Why Am I Not Surprised?

That title sounds really bitter and twisted, doesn’t it?  I’m actually not.  I’m just truly not surprised that I wasn’t able to leave the 200’s tonight.  I would have needed to lose 2.8 to be officially out of them and given the ‘issues’ that I had body-wise this week, I knew that wasn’t going to happen.  So next week I am fully confident that I will be completely and totally out of the 200’s, FOREVER!

The chick at the meeting tonight told me that I need to eat more of my activity points.  This is a bit of a conflicted issue and there are two schools of thought on it.  One, you should eat ALL your activity points.  Two, you should eat some or none of them.  I’m in the ‘some or none’ group.  I walk 5km each day and I only allow 1 activity point to cover that.  When I did the huge walk on Saturday (5 miles) I only gave myself 3 activity points (150 calories, give or take).  I’m going to wait and see what happens on the scale next week when my body is back to normal before I increase the amount of activity points I’m using.  I am of the mind that eating extra would undo the benefit of the exercise.  However, because this is a learning process and I’m learning to listen to my body and understand what effects my actions have, I am willing to possibly increase the amount I’m eating.  I don’t really think that has anything to do with the last three weeks being only small losses, I think Christmas, New Years, my birthday and that time of the month probably factor in far more.  We’ll see.

About the exercise.  Since I did the walk on Saturday, the walk to and from work is a piece of cake.  I was talking to a friend about it the other day and I agreed that it is not a longterm, sustainable method of exercise.  First because the driving of my stuff to and from work twice a weekend and the getting ready at work in less than ideal conditions is starting to wear on my nerves.  Before the Christmas shutdown I knew I was getting burnt out.  I enjoy the actual walk, it’s the other bullshit that surrounds it that I’m starting to not like.  But I will keep doing it at least until the summer.  Second, it’s not really hard enough work anymore.  I physically cannot walk any faster than I already do and running with a backpack is probably not so great on my back.  So I’m not sure what I’m going to do.  I think I may need to add in some eliptical machine stuff to make sure that I’m still getting as much cardiovascular benefit as I was at the beginning.  That or doing a long, intense walk on the weekends.  I’m not sure yet, suggestions are welcome (bearing in mind that I will NOT be going to the gym).

That’s it for me this evening.  It’s been a long few days and I will be tucking into bed early.

14 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    January 8, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Maybe start doing a weight program (you’ve got a good set). Strengthening and toning the large muscle groups is a good way to burn calories, it’s not just cardio that does it. At least with weights you can increase reps and weight vs your walking program which gets stagnant unless you change your route. It doesn’t take long for our bodies to get used to something and then not be challenged.
    Good job on the loss, you are so close.
    Ditton on the Vitamin B6, it also keeps the moods more level. (that’s what I find)

  2. marieclaude said,

    January 9, 2008 at 5:22 am

    You might want to take a look at the WW newsletter, in particular the article about exercise myths (http://www.weightwatchers.ca/util/art/index_art.aspx?tabnum=1&art_id=23601) I agree with Bev that the next step in your case should be weight training! Keep it up, you’re my hero 🙂

  3. Lisa said,

    January 9, 2008 at 6:11 am

    If your body is burning up calories and you are not supplying it with enough to cover the basics, then your body will begin to hoard calories. If you earn an average of 15AP a week–3 a day–then I believe you should be eating at least some of those. More than 1pt worth, to clarify.

    Way to go!

  4. Comrade GoGo said,

    January 9, 2008 at 7:41 am

    I’m sure I’ll have more to say later (it’s early and I’m still out of it), but I’m worried that you seem to think one and half pounds, or two pounds, is a small loss for a week. That’s a great loss, especially considering you aren’t in that first few week honeymoon stage of dieting! Please don’t go to extreme on all this and hurt yourself or deny yourself needed nutrients :(.

  5. JanB said,

    January 9, 2008 at 8:29 am

    I agree that you need to eat enough to burn the fat. When I go under 1500 calories, I stop losing weight. But at the same time, I don’t go over 1800, or at least I try not to. Just try to not starve yourself and keep yourself on track with the exercise. You can find a balance. If you go too low, the fat won’t go. That’s my mantra, but I don’t use it as an excuse to go overboard either, moderation is what’s needed.

  6. Laura said,

    January 9, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Congrats on your accomplishments so far. I just want to add that it doesn’t have to be all or nothing. The walking to and from work is nice exercise. I do the same thing (and for the same distance, funnily enough). I find that it’s a great way to ease myself into the beginning of the day and to unwind at the end of the day. I try to do it at least twice a week during the winter months. It does require planning and bringing stuff to and from work is part of that. I wear different clothes to walk in and change at work. I don’t know if you can do that. Have you thought about just walking one way? Have you thought about adding some small wrist weights (1 or 2 pounds) to increase the intensity?

