all losing as much sleep over my exercise dilemma as I am?  Since I quit walking to work to save my sanity (surprisingly, the same reason that I started walking to work) I’ve been stuck in exercise limbo, doing a little here and there but nothing consistantly or enjoyably.  I hate, hate, HATE my eliptical trainer and can hardly squeeze out 15 minutes (and that’s if I get on it at all).  I thought perhaps it was the issue of being outside so I decided I would start going to the track and learning to run.  That was almost as much of a hassle as the walking to work and infinitely more boring so I only did that a couple of times.  I decided that perhaps it wasn’t an outside issue as much as a boredom issue so I thought I would watch DVDs while I rode the eliptical trainer and maybe that would make it better.  Nope!  Big, fat, NOPE!

As I was sitting here tonight after dinner feeling lethargic and frustrated and overall displeased with my effort of late, I decided that instead of bitching about this all the time (and trust me, I’ve been doing some hardcore bitching) I’m just going to have to suck it up and incorporate it into my routine.  In fact, everyone that I’ve talked to who exercises regularly has said pretty much the same thing. It’s something that one has to do and so you just go and do it.  You may not love the actual act of doing it but you like the results and you know it’s important so you go do it.  Plus you should feel very accomplished and disciplined when you’re done…especially on the days you don’t want to do it.

That said, I thought I would try one more thing before I gave in and sold my soul to the eliptical trainer.  That one thing?  Genius!  Gold!  Exactly what I’ve been searching for!  I got a sweaty, hard-breathing 30 minute cardio workout and the time flew by.  I didn’t hate any of it, I pushed myself a little past what was comfortable and I got it done.  I didn’t LOVE while I was doing it but it actually felt enjoyable in a “wow, I’m totally impressing myself” kind of way.  I’m not going to tell you what it was yet because in a silly way I don’t want to jinx myself.  I’m not sure what exactly made it different but it certainly was.  It might have something to do with the fact that I didn’t set foot on the eliptical and I didn’t have to GO anywhere or plan anything.  It might be because I am now 8 days into my new smoke free existance and what would have killed me 8 days ago might be slightly easier?  I have no idea.  I don’t actually care.  I feel no need to examine the why.

So cheer for me a little tonight when you go to lay your head on your pillow and sleep soundly knowing that Lady Shanny is back in the game, exercise-wise!  😉

6 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    February 21, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Who cares what or why. You did it, you got through it, it wasn’t too hateful. Sometimes that’s about all you can say for exercise. But you can feel quite self righteous once it’s done.

  2. kim said,

    February 22, 2008 at 1:48 am

    shanny, maybe you can try the couch25k? i’ve been doing it actually on a treadmill at the gym to save my joints [cause i’m still too heavy to run] but i can’t wait to take it outside and start doing it “for real”. and believe me, the 30 minutes go by in NO time! 🙂

  3. kim said,

    February 22, 2008 at 1:51 am

    ups. forgot the link. i’m using these podcasts [he offers them as mp3 files as well] and instead of the walk/run i do slower/faster pace on the treadmill. with him telling you when to do what and the perfect music it really works out great for me. and my biggest issue on the treadmill/elliptical [my mistake up there, i’m still on an elliptical] is always the boredom as well. much more than a stamina problem or anything it just gets so boring… hang in there! you’ve come SO far!

  4. Comrade GoGo said,

    February 22, 2008 at 7:25 am

    Are you doing a secret exercise video? Like TurboJam? Oooooh I must know!!

  5. katapilla22 said,

    February 22, 2008 at 10:42 am

    The suspense is killing me!!!! what is? what is? what is it!??!?!

  6. Marueze said,

    February 22, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Exactly! what’s working for you.
    It is so true that people just exercise because you have to. Don’t exercise for myself doing it for the person who gets to see me and the positive compliments that have been generated.

    I know I always seem to have some kind of statistical info or some kind of comment but I heard that 30 minutes of exercise even if done as 3 ten minute sessions is the same. So even though you only got through what you thought was a short amount of time of exercise. . . .you still did your body good. What usually works best is to have several different things that you do and mix it up. . . weights, treadmill, elipitical, etc.


Leave a Reply

