Tuesday Update (UPDATED)

Alright, the results page is updated.  I’m pretty pleased with the result this week considering that I threw everything for a loop by quitting smoking.  Still down though and that’s all that matters.

As for the smoking?  It’s going really well and I don’t think about it all that often.  When I have the worst time is if I’m bored in the evening or when my frustration level at work goes up.  Other than that I’m not suffering at all.

As for the weight loss?  I think I might be starting to see a slow down in the losing.  As I said in an earlier post, I haven’t cut any more points/calories and I am still feeling content and satisfied.  I’m not sure if the losing is slowing down because that’s what happens or if it’s because of the quitting smoking.  I didn’t do anything different this week than I have in previous weeks so I’m not exactly sure what’s happening.  It’ll be interesting to see how this all plays out over the next couple of months.

That’s it for me this evening, I have to go and clean up dinner, make my lunch and get to bed.

Update:  Alright, some things that I didn’t mention before.  First, there are now two charts on the results page.  The first one is the one that you’ve seen this whole time.  That one is now filled up.  It is devoted to the first 60 pounds.  Now there is a second chart just below it.  This new chart is going to take us through the final 20-ish pounds.  It has the WW goal marked on it as well as my goal range.  Just so you know, that ‘goal range’ is where I can reasonably expect to end up and spend the rest of my ife.  I might not get into it and I might surpass it (although I very highly doubt that), I truly have no way of knowing at this point.  It’s curious and I suppose we’ll all find out together. 

Also, I think my days of attending WW are drawing to an end.  I truly believe that there is no longer any value in it for me.  It’s $16/week to go and stand on their scale.  Please don’t think I don’t know how valuable that service was in the beginning.  It has been HUGE for the last (almost) 6 months.  It was motivation and excitement and completely neccessary for my success.  Now?  I’m strong enough to do this myself.  I’ll get a scale and I’ll weigh once/week and record the results.  But I don’t feel that I still need to pay or go to the meetings.  I’m not getting anything out of it AT ALL and sitting and listening to these crazy women wax poetic about 100 calorie packs of baked lays is driving me nuts!  Also, my goal of health overall and improving physical fitness are not supported (or truly encouraged) at the meetings so it feels a lot like going to an alcoholics meeting…I have no interest and it has no relevance in my life.   I had considered waiting until I had reached my goal so that I could be a lifetime member and show up if ever I needed the accountability or the motivation, but I would then have to wait, not only until I get to 174 or lower, but also add 6 more weeks of maintenance on top of that.  All of that equates to probably another $350+ before I’m done.  I’m just SO not willing to keep forking over money for something that is no longer providing me with value.  Again, at the beginning if they would have decided that it was $30/week I would have happily handed over the money.  But to everything a season and my season with WW has come to an end.  I’ll go to WW one final time next Tuesday so I can calibrate my home scale (which I suppose I will have to go out and buy before then) and because that week will be the final week in my weigh-in book and I like it when things are completed.  And then I will thank WW for all it’s done for me and move along in my own way.  I will still be following the points/calorie counting plan, I will still be writing down what I eat and how much I exercise.  The only thing I won’t be doing is showing up to the meetings.  Okay?  Alright then.

One interesting thing to note about the way that the weight loss is progressing.  I was moaning about it possibly slowing down at the top of this post so I thought I would see if that is actually true.  The first 12 weeks I lost an average of 2.816 pounds/week.  The next 11 weeks I lost an average of 2.036 pounds/week which is a difference of a little over 3/4 of a pound/week.  Not that I’m freaking out about that, I’m not!  I just thought it was interesting.  In fact, because I am so infatuated with charts, here’s one showing how the average weight loss per week changes each month.  As always, click to enlarge.  Once it’s put in chart form it’s very plain to see that the average loss/week is actually decreasing as the months go by (not exactly sure how to explain that second month though…).

avgweek.jpg

6 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    February 19, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Two weeks and you will have been actively losing weight and changing your lifestyle for HALF a YEAR!!
    Way to go, you’re a trooper 🙂

  2. Comrade GoGo said,

    February 20, 2008 at 5:06 am

    Ooh I love a good chart, or two, or three!

    And I completely understand and support where you’re coming from on the WW thing. Like you said in so many words, you have their tools down pat at this point, and the 100 calorie snack pack phenomenon slowly starts to drive a person insane. Best of luck on your continued progress–you can do it!!

  3. JanB said,

    February 20, 2008 at 7:48 am

    I wasn’t big on weight watchers, but I know that some people really thrive on it. Try it on your own and if you start to see problems, then maybe give it some more thought. Sometimes just the knowledge that you will be on their scale in 3 or 4 days can really help keep the eating in check. It’s accountability. But I would definitely mention to them that the talk about 100 calorie packs is self-defeating and it’s a big step onto a slippery slope. It may be only 100 calories, but it’s 100 calories of PURE CRAP that leads to MORE CRAP. At least that’s my opinion, but people will find joy sabotaging and deluding themselves anyway they can. These companies are selling these things not to help dieters, but to get them back to eating PURE CRAP.

  4. MamaBearJune said,

    February 20, 2008 at 10:42 am

    You are AMAZING! I think you are wise to evaluate what is working for you and the value of it. I’m sure you’ll continue to do great post-WW. And I’m VERY glad to hear you’ve quit smoking. Hang in there, you are past the worst part. I quit 16-17 years ago and now can’t stand to be around it.

    Your average weight loss has been astounding. Good for you. Keep making healthy choices!

  5. Marueze said,

    February 20, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Lady Shanny, if you aren’t getting the support you need in the WW meetings, you certainly are getting it on the web.
    WW isn’t for all and each group has it’s own personality.
    Don’t sweat it just keep on doing everything else that you have been doing and you will get where you want to be. 🙂

  6. Randilin said,

    February 21, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Good luck on the quit smoking. It takes a lot of will power but is so worth the effort.


Leave a Reply

