It Is What It Is

There is a little conversation going in the comments on the previous post.  The general idea is that once you get to a certain spot in the journey or spent a certain amount of time doing it, the motivation and drive that we had at the beginning can start fading and we’re trying to figure out why that is and what to do about it.

 I think Tarable’s comment about this being ‘normal’ is really accurate (and GoGo’s comment about the habit as well).  The problem with it is that for years, like most of you I’m sure, I’ve spent a LOT of time thinking about food.  Thinking about eating it, preparing it, shopping for it, feeling bad or good about it, measuring it and restricting it.  And now?  It is no longer interesting for me to think about.  It just is what it is and that scares me a little.

What I have to remember/realize is that what I’m perceiving as waning motivation is actually just all those thoughts having been moderated into normalcy.  So when I just do what I need to do by habit without giving it too much thought, I perceive that I’m failing in some way when in actuality I’m winning in the best possible way.  I have to get over feeling like I’m not giving it my all when I’m not focussed on it all the time.

This is not to say that I don’t still need to pay attention to my choices, just that I can do that and then let it go rather than dwelling and obsessing on it.

I think I said it before, I believe that where I am in the process is probably a place where many people lose the battle.  It isn’t shiny and new and exciting anymore, it just ‘is’ and it is more likely that I need to shift my mindset rather than try to regain what I had at the beginning.

11 Comments

  1. Krystle said,

    January 24, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Shanny, good way to put it… I’m curious to see how I handle it when I get to that point – which will be at least another 20-25 lbs. I guess that’s where you have to keep aiming for the stars and keep refreshing your mind with new goals (which I know you’re constantly doing). Whether it be types of clothes, a vacation, a swimming suit, or simply a treat-yourself goal. It’s hard, and no one said this weight loss journey is easy.

    Psst. So, do you think it’s time for a new picture?!?! 🙂

  2. Lady Shanny said,

    January 24, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    Hey Krystle. I still have another 40-ish pounds to go so it’s not like I’ll be easing up anytime soon…it’s just a weirdly bored feeling I have about it right now.

    And yes, it definitely IS time for a new picture…I’m getting my hair cut on Saturday so after that I’m thinking. The difference between now and the last pic is just over 15 pounds. I’m interested to see what the picture will show. Since I see me everyday I don’t think there will be much change….we’ll see!

  3. Bev said,

    January 24, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    The following is a quote from my Page-A-Day electronic calendar. It seems to fit with today’s and yesterday’s posts. I don’t want to throw a wet blanket on this, but I don’t know that you can ever get back or repeat the ‘honeymoon’ stage. Whether it’s a food plan, a relationship, a new job…eventually these all become ‘normal’. And ‘normal’ is good. It keeps us on an even keel, let’s us concentrate on other new things or challenges that cross our paths.

    “It’s good to be aware of some changes that we know we need to make in our lives, whether it is new placemats or a new career.
    Changes are best made when we are aware of the need, recognize the process necessary, and focus on one-step-at-a-time. Yet we need to accept that important changes come gradually. We only notice them suddenly.”

  4. Krystle said,

    January 24, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    That’s an excellent quote… excellent.

  5. katapilla22 said,

    January 24, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    40ish to go? Did I miss the post where you changed your goals?

  6. Tarable said,

    January 24, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    There was a point in the journey that I thought, “What if I had to stop doing WW right now?” At that point (around 15-20lbs lost) I knew that if I had to stop WW, then what what I had been doing wouldn’t stick, that I would revert back to the old way.

    But I reassessed that thought recently (after losing 30) and I feel differently about it now. I think that if I had to stop WW now, I would still be able to live a healthy lifestyle and would NOT pick up those bad habits (at least not for a long while anyways).

    So maybe that’s part it it too. It doesn’t feel exciting anymore – but it also feels like it’s engrained in me now. It’s a part of me. I’ll accept that.

  7. Lady Shanny said,

    January 24, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Hey Kat!

    No, you didn’t miss that post. It was more of an interim goal. 174 is the most I can possibly weigh according to Weight Watchers. Because I am not aiming at a number but rather what my body tells me my set point is, I figure there is another 30-40 pounds to go…(40 might be pushing it a bit)…my WW range is 174 – 132 for my height. I’m taking the middle-ish of that range as what I think my body will eventually stop at which will work out to be a bit more than what I’m currently aiming at.

    I’ll be happy at whatever I end up stopping at…but trust me when I say that I definitely have the fat to lose!

  8. Jenn said,

    January 25, 2008 at 6:22 am

    Shifting one’s mindset seems to be the hardest part for me, but in a slightly different manner. I’ve started getting the hang of the food and exercise part, but it’s my perception of my body that hasn’t changed all that much. Although I’ve lost about 40 lbs. at this point (with another 30 or so to go) and I can see particular physical changes (clothes are too big, or, “hey! I have definition in my thighs.”) I’m still not seeing the overall effect in the mirror. That is going to be the biggest mindset I have to break through.

  9. Marueze said,

    January 25, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    FYI…WW will accept a doctor’s goal if you and your doctor come to a weight that is above their expectations. Some people do dr’s weight and may go lower to have a cushion, but not incurr fees.

    Great post. Love Bev’s quote on normal. So what is wrong with normal. I think a new photo will help you acknowledge your progress. It is difficult when you see yourself daily, because, after awhile, you don’t. Photos are moments in time. Take several, at all different angles. It is a great idea.

  10. blips said,

    January 26, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    I happen to stumble on your blog today. Altough your commenters are for the most part woman I do not hesitate to contribute my 2 cents. It is always a bummer if you realize you are on a plateau or not motivated enough. Thats why I think we did the right thing, starting a blog, writing about the life-style change (I’m not on a diet) and hold yourself responsible for the results. As I knew I gained 2 pounds the first time as I started in September last year. I only blame myself.
    There is a lot of good information on your blog, get to read some more now.
    Greetings from Minnesota USA
    Blips from http://blipsfit.com

  11. Lady Shanny said,

    January 26, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Hey Blips! Welcome. You’re right, most of my commenters are women but I do get the occassional guy, you’ll fit right in. And there is always room for an extra 2 cents!


Leave a Reply

