Brownie Points

Or rather the lack of them.  I got up this morning, rode the eliptical trainer for six and a half minutes until I couldn’t breath and couldn’t stop coughing.  Got ready and went to work….only to turn around and come right back home.

I’m now snuggled under my electric blanket (cranked on high, by the way) with my teddy bear (you think I’m kidding but I’m not) waiting for the tea to brew.  I feel a little bad that I’ve succumbed and am at home on a work day, but here’s the thing.  In my particular office there are no brownie points for coming in when you’re sick.  No one cares.  No one notices. No one thinks that you are particularly dedicated to be at work serving the needs of the company instead of staying at home serving your own needs.  It’s not worth it.  There is no pat on the back or “Thanks for coming in, I know you aren’t feeling well but we/I sure appreciate it.”.  There is none of that.  And while I don’t need someone stroking my ego every day, if there is no appreciation for sacrifice, what is the point in making one?

My head feels like it’s going to blow off, my eyeballs feel like this horse-chestnuts.jpg, every time I cough I’m pretty sure my chest is bleeding and I have a fever.  Go to work?  Ummm…no thanks!  Stay on the sofa all day napping and watching Sex and the City?  You betcha!

Just for fun, here’s a picture of my teddy bear…008.jpg

6 Comments

  1. Anonymouse said,

    February 11, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I’m sure most people at work would prefer that you keep your germs at home! So stop feeling guilty and give in to your body’s need for rest and comfort, ya hear? I hope you feel much better soon!

  2. Tarable said,

    February 11, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    For what it’s worth – I appreciate you coming in to work. You’re the only one I can relate to.

    But aside from my own selfish needs, I’m glad you went home. Take good care of yourself.

  3. lululeelee said,

    February 11, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    First, I hope you feel better!

    Second, go home! No one wants your germs around. Then they will get sick and have to call in sick next week. They don’t wat to waist their sick days on sickness. The summer will be ere before you know it and they could use those sick days for the beach LOL.

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    February 11, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Tarable! You were my 1000th commentor!!!!!!! YAY! I’m glad it was you!!!!!!!!

    I know about the relating….I’m not looking forward to your Hawaiian vacation!

  5. Marueze said,

    February 11, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    Good for you staying at home & taking care of yourself.

    Where I work they complain when you don’t come in but when we all get sick they complain even more.

    I called in the other day, truly a rare occassion. Most of my time off is scheduled. Well I heard comments. . .because it was a friday. Mind you my boss called in. sigh…whatever.
    Feel better.

  6. Tara said,

    February 12, 2008 at 8:44 am

    I was 1000??!!? Yahoo! That’s exciting.


Leave a Reply

