Spa Day

Update:  This week’s Ask Lady Shanny episode has been published.  Remember, for every question you ask you get an entry into the draw.  See the CONTESTS page for more details.

************************ 

I finally did it, I went to the spa for a massage. The spa I went to is renowned for its sanctuary like atmoshpere and its Roman theme.  I’ve been there before for minor things like eyebrow waxing and a haircut but going for an actual treatment is an experience like no other.  I’ll take you through the whole experience.  If you’ve been to a top notch spa before, feel free to skip to the bottom of this post (there is a question at the end).

When you are all checked in they lead you through a dim and windy hallway and it feels very much like you’re walking into a womb of sorts, a world completely away from your normal life.  It feels like you’re miles underground in an italian grotto complete with huge stone pillars and flowing waterfalls.  The ladies change room is lavishly decorated and outfitted with anything you could possibly need for pampering and comfort.  You’re given a locker and inside is a fluffy white robe and a towel as well as some accupressure sandals. 

My first stop was the eucalyptus steam room, located right in the ladies dressing room.  The warmth and fragrance of that room made the entire day!  When you go in it’s nothing special, just a small square room with a couple levels of benches.  You press the button on the wall and go and get comfy.  A couple minutes later a trickle of water from each of four faucets at the bottom of the wall starts and the room is quickly filled with steam.  I’m talking FILLED with steam so that there is no other stimuli in the room.  The roof starts to drip warm drops of water as the steam keeps coming.  It’s really quite incredible.  You can grab an iced eucalyptus cloth before you go in the steam room and the contrast of the two temperatures is nothing short of overwhelming! 

After I was done in there I went out into the lounge area and waited for my masseuse in a cozy chair up against a giant stone pillar.  Talk about making you feel tiny!

The actual massage was fantastic.  I’d forgotten how good it feels since it’s been over 8 years since I’ve had one.  The masseuse I got was a young man with the softest skin I’ve ever felt.  He had a very slight build which was very deceiving for how strong he is. 

Overall it was a nice experience but not one that I will be beating down their door to repeat.  Now, if I could just go and use their steam room I’d be there every day!  I don’t mind the spa but it’s certainly not something that I’m accustomed to.  Having people there specifically to fuss over me is not something that I’m all that comfortable with.  Don’t get me wrong, it was lovely, the atmosphere is amazing, it feels like time has stopped when you walk in to their inner sanctum.  I’m just not all that crazy about the sense of self entitlement that some of the women appear to have and I don’t know if you can fully enjoy the experience if you don’t have a little of that.

When I left I went and had coffee with my mom, came home and had lunch and then took a nap (we’ll discuss naps on another day but let’s just say that it involves changing into my jammies, getting right under the covers and having a long, cozy sleep).

Tomorrow I have hockey at 5:30 and then we’re having the team tailgate dinner that we missed over Christmas complete with deep fried turkey and all the trimmings.  I am definitely looking forward to that!  If you’ve never had deep fried turkey you’re missing out on one of life’s great pleasures.  I bought a couple of those hand warmers that you throw in your mittens…I bought one for each mitten…and one for each bum pocket in my jeans.  I should be nice and toasty!  Thanks Tarable for the bum warmer suggestion!

Now, on the topic of deep fried turkey, I have a question.  Having been significantly overweight, eating in front of people is not something that I enjoy doing.  Even though I’m now starting to appear at a reasonable weight I still have a bit of a hangup about it.  I always used to figure that people would be judgey, especially when the fat girl is eating something like deep fried turkey.  It came as quite a surprise to me that my friend had never heard of that particular hangup, so my question is this:  Do you have any hangups about eating in front of people?  Do you figure that people are going to be judging you either silently or out loud?  Or do you figure that if you’re overweight that it is no secret you like to eat so you have no issue with allowing other people to see?  If you’ve lost weight, do you still have the same issues?

