Cop Out? Or Warm Up?

This evening after work I changed my clothes and then went and sat and chatted with a long-distance friend.  This is someone who used to work in our office with me and who I am still very close to, even though he has now been ‘deployed’ across the US and Canada.  He’s back in our office for a project and what totally warms my heart is that even though we hardly see each other and we don’t talk often, we can pick right back up where we left off.  I don’t think that there has ever been a conversation that we’ve had where we didn’t end up laughing.  Do you have someone like that in your life?  Someone who totally gets you and uses yours and their bits of crazy to make you laugh?  Anyway, the chatting went on for quite awhile and then I decided it was time to get walking.  Unfortunately I didn’t realize quite how late it had gotten and it was past the ‘curfew’ that I set for myself for safely walking through the marginal neighborhood to get to the bridge.  I could have walked.  Chances are that nothing would have happened.  But when a good friend offers you a ride home?  In a warm truck?  With chatting and laughing?  Ummm…yes please!  The alternative was a walk home in the dark with bitterly cold wind and rain.  Do I feel guilty?  Not in the slightest! 

Tomorrow is a big day…I hope.  Tomorrow I hope/plan/pray to be finally out of the 200’s when I weigh in.  I have 1.2 to lose to hit 50 pounds lost and be officially out of the 200’s.  Obviously I would like to drop a little more than that so that I am securely out of the 200’s but I’ll take what I can get.

Now that I’m approaching a large milestone, I’ve been giving a couple of changes some thought.  First, I think I do need to eat more as far as exercise points go.  I need to make sure that I’m losing fat and not the little muscle that I have.  I think those big losses just before Christmas probably prove that that is exactly what’s happening.  Now that I’ve lost a good deal and I look good (if not quite there yet), I think I have the wiggle room to slow it down a little and make sure that I’m not screwing things up.  Obviously the desire to get the body that I want is strong and in the beginning you couldn’t have paid me to slow it down.  That said, I’m not quite sure how I’m going to do it yet because still I have a mental block about it.  All the advice that you guys have given me is true and logical and obvious.  And yet as someone who has always struggled with too much food and not enough exercise, I am having a heck of a time forcing myself to do this.  I never thought that I would ever have a problem forcing myself to eat more food, but that is right where I am. 

Along the lines of food quantity, I am starting to practice something else that is completely foreign to me.  Even though I have dismissed junk food and eat clean, whole foods the majority of the time, I still haven’t had any problem whatsoever with eating until I am stuffed.  This is typically only a problem at dinner time because I don’t have time to go crazy at breakfast and lunch is brought to work with me.  When it comes time to eat dinner though I do get a little anxious that I’m not be able to eat enough food.  So what I started doing (my NY resolution) was eating more vegetables.  I have a passion for cooked brocoli and I’ve been eating that along with whatever is on the menu for the meal.  The thing is, I’ve been cooking and eating so much brocoli that I feel stuffed and uncomfortable following dinner.  So starting today I reheated some chili and didn’t worry about cooking the brocoli.  I needed to be able to see that I was fine with eating the cup of chili and half cup of rice and being done.  I figured if I was still starving that I could always steam some brocoli after the fact.  Yes, it is important to get vegetables but what am I teaching myself when I do this?  That I need a huge quantity of food to feel satisfied?  Or do I need to teach myself another lesson?  That there is always the option of more but that there is no good way to UNeat something.  So I will start following the CORE plan mentality (not the actual CORE plan) of eating only to satisfaction/satiety.  If I end up with extra points left at the end of the day and am not actually hungry then there is always the option of almonds which are loaded with good fats and fibre, not very filling and quite high in points.  

