A Momentary Lapse

Last night and this morning, I must admit, I had a break with reality as far as weight loss is concerned.  Fortunately, my dear darlings set me straight and I was able to give my head a shake and clue back in.

I referred to my two previous week’s weight losses as small when in fact they are pretty much right around normal.  2.2 and 1.4 are both good losses and not something to sneeze at (or bitch about).  In my own defense, the week right before the Christmas break I had a very major loss (6.2lbs), and I guess I was hoping to hop right back on that wagon and keep going.  The weeks following have been average and in fact if I take out those two huge loss weeks the average comes out to 2.3lbs/week.

I guess I just got caught up in the mindset of getting the weight off as quickly as possible which is not only stupid but dangerous.  I have since taken my own advice (and that of Comrade GoGo and Tarable) and remembered that the weight didn’t get there overnight and it’s not coming off overnight.

I should clarify that at no point did I ever think of cutting back calories or overdoing exercise (the comment I made about adding in more exercise was simply because my body has adjusted to the walk to and from work and I feel that I am able and willing to add in a little more) to speed this process along.  100% of the time I realize that whatever I do to get the weight off must be sustainable and because I am inherintly lazy, I would never keep up with something that took up too much time or was too hard to stick with.  I was just bitching and un-rightfully so.  I’ve clued back in. 

Thank you and good night.

11 Comments

  1. Sybil said,

    January 10, 2008 at 4:13 am

    Thank goodness for dear darlings and good friends, eh? I think we are all at risk of getting caught up in numbers…..I know I certainly am at risk. I really have to work hard to balance keeping my health and fitness goals as a (healthy) priority versus becoming obsessive about losing weight. Oh yes…..I so want to lose weight and need to lose weight for my health – but like you and your friends said…..it didn’t come on overnight and it certainly won’t leave overnight.

    How wonderful to be able to rethink our words and re-adjust or clarify our thoughts!

  2. Me said,

    January 10, 2008 at 7:30 am

    You are right about the exercise. It isn’t about more exercise. It is about making sure the exercise you are doing is still at a semi-challenging level. When I first start exercising walking a mile is torture. When I have been exercising for a few months three miles as fast as I can go doesn’t raise my heart rate and make it arobic. So then I have to figure out what to do to pick it up a notch. Running isn’t my style so that is where I always get a bit confused. I like your idea of mixing it up a bit by using some of your exercise time to try new, more challenging things.

  3. Comrade GoGo said,

    January 10, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Hey, we all have our moments, lady. I know you’re really close to a big milestone and that would make anyone a bit impatient ;). Keep on doing the great work you’ve been doing and I know you’ll be there any day now!

  4. p4pretention said,

    January 10, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    On one of your recent posts you were asking about exercise. I am going to suggest something you might initially be adverse to – but keep an open mind.

    1. Don’t add weights to your arms and legs when you walk. I read on the WW website exercise myth busting article that doing this isn’t actually helpful and messes with your natural walk and can thusly lead to injury.

    2. Try running. But running sucks! Untrue. Running is only as hard as you make it out to be – kind of like math (caveat: once you reach a certain level of fitness – after all you walk miles and miles a day at a very swift pace so I hear… err read.). Try approaching running like you approached weight watchers, walking or taking the stairs: a little bit at a time.

    When I started running I would run for a minute and walk for three (note: I am sporty so this was less difficult for me than it would be for someone who is less sporty). Last week I ran 7 km without needing pausing to walk. It took a long time to get there but it was totally doable.

    I suggest to you, challenge you even, to run for one minute out of every 5-7 for 15 – 21 minutes of your next walk. See how you like it (or not). If you absolutely hate it – that’s fine, it might not be your thing. If you like it/find it challenging it’s a good way to gear up to running.

  5. p4pretention said,

    January 10, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Starting to run awkward yet helpful footnote: big busted women might want to wear 2 sports bras when running. I tried it today and it was glorious.

  6. Marueze said,

    January 10, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    It is hard not to get wrapped up in the numbers – especially when focused and achieving.

    Our society is all about the numbers, it is how we are programed.

    What is important is that you have a really strong support system. 🙂

  7. Lady Shanny said,

    January 10, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Thanks for the advice Miss P. You’re right, the wrist and ankle weights are VERY BAD, especially the ankle ones. You can cause yourself almost immediate injury by wearing those. The wrist ones simply drag down on your arms and joints and the ankle ones can cause innumerable issues. VERY BAD!!!

    The running. Yes, I’ve been thinking about it. As a matter of fact I read your comments before I left work today and then thought about it the entire walk home. I’m a little adverse to it for a couple of reasons. First, I carry a backpack that isn’t exactly empty and light. Second, I feel like a giraffe on rollerskates when I try to run. Truly, the image of me running is enough to actually put me off trying it. But I’m going to. I have all weekend to gear myself up for it and then I’m going to do it. There are ways that I can lighten the backpack load and I need to get over the image thing.

    Running isn’t particularly comfortable on my legs either and I’m not sure why. Even after these few months of regular walking, I still have pretty major discomfort in my legs overall and especially my shins. It’s a bit frustrating because I know that the actual cardio could be increased but I’m not sure that my legs will do it.

    We’ll have to see. I’ll report back next week! And the tip about the bra(s) is a great one!

  8. p4pretention said,

    January 10, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    I jiggle a lot when I run and my face goes purple. If I don’t wear long enough shorts my legs rub together and its uncomfortable and embarrassing when I try to pull them down when they ride up. Marathon runners don’t even look good when running. BUT doing it feels awesome after. Mentally – something to do with endorphins. Physically you might be sore.

    Leg pain: Do you stretch after you walk? Seems like you go hellafar – it might help if you aren’t stretching. I am sure surfing the internets could produce useful stretches for whatever ails you if it is a muscle issue. I can also share some decent ones if you want. If its not muscle pain it could be like shinsplints (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shinsplints) or something, then you might want to chat up a doctor to send you for some physio (physio seems scary but is helpful). Doctors annoying but we just get this one body. I’m not trying to scare you, just giving you some ideas of what the leg pain issue might be.

    Best of luck with your endeavours (as always); if you do decide to run maybe try it without the pack (or an exceptionally light pack) the first couple of times.

  9. Princess Darcy said,

    January 10, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Sisterly and experienced advice. Do not try to run with a backpack! Running used to about kill me… (and half my friends)… but then we got okay at it, where we could keep a good pace and not die… then they added weights and it was like we were running through wet cement carrying refridgerators! Couldn’t breath… couldn’t keep a jog past five minutes… eventually it became no problem to run with weights and we enjoyed it… but not in a million bazillion years would I suggest starting off with even an empty backpack!
    I suggest keeping your walk to work just that… a walk to work… work at it as hard as you can of course, but keep it a walk. If you want to run, run where it is FLAT, not up or down hill… up hill is hard for experienced runners, let alone beginners and downhill is KILLER on shin splints or any kind of legpain…
    There… sisterly advice…. i’m now going to try and bath the cat… 🙂

  10. p4pretention said,

    January 12, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Yeah, maybe save the jogging thing for the weekend – leaves plenty of time for hot baths and stretching.

    Also, if you do try the run for a minute/walk for 5 thing it is helpful to bring a watch with a timer.

  11. katapilla22 said,

    January 13, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    I’ve learned that the exercise that I have my back up the most to, is the exercise that I NEED to do. For me that exercise is Bikrams. What are you adament about not doing?


Leave a Reply

