Feedback (**UPDATED**)

I find still find it so amazing that I can pour my heart out and go on for 3 paragraphs about what a headcase I am and you guys come through with comments that make me laugh, make me think and make me appreciate every single last one of you.

So I have an offer for you.  I was thinking about holding a contest.  The idea in my head is along the lines of a comment-contest.  I was thinking for every valid comment that gets posted (eg. nothing shorter than 15 words) during a certain time period the commentor will be entered in the draw for a kick-ass prize package (you could end up with a bunch of entries if you comment on lots of posts).  What do you think?

I want to do this for a couple reasons.  First, there is no way that I can mail you all a token of my appreciation but I want to express how much I value you guys and the only way I could think to do that was to do a contest.  Second, there are people who read every day who don’t comment, WHICH IS FINE, but I would like to meet a few more of you.  I get an average of about 350-400 views a day and certainly nowhere NEAR that many comments.  Perhaps a little contest is a good way to get people to say hi?

So let me know if this sounds like a good idea.  The prize package is going to be GOOD.  If you guys decide you want to do this, I’ll write a post outlining the rules and the prize package.

UPDATE:  Ask Lady Shanny is updated.  Since the questions aren’t exactly flooding in, I figured that you guys need incentive.  Completely aside from the contest that we might be having above, for ONE MONTH (January 19, 2008 – February 19, 2008) for every question that you submit to Ask Lady Shanny, your name will be entered in a draw for a $10 Starbucks giftcard.

Guideline:  unless you have a specific question about a specific food, the food questions (eg. how do you get your veggies, any secret food/supplement you take) have already been asked and are waiting in the queue to be answered. 

Use the Ask Lady Shanny page on the left hand side to submit your questions.

Draw will take place at noon on February 23, 2008 (PST) and the winner will be contacted by email.  If the winner does not respond in 10 days, another winner will be chosen.

8 Comments

  1. Anonymouse said,

    January 18, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Um, well… yeah!!! Sounds good to me! I will try to think up 15 quality words for my next comment then. (That’s a lot of page views!)

  2. January 18, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    It sounds like a good idea, but really your comments back on our blogs is repayment enough.

  3. johnisfit said,

    January 18, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    I think a contest would bring some of us out of the woodwork. 🙂

  4. Marueze said,

    January 19, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Aren’t you the cutiest. Are you one of those readers who would look for the thickest books when reading because you would want to get emmerced in the book and figured that just 200 pages couldn’t do it. You know, like Gone with the Wind, Pillars of the Gods or the Thornbirds, etc….

    As for your ask Shanny questions – I’m going to do have to think up a good one. LOL.

    I’m still chuckling about no posts shorter than 15 words. LOL

  5. destroyroy said,

    January 19, 2008 at 11:15 am

    I don’t need a contest to tell you you’re awesome! (she said, stuffing Milanos down her throat)

  6. Comrade GoGo said,

    January 19, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I know that I personally feel totally comfortable asking you questions, but I wonder: Do you accept anonymous questions? That might bring some of the more shy/reticent folks out of hiding. I mean, there should be a caveat that inappropriate questions will never be entertained, but it could help to let people know it’s okay to be anon until they get more comfortable…

    Also, from a visual/design standpoint, have you ever thought about playing with your site to make some of your regular special features (such as ask shanny, recipes, and penguin’s reviews, stand out more (e.g., tabs at the top of the page or an eye-catching graphic)? I think your site looks lovely as it is, but I know you get concerned with making sure people check out some of these awesome regular features on your site. Just a few thoughts!

    xoxx
    Comrade GoGo

    p.s. The contest sounds fun to me!

  7. Lady Shanny said,

    January 19, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    DestroyRoy, you made me laugh! I don’t know what a Milano is but the image made me laugh!

    Comrade GoGo, I definitely accept anonymous questions and to be honest I hadn’t even thought of mentioning that but I will update the Ask Lady Shanny page to mention that. About the site? Oh how I wish I knew even a little about how to create my own template! I have often thought about looking into getting someone to create a design for me. I believe that I could keep the same WordPress hosted address but purchase an upgrade to change the template? It’s all greek to me! This is such a pretty template and when I started this site I was the only one using it (in this weight-loss area) so it was unique. Now there are a few people using it and it feels weird that my website looks like anyone else’s so I would love to have it redesigned. But like I said, I don’t have the first clue.

  8. pantrypuff said,

    January 19, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Hey Shanny — DestroyRoy is my movie blog. I didn’t realize I had written under that login!! Oh, and a Milano is a cookie 🙂


Leave a Reply