9 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    February 1, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Yeesh! Those are loaded questions. First, how I perceive overweight people when I see them eating. If they are eating fries, huge burgers, KFC, regular pop, I don’t wonder how they got the way they did and I want to try and get them to see the error of their ways. If I see them eating healthy, no biggie. I have to reprimand and remind myself, that just because a person is overweight doesn’t mean they shouldn’t eat. The logical part of me knows that, the part of me that heard my mother talking for 40+ years believes they should stop eating until they aren’t fat.
    As far as eating in front of others when I’m heavy, I would always be very careful, small portions, healthy but then when no one was looking, watch out!

  2. Anonymouse said,

    February 2, 2008 at 1:52 am

    Bev’s last paragraph said it for me. However, once you’ve been at a reasonable weight for a couple of years, that changes and you feel comfortable eating in front of people again. In fact, people who don’t know you assume you’ve never had a weight problem and those who do know you now trust that you have it under control (even if you know it isn’t so). The former can pose a threat if they try to push you into eating beyond what you know is best. Actually even the people who know you were fat once can try to sabotage your efforts to stay at a normal weight. Being overweight was so extremely painful and frightening for me that I managed to remain borderline for most of my life. When I went to TOPS a couple of people wondered what I was doing there. I didn’t feel supported much at first but that changed as they got to know me. Even my parents were not supportive because they thought I looked fine to them. Now that the ravages of diabetes have struck, my mother is very supportive.

  3. Krystle said,

    February 2, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Spa Day! Was that reward for a goal reached? Or, did you do it just because? I need to have one of them done… it’s always nice to go to your own oasis every once in a while.

    Overweight people eating. Humpf. I’d have to say I was always cautious of what I was eating in front of others, however… I was fat. They knew I was fat, I knew I was fat, so if I took more than everyone else, what was new? Obviously that got me there in the first place. Now that I’m losing and down almost 40 lbs since last May, I find myself being more cautious of what I’m eating in front of others, and I also notice myself being more aware of the people around me who are larger and being careless with their food choices. I, like Bev would like to shake sense into them and tell them that what they’re eating could eventually kill them, and I lost (and continue to lose) the weight as do many others, and they can to. Don’t they want to be healthy? I know it’s easier said than done… it’s a little frightening since you know what they’re going through. And, I know… 8,000 people can tell you that you shouldn’t eat the junk, and until they realize it for themself, it won’t change.

    A lady I work with. She has to be pushing 400 lbs. She eats 3-4 times a day, while at work. I know small, healthy meals multiple times a day is great but… she eats 3-4 large, actual MEALS, like McDonald’s for Breakfast, 3 hot dogs/buns/chips/pop for snack…Chinese for Lunch… and Taquito frozen meal before she leaves work for the day, and on occasion she brings in cake… that’s bad. Whenever there is food day on the floor, she’s the last one there, and the one back with the biggest plate. It’s disturbing and sad, all at the same time. And, the worst part… her daughter (per pictures on her desk) is the same way, and just about the same size.

    That’s when you know it’s bad, AND sad.

  4. Marueze said,

    February 2, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Yep, Bev said it all….loaded questions.
    Eating in front of others. I don’t really have a problem eating in front of others. My issues/ideas may come in general from my social skills rather than food issues don’t . . . Feel free to comment.

    There are some things I may refrain from eating out and also depending on who I’m dining with. Like ribs. . . eat at home, at a picnic, etc…don’t know if I want to do it at a steak house. Too messy.

    Portion control. if buffet. . . .I’ll try to do the WW stroll. . . .may make multi trips back, but won’t have my plate look like a jiffy pop container going to burst. It is better to go back than to overstuff a plate and waste food.

    I also have several over obese co-workers / who also have obese children and they appear to follow the same pattern mentioned above by Krystle. As a child of parents who have food issues I know the problems that these kids will have by the patterns they see with their parents. Or the constant struggle they will have with the negative comments which they received from them.

    When I’m in my bad place, I’m as Bev mentioned above a private or car eater.

