A Bit of Everything

1.  I’m sitting here under my electric blanket (turned on HIGH) with a toque on and about 3 layers of clothing.  The temperature in here says 24C.  Why, you ask?  I caught a chill.  How, you ask?  OK, it’s really, REALLY windy here right now.  So on my walk home, I had my new wool and thinsulate toque on and tied under my chin to keep the ear flaps on my ears.  It’s not that cold outside but I didn’t want my ears to hurt from the wind.  Mr. Wind decided that it would be great fun to make me walk into it 3/4 of the way home.  I worked up quite the sweat exerting the same amount of effort it would take to drag a dead buffalo uphill.  Then, almost there, the wind shifted and I had to fight not to take flight, so I ran.  Now, good and sweaty I got onto the train.  Unfortunately, there was some issue further up the way so we sat on the train, marooned in the middle of the track for around 20 minutes.  In the hot train.  The train that, incidentally, smelled of mothballs…and was really hot!  By the time we finally got to my stop, the moisture and rain and damp had soaked through all my clothes.  Wind hits Shanny.  Shanny gets chill.  Shanny can’t seem to shake the chill, even after a hot shower, hot dinner and the plethora of blankies.  Shanny thinks that if she gets sick because of refusing to be daunted by weather then she is going to be very, VERY upset.

2.  Recipe of the week is updated.  On another food related note, the easiest way to make your tuna salad not dry and disgusting (without adding half a jar of mayo) is to not completely drain the tuna.  Drain it a bit, but don’t squeeze every drop of moisture out.

3.  OK, we’re still talking about food for a minute.  Turns out that even after all these months, I still can’t be trusted with sugar in the house.  The other day I was at the grocery store when they put all the holiday chocolates on sale.  I figured since there was some pretty fancy stuff there (all for 99 cents) that I would pick up a few and throw them in the freezer for treats or gifts or…something.  HA!  Not such a brilliant idea.  Now, I should mention that I only bought the little sampler packs (you know, the ones with only 3 or 4 chocolates?) and only one of those sampler packs is ‘missing’, but come ON!  No restraint!  Well, that’s not true.  I guess I must have some restraint because all the rest of them are still in the freezer.  But they are going to have to go somewhere else.  So even though I ate that, I still am going to stick to the rest of my day.  I have an orange and a piece of cheese planned out for later and I’m going to just pretend that the chocolate incident didn’t happen.  I marked it down on the food diary but that’s as far as this goes.  I’m not going to make myself feel bad about it.  In fact, after I type the period at the end of this sentence, I’m not going to think about it again.

4.  And finally, I am still constantly amazed by the difference when I make good friend choices as opposed to bad friend choices.  Good friends call you and check up on you when you leave a sketchy comment on facebook.  Good friends MSN you and when you’re too crabby and irritable to chat, they phone you the next day and make you laugh.  Good friends offer you the use of their ducky, just in case you need to focus for a minute.  Good friends text message you back, even when it’s inconvenient for them.  Good friends are good!  Bad friends are a waste of time!

5.  OK people, I need your help.  Don’t make me look stupid.  The first week of Ask Lady Shanny is coming up.  One person, ONE PERSON sent me an email question for the column.  The rest of you?  Hundreds of you who come here everyday?  Not a single question?  Nothing?  Nada?  Come on!  Let’s have fun with this.  The only way that I can create the fun though, is for you guys to send me some questions.  It doesn’t have to be life altering or anything like that!  This is not a column for heavy, hard to deal with advice.  This is supposed to be fun.  So send the fun!  Go on over to the left there and click on Ask Lady Shanny.  Type a question in the box and let’s get this party started!  I’m going to keep mentioning this until I’m getting questions.  Don’t make me get naggy!  🙂

OK, that’s it for me!  I have to go get into bed.  I wish my blow dryer was here because my hair is still damp from the shower and I don’t think that’s going to help my chill situation.  Maybe I’ll run the curling iron through it instead and end up with a mess of frizzy curls and dry-ish hair.

3 Comments

  1. Tarable said,

    January 3, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Hey! I do that tuna thing too. I like it with some of the juice still in it.

    Mmmm…. tuna sandwich….

  2. GoGo said,

    January 4, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Hee, I’m a geek, I actually have *another* question for your column, but I want to give some other people a chance to ask questions first ;).

    I’m so sorry you’re not feeling good. Feel better soon, Shanny!

  3. Krystle said,

    January 4, 2008 at 9:38 am

    That’s a good idea for the Tuna salad, I’ll have to try that!

    GoGo… Teehee, I asked her 3 questions in 1 column last night… Oops.


Leave a Reply

