Seriously?

Hi blog world.  I sure hope I still have readers after the jerk post that I wrote on Saturday morning.  Are you guys still there?

I’ve been spending quite a bit of time staring these days.  I can’t have a smoke, which isn’t too big of a problem (surprisingly) and I can’t sit here and eat snacks and junk, which isn’t too big of a problem.  But being turned away on both fronts has given me a really restless feeling so I end up sitting here just staring, waiting for the ‘urge’ to pass.  Overall the quitting has gone really well.  I’m into Day Four which means that all the nicotine from the last 11 years has already left my body.  Now it’s just the psychological that I have to deal with and it’s not going too badly. 

I’ll be interested to see how the weigh in turns out this week because not only have I been incredibly diligent about watching what I eat because I refuse to gain weight from the quitting but when I get bored of sitting here staring, I go and exercise or take a nap, both of which preclude eating.  For instance today I have already done my interval running training, taken a nap, worked on the eliptical, and done situps and push ups twice. 

On a completely unrelated note, I went to the Canucks game last night with a customer, his girlfriend and one of our salesreps.  We went for dinner at the Sterling Room first (formerly the Captain’s Club) which is a buffet.  I wasn’t super impressed with the food but the atmosphere was lovely and the dessert table I could have stared at for hours.  The game was incredibly rowdy but somehow we managed to win it even through all the penalties and fighting.  Since I was at GM Place I thought I would zip down to the Authentix store and pick up a ‘present’ that I owed myself from quite some time ago.  One of the things that I wanted to get myself when I lost 40 pounds was a Canucks t-shirt.  Just a plain navy t-shirt with the logo on it.  I had never gotten around to going down there to get it so last night seemed like a perfect opportunity.  Seriously?  It’s a good thing that I never made it down there.  The t-shirt that I bought is beautiful, but even as an XL it barely fits.  How bad would I have felt 20 pounds ago to get that shirt home and not be able to wear it?  It’s quite ridiculous really how small the women’s sizes are.  If I’d been thinking I would have bought a men’s small but I really just wanted a nice, girl’s fitted t-shirt with the Canucks logo on it.  And now I have one.  Fortunately for me there is still quite a bit of shrinking that I plan on doing so I’ll hang on to the t-shirt.  Here, take a look at it…the silver writing says “Don’t go through life without goals” and then in teeny print it says “Go score some”.

002.jpg

6 Comments

  1. marieclaude said,

    February 17, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    I love this t-shirt! And you are right about women’s sizes, it’s absolutely ridiculous. When I started running a few months ago, naturally I checked the women running gear available in the stores – pffff the XL’s were incredibly small, so I ended up buying men’s stuff! Which is fine, but on a 5’2″ bodyframe, it looks a bit silly with very long sleeves & legs. Anyhow, now that I’ve lost a bit of weight since November, I can fit in women’s gear! I look like a saussage, but I guess this is secondary… Hey, you were talking about interval running in your post, did you start running too? (did I miss a post? :?)

  2. Lady Shanny said,

    February 17, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Marieclaude, you didn’t miss a post…I think I forgot to mention it.

    As far as the sizes? It helps to be well adjusted because if not, I could have a breakdown about the fact that even when I have no more weight to lose that according to Reebok and the Vancouver Canucks Store I will always be an XL. Fortunately I can see just how ridiculous the sizes are!

  3. marieclaude said,

    February 18, 2008 at 6:45 am

    Good for you with the running! Running in my new addiction! 😉

    Most of the women’s brand are ridiculously small, I have given up ever fitting in an XXL from Mexx or Esprit, even with a healthy weight… And they wonder why women are so desperate to lose weight?!

  4. madmargaret said,

    February 18, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Hey Shanny Babe, I’m right there with you twiddling my thumbs and waiting for the day to end. I thought this vacation day would be fun, but it’s turned out to be a restless day of nothingness with no chips or ice cream to soothe my boredom. Good for you for quitting smoking — you’ll never regret it, so stick with it — it’s one of the hardest things you’ll ever do, but so worth it in the long run. Well done!!

  5. Tarable said,

    February 18, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Oh their sizing is ridiculous.

  6. Marueze said,

    February 19, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    I second that comment!


Leave a Reply

