Remind Me Again?

Sometimes we need to be reminded of things.  Sometimes we forget really obvious things and need a refresher course.  Sometimes, once we get the refresher course, we learn something else and the whole world just becomes a little clearer.

I left work today at 5, having had my afternoon snack at 3:30.  Walked home, changed clothes, made a grocery list, went shopping, went to work and picked my stuff up, stopped and got gas, went to the electronics store to get a DVD and then came home, changed again, unpacked groceries and just about self combusted.  I couldn’t figure out why I was so cranky.  Why did I just about chuck my iPod across the room?  Why was I butterfingering everything up?  Why was I snapping at my bird and myself?  5 hours had gone by and I hadn’t eaten anything since the orange and 6 almonds I had at afternoon coffee and heaven knows, between the walk home and all the stuff I did once I got there, I burned that off and then some! 

So, I popped a chicken-style patty in the oven (Penguin will review these this weekend) and had a M*Chicken-style sandwich.  And now?  I feel much better.  I feel back to earth and not in danger of harming the first person I come into contact with.  So I relearned the lesson that “Shanny gets cranky when she hasn’t eaten!”.  I remembered one of the reasons that I got to where I had 80+ pounds to lose.  I used to go all day without eating anything and then be so beside myself when I got home that I would eat the entire day’s calories and then some (and the food choices were NOT good ones).  I can’t imagine going an entire day without eating now.  Crazy!

But over and above that, I started thinking about if I could turn off Crazy Homicidal Shanny in under 10 minutes with a simple sandwich, how much food affects our bodies.  When I was in the grocery store this evening there was a very large woman buying groceries ahead of me in line.  I, bored, was perusing her grocery cart as she unloaded it.  No veg, full fat dairy, no whole grains, no lean protein, just crap.  Chips and chocolate bars and canned gravy and canned meat (?), bakery donuts, pasta and more kinds of sugary cereal than I knew existed.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am NOT being judgey!  To each their own and Lord knows, I didn’t get to be more than 80 pounds overweight by making the smart choices in the grocery store.  But it got me to thinking about how food affects our bodies.  It got me to thinking about the crap that gets passed off as food.  There are so many things that you can buy at the grocery store that your body has not got the first clue how to process.  Your body knows it needs to make what you give it into fuel to burn and when what you give it can’t be converted into anything useful, you’re not allowing your body to function the way it was intended to.  And you get fat!

So no, I should not have gone 5 hours on only an orange and 6 almonds.  But when that happens (and it will happen because life happens) I can at least be confident in the knowledge that I am better off having had that and then nothing rather than filling the gap with a bag of chips or a chocolate bar.

Does this post even make any sense?  Now that I’ve eaten dinner, I’m suddenly incredibly tired and a little foggy.

One more thing.  Tomorrow is the first edition of Ask Lady Shanny.  I think I may have explained the column wrong.  You don’t need to ask questions about me.  They can be completely general or random.  They also can be about me and how I’m managing the weight loss thing, but it certainly is not limited to that.  Ask anything that your heart desires!  I have questions from 3 different people.  I’ll randomly draw one for tomorrow and then save the others for future editions. 

6 Comments

  1. Tarable said,

    January 5, 2008 at 9:02 am

    I am very, VERY sensitive to hunger. I can NOT go without eating for any length of time or I literally lose my mind. After 5 hours I would be strapped to a gurney, going somewhere with padded walls. My family all know that when I say, “I’m hungry” we all stop what we’re doing, and we get Tarable a snack. People have almost lost life or limb when I was in a state of hunger.

    So I’ve learned to keep food stashed in my purse for times when I can’t get something to eat or those times when there’s food around but it’s the stuff that our bodies aren’t ment to digest. (Recently I was STARVING and my companions thoughtlessly ordered an appy platter which conisted of onion rings, deep friend zuchini sticks, chicken wings and popcorn shrimp. *gasp*). Instead of giving in to these things, I pull my All Bran bar out, or my cheese string from my purse. And it gets me through.

    Lady Shanny, put some snacks in your purse! And don’t forget to eat!

  2. Lady Shanny said,

    January 5, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Thanks Tarable. It’s not so much that I ‘forgot’ to eat, just that I kept wanting to do one more thing, one more thing, one more thing until it got to the point where I was so cranky that my insides just about burst. I have now, this morning since your comment, thrown in a package of All Bran bites, one in my purse and one in the backpack.

    There is a quote I read a long time ago: You have to be a special kind of stupid to forget to eat.

    You also have to be a special kind of stupid jerk to yourself to withhold food until you’re done ‘everything’. That’s enough of that! I woke up with a splitting headache this morning….gee, I wonder why?

  3. Comrade GoGo said,

    January 5, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I think Tarable’s suggestion about stashing a bit of food in your bag is a great one, and I’m glad you’re doing that now :). Shannykins needs to take care of herself.

    As for me, I too turn into Bitchy McSnap when I get too hungry. Everything is soooo frustrating and annoying. Then I sit down for a nice sandwich, and minutes later I’m all smiles (well, okay, almost).

    As someone who deals with depression, I have often pondered the relationship between food, body, and mood. From what I’ve read, I’m definitely not the only depressed person who copes w/ low serotonin by overdoing it on the refined sugars, which sets up that vicious cycle of a serious blood-sugar drop a short time later, leading to more physical and mental cravings… And then to fatness, which of course has major negative impact on the original depression… All leading to a hideous snowball effect.

  4. Marueze said,

    January 5, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Oh, I am so guilty of going stretches, long stretches w/o food even with the stuff packed in my bag. I may not get in a bad mood all the time but I become ravinous (sp?) and forget the damage I do to my diet. Don’t know if I could stop at six almonds that is a pretty good resolve.
    Don’t know if I will ever get there.
    I was so worried about gaining this week due to my lack of movement I sort of gave up yesterday but I lost .6 I guess the scale gods chose to be nice to me. LOL

  5. Lady Shanny said,

    January 5, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Mareuze, good job on the loss! We should ALL remember that the more consistant you keep your metabolism (by eating) the better your body is able to let go of any excess fat.

    Sometimes I wonder if the deprivation of food (even when we have appropriate food available) goes back to the ‘suffering’ we think is required when we’re ‘dieting’. I wonder if it sometimes becomes too comfortable and we feel like we need to remind ourselves that life shouldn’t feel too comfortable so we make it a little harder than it has to be. Hmmm…interesting.

  6. January 5, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    […] to my Mom, who has lost 40 pounds and to Lady Shanny, who has done EXTREMELY well, too. Though “Shanny gets cranky when she hasn’t eaten!” I think the same thing can be said of most of us. At least, in my family I know for sure that […]


Leave a Reply

