A Day I Should Have Slept Through

Do you ever have those days?  Where you should have just stayed in bed?  Today was terrible!  I won’t go into detail, but it was a sucky, SUCKY day.

I walked today for the first time in 14 days and I am feeling it in every fibre of every muscle of my body.  Everything is achy, my back hurts and I caught a chill.  Next time I decide that I should take a 2 week break from exercise, remind me that the first day back to it sucks bobo (and also that the first place to suffer from the lack of exercise is my tummy area).  The good thing is that I really did need the break.  I was feeling a little burnt out and tired and sick of it all and now after a little rest I’ve regained my motivation to keep going. 

I weighed in today (at a different meeting) and I lost 2.2 pounds.  That’s GOOD!  That means that over the 2 weeks of Christmas holidays I lost 2.8 pounds!  Yay!

I have an excellent recipe for you tomorrow; Slightly Spicy Black Bean and Corn Chili.  I’m eating it right now with some jasmine rice and a little dollop of sour cream and it is beyond heaven! 

Off to eat a bottle of Motrin with a Nyquil chaser.  Bye for now!

PS.  P4pretention, your comment on my last post absolutely slayed me!  I laughed until I couldn’t breathe!  Thanks!

9 Comments

  1. Tarable said,

    January 2, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    I am also feeling the effects of a hard workout today. My body says it’s time to go to bed.

    I managed to get myself to a meeting tonight and I lost 1.2! Woohoo! Good for us for losing over the holidays, that is no easy task.

  2. MamaBearJune said,

    January 3, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Wow, losing over the holidays ROCKS! Congrats on that. I’m sorry you had a crappy day. Hope tomorrow is much better.

  3. Lady Shanny said,

    January 3, 2008 at 6:58 am

    Congrats Tarable! I’m proud of you…us!

  4. GoGo said,

    January 3, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Congratulations on the holiday weight loss, Shanny and Tarable!

  5. Anonymouse said,

    January 3, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    What GoGo said. Congratulations to you, Lady Shanny, and to Tarable!

  6. Marueze said,

    January 3, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Congrats to all that lost weight over the holidays…
    I think I may have found some it. Gained the week before X-mas, Lost the week of X-mas – not doing so great this week. We will see Sat. Between not going to the gym, not walking, and eating cookies at work – not doing so good.

    On the bright side I’m sick so I’m not constantly hungry. Don’t know if I’m the only person who does get hungry when they are sick but I have not totally lost my appetite. Finally got in to see the Dr. got meds so hopefully after the weekend I will go back to the gym. Right now my biggest exercise task is pushing myself away from the table.
    TGITNY….On ward. . .

  7. ladybeams said,

    January 3, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Wow! way to go. To go thru all the holidays and be booking a good loss is fantastic!

  8. p4pretention said,

    January 3, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    I do what I can ; )

    Congrats on regaining your motivation to keep going and for losing over the holidays! Getting back into exercise is brutal. So is getting back to work. At 4:00 today I found myself blankly staring at my computer screen, brain completely disconnected from this plain (plane? I have no idea…) so I left and (somehow) dragged my ass onto an elliptical. I’ve taken to listening to audiobooks while I pointsboost – makes it way less boring and is hellarelaxing. You can pick them up at libraries, generally, or there is a site which has volunteers reading public domain books that you can download for free. I usually pick books by the voices I like instead of by title and author. I recommend War of the Worlds or the Invisible Man.

    http://librivox.org/

  9. Comrade GoGo said,

    January 5, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Thanks for that audiobook link, p4pretention! I got the audiobook of the Minority Report and other Short Stories recently, but I’ll work through that fairly quickly and will be needing some new listening materials.


Leave a Reply