    In my experience, I started with walking. Then I graduated to running. When the weather’s warmer, I now ride my bike to and from work. You are doing so well. You will figure this out. The key to doing exercise consistently is enjoying whatever the activity is. Keep up the great work.

  7. Tarable said,

    January 9, 2008 at 9:00 am

    I was going to say the same thing as what Gogo said. You actually haven’t had small losses over the past few weeks. You’ve had normal losses.

  8. Lady Shanny said,

    January 9, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Tarable and GoGo,

    You are both right. I guess having seen the huge losses I sort of got used to that being my norm. It’s not though. I just looked back at the chart after reading your comments and those couple weeks (5 and 6 pounds each) were abnormal for me.

    So, I will settle down and just keep going with what I’m doing. It IS working and there really is no reason to monkey about with it right now. I’m not being ungrateful or ridiculous, I just lost sight of reality for a moment.

    Thanks for the slap in the head, girls!

  9. Nico said,

    January 9, 2008 at 10:08 am

    How about getting some strap-on ankle and wrist weights for when you walk? Walmart sells them cheap and you can get them in various weights. This is a good way of transitioning into some weight-work.

  10. Comrade GoGo said,

    January 9, 2008 at 10:51 am

    We love you, Shanny! I’m glad my comment didn’t make you mad.
    xoxx
    GoGo

  11. MamaBearJune said,

    January 9, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    I think you should add a high protein snack for your activity points. Some foods actually help your body burn fat, so that’s the kind of thing to eat. Otherwise your body might burn some muscle instead and you don’t want that! That’s why I don’t like the POINT thing. Something can have the same point value but have no nutritional value whatsoever.

    The latest issue of Prevention has an article about five foods that are high in monounsaturated fats and they actually burn belly fat. And there are some YUMMY things on the list, like dark chocolate.

  12. Princess Darcy said,

    January 9, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    WW makes up their points system for people that don’t excersise… Thats why they add in ‘activity points’. Otherwise they’d have tons of different categories of points allocations… It’s imperitive that you eat the proper amount of food to keep yourself healthy. Also, you might want to consider reading up on the Zone a little bit and starting to balance your food Carb/Protien/Fat while still maintaining the WW thing. Like the commenter above me says, WW can give something a point value but it has no nutrition. I have both the most recent Zone books, plus my binder if you want to borrow. But the fact remains that everyone who excersises supplements their exersise with food… Katapilla can back me up on that one I think as someone who doesn’t do WW, but does excersise. There’s eating your regular food when you don’t excersise and then there’s eating before and after exersise. Maybe read up on bodybuilding a little, because they write good articles on what to eat before and after a workout to burn fat and build muscle… might give you some guidelines for how many of those points to eat…

  13. Marueze said,

    January 9, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    It is tough when we aren’t where we want to be…yes, you want to break through the barrier – you have been really plowing ahead with the routine/diet/positive attitude. I agree with the comments above that if you are burning too much more than your body gets it does go into the hoard/retention mode. Try a snack that is high protein or complex carb.not a big snack but something that isn’t like a 1 pointer. Make it a yogurt with almonds or something like that.
    Don’t get discouraged – as far as the excercise being a challenge the weights sound like a great idea. Don’t worry no one is going to drag you off to the gym.

  14. katapilla22 said,

    January 13, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Hello my lady,

    Just catchin up….

    I have a few thoughts. First, I just have to say I do back PD and Lisa up, in that I think you need to eat those activity points on your exercise days. I’m not really sure how the points thing works with WW, but it is important to fuel your body properly to give you energy and to help recover. I am a creature of habit and eat nearly the same things all the time, however I alter it depending on my activity levels (Eating more the more active I am and less if I’m not on top of my exercise)

    You mentioned that you’re needing a more sustainable method of exercise. I can understand this completely. I used to get up at the crack of dawn, pack a huge bag and drive from Langley to Vancouver, where I’d hit the Y, unpack my bag work out, get ready, pack it up again and walk to work. I hated that frickin bag! I hated having to pack it every morning and lugging it around with me to and from work and home! Like you, I did it everyday despite the dreaded preparation of it all. I’m not really going anywhere with this other than to say be proud that you still do this despite the annoyances that are associated with it. Most ppl would say screw it, and that would be it…no more exercise. (Lucky for me now, I live down the street from my work and everything I love to do activity wise is a stone’s throw away. YAY!) Anyhow, moving along…. I think you/we/everyone should find exercise that keep them stimulated, motivated and also that allows for improvement. If you find you’re not getting that then ya…look for something else. I highly recommend some sort of weight training program…but that’s likely going to involve going to the gym. (I can’t remember why you don’t like the gym) Cardio….walking isn’t cutting it anymore, have you thought about joining a running group? Have you thought about looking for some sort of exercise thing that is close to your work? You could avoid traffic by going straight to some class by your work and then driving back later once all the cars are long gone?


Leave a Reply

