Limits

Someone once told me that in exercise you need to find your limit.  Find the point where you literally could not go any further or push any harder so that you know where you are from an athletic point of view.  Well, I found mine today.

This morning I woke up and decided that I was going to go out to Iona Park.  If you don’t live here, let me explain.  Iona Park is actually a waste water treatment plant out by the Vancouver International Airport.  There is a huge pipe that runs from land 2.5 miles out into the ocean.  They’ve flattened off the top of it so you can walk on it.  And that’s what I did.  It’s a 5 mile round trip (8km) and I did it in about an hour and a half. 

Holy LORD it was windy.  It’s windy weather right here anyway but walk on a pipe two and a half miles out into the ocean and the wind gets absolutely ridiculous.  Click HERE to see some pictures.  It was so windy and cold that my skin would start to hurt after just a couple of minutes of exposure, hence the bundling up of the Shanny.

So, back to this limit thing.  5 miles, as fast as I can go is my limit.  There is no more.  That is the most that I can do in one go, the hardest that I can make my body work.  And I am totally fine with that.  There was one guy who got there at the same time as I did and ran the entire thing.  Do I feel bad because I can’t do that?  Not at all!  I feel absolutely fantastic and proud and empowered and satisfied with where my ability is.  4 months ago I wouldn’t have walked down the street or gone up a flight of stairs without feeling like I was going to expire.  And now?  5 miles!  I completely maxed out my breathing and I’m positive that my heartrate was way up there.

It’s all good.  Of course with all that wind and the sweating, I again have a chill but I have all day of football watching and Sex & The City viewing and laying about on the couch to get rid of it.  I EARNED the right to spend the rest of this day laying around!

8 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    January 5, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Awesome photos. Can’t wait to do it with you! Take your electric blanket off your bed and get real cozy on the couch.

  2. Princess Darcy said,

    January 5, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Where the eff are your MITTENS??

  3. Katie said,

    January 6, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Hey, thank you so much for the post! You do not seem preachy at all! By the way, I’m allergic to nuts so it’s hard to snack on them for weight watchers. I wish I could eat them because I used to be able to and they were amazing. But you really made my night because I went out tonight and was really down. Thank you!

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    January 6, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Princess, I took my mittens off to get the camera out….as you can see from the picture, my hands are COLD and I only had my mitts off for a couple seconds!

  5. Marueze said,

    January 6, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Great shots – reminds me of where I used to walk down by the Throggs Neck Bridge here in beautiful Queens, NY. There is a jetty, but no where near 2.5 miles and the jetty is all rock anyway so it is more of an rocky adventure than a walking thingy. But the trail that leads to it is about 5 miles it is paved and people are all doing their things at different rates/speeds. Some people bike it and there are even guys in a club that use bicycles that go on arm power instead of leg power. It is inspring to see people at all different levels doing their thing because they are out there doing it.

    As for the weather, when I was in my zone I would be out there rain, snow, hail, 100 degree weather and I survived them all. I enjoy the weather when it is challenging it shakes things up a bit. Wonder if you get extra points wit all the wind – it was like resistence training. Keep up the great work!

  6. Comrade GoGo said,

    January 6, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Wow, that’s one sweet walking path! I love the pictures. You are a tough cookie, Shanny ;).

  7. Krystle said,

    January 7, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Gorgeous pictures! Looks like a peaceful, reflective walk… 🙂

  8. April 13, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    […] and how that was the absolute extent of my ability.  And I was remembering in January when I walked 5 miles and that was the most I was able to accomplish.  I was thinking about how when I was first starting […]


Leave a Reply