Since my tummy area is a definite problem area for me (and 1.8 billion other people) I figured that it couldn’t hurt to quit stretching it out every evening.  Your stomach is a muscle and if you leave it be, it will shrink and tighten up a little.  That means that the next time you go to eat, it will take a smaller amount of food to get to the satisfaction feeling.  I looked online a bit and couldn’t find anything concrete but the prevailing comparison is that your stomach when empty is around the size of your fist, maybe a bit bigger.  The kind of icky thing is that it can expand to hold up to 4 litres of food or fluid.  4 litres!  (that’s a little shy of a US gallon for you Imperials out there).  So put your fist out.  Even put both your fists together.  Now imagine how much food you would have to eat to get that general size to expand to 4 litres.  It’s no bloody wonder that when we’re pigging out, whether it’s on junk food or brocoli, that we feel tired and lethargic and that our tummy actually feels distended and uncomfortable.  We just forced our body to instantly accomodate something very large with no warning.

I think that thinking about meal quantities in terms of actual size of space available will assist in keeping me a bit more restrained as far as overstuffing myself.  And paying attention to when I’ve reached ‘done’ may actually help me reduce the tummy trouble area.

One other thing that I’ve been thinking about is exercise.  I’ve been thinking so much about what I’m going to do and how I’m going to switch it up that it’s been weighing heavy on my mind these last few days.  So I’m done thinking about it.  I’m not going to quit walking to work.  I’m in this until at least fall of this year (if I have to suffer through winter-walking you can bet your ass I’ll be basking in the glory of summer walking!).  Because my commute is mostly on foot I don’t get home until later in the day than I would like.  That doesn’t leave much time for much other than dinner, dishes, making lunch, a blog post and a bath before it’s time for bed (I know, I’m very exciting!) so there is no point in even starting to look at any evening exercise options at least until it’s light past 4:30 in the afternoon.  I’ve realized that my statement earlier about no longer being challenged by the exercise was a bit of a falsehood.  I was not challenging myself any longer.  I was going at the same speed that I had started out at and obviously that is no longer good enough.  So I’ve picked up the pace (turns out I can walk faster) and I’m getting a pretty good exhertion going.

So I have some stuff to work on over the next couple of months.  Eating only to satisfaction/satiety, getting the most I can out of my walks by pushing myself and learning how to incorporate extra food for the exercise without feeling like I’m a cheater.  As always, I’ll keep you posted.

8 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    January 14, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Thanks for the visual on how much our stomachs hold. This will certainly help when I’m eating dinner (also my problem meal because I’m home and have unlimited time).
    Have you thought about doing the Sun Run this year? or another 10k?

  2. katapilla22 said,

    January 14, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    I hope you reach your mark tomorrow! Are you giving yourself some sort of reward for it? Are we planning a photo shoot at some point??

    “I don’t think that there has ever been a conversation that we’ve had where we didn’t end up laughing. Do you have someone like that in your life? “…YES…your sister! =)

  3. Princess Darcy said,

    January 15, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Oh Katapilla! I thought of YOU too!
    Sis… and K’pilla… howabout if we save the photoshoot till summer… Sis will be VERY happy with where she is and I should be somewhat happier as well… I don’t think we’ve had a proper picture together in years… plus, it’ll be a good ab workout for you K’pilla, cause we’ll have you laughing your ass off!

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    January 15, 2008 at 11:43 am

    I think the summer (or at least spring) also. I don’t know if that dress will fit yet and I definitely want to get a picture taken in that.

    Yes, hilarity will ensue!

  5. Princess Darcy said,

    January 15, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Dress??

  6. Lady Shanny said,

    January 15, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Yes, the dress from this post: https://ladyshanny.wordpress.com/2007/09/15/37/

  7. Princess Darcy said,

    January 15, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Okay… I changed my mind… I’m not wearing my ugly dress again! I will however wear that cute white satin one with the black polkeedots that I bought when I was with you in December…

  8. Marueze said,

    January 15, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Great to have plans…especially such fun ones.

    I started going to the gym after my walking did not prove to be getting me where I wanted to be be and as you say takes up alot of time. I alternate between all different types of activities…that’s what works for me. You will find what works for you.


Leave a Reply

