It Might Sound Trite

Mistakes are life’s way of teaching us something.  Yes, I know that sounds cliche and trite and cheesy but it’s so true!  If you can recognize what went wrong, why you reacted the way you did and what you would do differently next time then it makes the mistake a little easier to stomach.

I received some news at work yesterday that made me extremely upset and and caused me to react in a way that did not do anything to make me look strong or in control or stable.  What my reaction did do was cause me to look irrational and fragile and emotional.

Now I should state that I do not believe that a person should block any show of emotion behind a mask of apathy.  What I do think is that there is a time and place for that emotion to come through and at work or in front of people that you respect is not the place for it.  While I may believe that, I have a tendancy to not carry it out in my actions. 

I am an emotionally charged person, everything that I think shows on my face and I tend to form attachments to people where I probably should maintain a purely professional relationship.  It’s definitely something that I have to work on because the kinds of reaction that I am given to do nothing to move me forward in life or get me to where I want to be.

It sometimes takes someone that you respect to point it out, to remind you of it and to otherwise tell you to pull it together!  I am very fortunate that I have a good friend who is willing to do that.  I had every right to be upset about the situation, it’s my reaction at the moment in the face of unexpected news or decisions that don’t go my way that I need to work on.

I was told that this year’s motto is going to be “No more crying!” and that is something that I will work on.

4 Comments

  1. Comrade GoGo said,

    January 12, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    How about just “No more crying at work”? “No more crying” is a pretty harsh motto!

    I’m a crier (cry-er?), and I know I’ll be crying at work on Monday because I have to break some terrible news to the entire office :(. But in my case, I don’t have any illusions about reaching the top of the ladder in my particular line of work, so a lot of the time I just. don’t. care. what co-workers think of me. I did have an instance this past fall when I was truly ashamed of my behavior, but that was when I lost my temper and said some harsh things.

    Unprofessionally but fondly yours,
    GoGo

  2. Marueze said,

    January 12, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Consideration of time and place are important when these situations occur that bring tesrs to our eyes.

    I used to be able to tough it out and not cry at anything. But would remove myself from the public situation, such as go to the ladies room to vent.

    However, in light of world events and my experience of some difficult situations I find myself welling up or crying at some stuff that doesn’t necessarily effect other people. Certain moments in a regular day bring on an emotional surge that would make me tear up. (eg. I attend a Mass with volunteering one a month, something said during the Mass reminds me of a family member or two who are no longer with me – I well up with tears, apply tissue, etc.) I deal with it and move on.

    The other day I was the MC of a retirement dinner for a co-worker – she was very kind to me when I first started at the hospital and helped /guided me with some stuff …so as I was talking about this stuff I got veclempt (sp…yiddish-nyorkese) in front of about 50 people. I just said hey I’m verclempt…everyone said ahhhhh, ohhhhh…and I moved on.

    Is it the start of peri-menopause or am I just a softie…don’t know it is just me and I’m dealing with it….

    I just say that it makes me a caring person & there is nothing wrong with that.

    So Lady Shanny I say you are a caring, genuine person. Acknowledge this trait (as you apparantly have since you mentioned it here) and anticipate it the best you can and have an escape plan. 🙂

  3. pantrypuff said,

    January 13, 2008 at 11:08 am

    OK, I think crying is good. I can not cry. I mean, trypically, I cry once or twice a year. It’s annoying and frustrating because I never get that awesome exhaustion that comes from crying your head off. It’s a release.

    I’ve always been this way. I can get very angry, very happy and very sad — it’s not like I’m lacking emotional range. I just don’t cry.

  4. January 13, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    OMG, were we separated at birth? lol


Leave a Reply

