Thank God!

Routine!  I miss you!!!!!!!!!!  Thank God that tomorrow, life returns to normal.  I’m not going to lie, it has been really nice getting ready in my own house every day and napping when I felt like it and making different stuff for lunch and not having anyone else around unless I wanted.  But it’s time to return to reality.  It’s time to get some exercise (my plan to exercise on my eliptical lasted 4 days…until I fell off of it and tweaked my hip and smashed my shoulder against the deep freeze.  I’m fine now.) and get to bed at a regular time and get back to all the stuff that comes with reality.  Oh, it’s time!

I lazed around ALL DAY today, only getting out of my pajamas to have a bath and then change into different pajamas.  And now, I am going to dig my pretty pink lunch bag out, make my lunch and pack up all my stuff to take to work.  Tomorrow is walking day!  YAY!  I never would have believed that I would come to crave exercise but it really does make me feel better.  It helps to moderate my food choices and burn off excess energy and sweat out toxins.  It gives me time to listen to music and be outside and enjoy this new, mobile body of mine.  I have missed you, walking!

One more thing (and I’m looking at you sheepishly through the computer screen).  In two of the three posts I wrote yesterday, I completely discredited resolutions.  But I’ve made one ( 😳 ).  I am going to make the effort to eat one vegetable side dish every day.  Not to say that I don’t currently eat veggies, I do.  I include them in things that I cook.  But I don’t feel that I get enough of them so I am going to make a conscious effort to include more of them.  The problem for me is that I do not eat raw vegetables.  The only raw vegetable that I can stomach is cucumber.  Fortunately in this age of technology, you can get decent ones year round because they are grown hydroponically.  So yesterday I had steamed brocoli and today I had cucumber.  It’s not a huge change, but one that should benefit me over the long term.  And to make sure that I’m paying attention, I will log the vegetable choice in my daily food tracker (normally I don’t write down anything with zero points value).  Wish me luck!

Goodbye Christmas holidays.  You’ve been a nice break but it’s time for you to go.  See you in another year!

6 Comments

  1. Administrator said,

    January 2, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Hi Shanny, thanks so much for visiting my blog! You’re right, it is hard to see the difference when you see yourself every day, but I do love it when I see the scale move! I am so proud of you and your weight loss success with Weight Watchers. You look great and you have the right attitude! I love raw veggies but sadly cannot tolerate a lot of them. I have found that grape tomatoes, mushrooms and cucumbers are the easiest for me to tolerate and I make sure I have some everyday. I also take a great fruit and vegetable concentrate vitamin every day to make sure I get my daily requirement and I have noticed a difference in my skin, nails, hair, and overall good feeling. Have you tried the new V-8 juice splash drinks? Personally I don’t like them, but I know a lot of people do. If not and you want to try the vitamins I take let me know, I can send you a few days sample to try out and see what you think. Well, you’re off to a great start for 2008 – keep up the great work and may God bless you!
    Briggie ^i^

  2. Tarable said,

    January 2, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Yes, goodbye Christmas holidays… good riddance!

    I’m so happy to have some sort of routine back in my life.

  3. GoGo said,

    January 2, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Yeah, I’m actually looking forward to resuming the grind too . . . I feel all off-kilter and ready to move on.

    And there’s no shame in making a small resolution (or two) ;).

  4. Marueze said,

    January 2, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Change is good so you changed your mind about resolutions – it is all good. 🙂
    You have done amazingly well considering your low veg intake. I personally find I do better with lots of veggies, raws and cooked. But we all march to the beat of our own drums. We need to learn what is good for ourselves, but at the same time be willing to step outside of our comfort zones at times to see if there is value in it. But if what works for you works – hey – if it ain’t broke don’t break it.

  5. Marueze said,

    January 2, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Sorry – I think I meant to say if it ain’t broke no need to fix it??????

  6. p4pretention said,

    January 2, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Amen! I have missed the shit out of my routine. Now I will no longer have cinnamon buns thrust at me with a guilty face if I don’t want to have 3901487913 calories before 9 in the morning.


Leave a Reply