    With communal eating – I watch observe others manners, are they double dipping, are they touching /moving around food that they don’t take to get bigger pieces, etc. It is may be petty to some but it is something I’m just aware of. It sort of helps me because I don’t want to eat the over touched food of others.
    ======
    I’m one of the ones at the table when the food is served that waits for everyone to be served before seasoning/starting my food.

    I was a guest at a friend’s house during the holidays….Tomato and motzerrele (sp) were served…the host was in the kitchen doing some prep/ cooking …his wife just made it to the table. He a minute later. The other 2 guests had already finished the appetizer before the host sat down. Same thing for salad, main course & dessert.
    ======
    I don’t talk with my mouth full.

    Don’t pick food off of someone’s plate, don’t touch someone else’s food.
    ======
    Rarely accept tastes of others food…of course …depending on relationship with the person dining… (but will if out with date..so it must be an intimacy issue)

    When eating family style will not pick a taste of something…ie… a almond sliver off / apple slice off of a salad for everyone to share.

    Sounds so weird / bizzare however, I have friends/acquaintences/co-workers who do this stuff all the time.

    Do I chaulk this up to manners, levels of intimacy, I don’t know. I just see alot of stuff going on around food that I just think is poor manners.

    I don’t say anthing. I know I’m not alone, the man I date follows the same rules…I never mentioned it…several of my friend do, some don’t.

    Hey, don’t want to Emily Post out on everyone but I have food issues…you think….lol.

  5. Marueze said,

    February 2, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Looked back at my comment hope it doesn’t appear to be a rant.
    To answer your questions.
    1. hangups…other than manners and neatness no. 2. Yes, I do believe people judge because I have been asked by co-workers/and occassionally family…should you be eating that? To which I replied it is my choice what I chose to eat.
    So, yes I do think some people judge and evaluate what people eat.

    I will alway have food issues…I find if I am eating what I believe is properly for myself at the time I have no guilt/less issues.

  6. Lady Shanny said,

    February 2, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Mareuze, I love your answer and NO, it is not a rant. I enjoy hearing about other people’s issues with food, some I can relate to.

    I do NOT share utensils or drinkware. I do NOT eat off of someone else’s plate. I will NOT eat something or drink out of something that someone else has touched (eg, if you touch my water bottle, even if you touch it not near the opening, I will never use it again!). I don’t eat communal food (eg. share bag of chips or bowl of popcorn).

    I think we all have our weird hangups about food and I love to hear about them. If you think I’m crazy about food, just wait until Princess Darcy comments!

  7. Princess Darcy said,

    February 3, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Um… weird food hangups….

    I never used to eat in front of other people… now I could give a poop…
    I don’t let anything on my plate touch anything else on my plate… and I eat my food in sections…. everything of one item first and then on to the next.
    I can NOT watch other people eat popsicles, ice cream cones or any kind of frozen treat on a stick
    I LOATHE watching other people eat yogurt.
    Is that what you were thinking of Shanny?

  8. Siggy said,

    February 4, 2008 at 10:46 am

    I feel that larger people may sometimes be a little over sensitive to what they feel other people are thinking about them. Are we not a little egocentric? “Look at me everyone, See how healthy i am eating”

    My loss has slowed down to a crawl, which in itself is hard, but I’ll be damned if I want someone telling me that I shouldn’t be having snacks like everyone else (superbowl party).

    Also…don’t patronize me with mindless compliments and call a spade a spade. I am a large man and no matter how much weight I loose, I will still be a large man.

  9. Marueze said,

    February 4, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Hey Ladies, we are different but not totally out there.
    A coworker was telling me that being anemic she wants to chew ice or pasta before it is actually cooked. I thought the pasta thing was a little out there.

    The other pecular thing that happens to me that I zone in so much on the food sometimes I kind of don’t realize that I’m sitting with someone else. And all of the sudden I have a realization that I am I look down that 1/2 of my food is missing and then I wonder was I just shoveling it in, or talking with my mouth full or where did the food go? I will realize that I didn’t ask my companion if they were enjoying their food, etc. I just get into a zone and not in a good way. ISSUES.


Leave a Reply

