New Year’s Eve Post #3 (the last one)

snowmen.jpg 

 As I was Tag Surfing (wordpress-ers know what that is), I ran across this end of year survey from Laila Yuile.  I wasn’t going to do a year in review type thing, but this one seemed too good to pass up.  Please feel free to take this survey to your own website or do it in the comments here.  I should point out that many of my answers below are focussed on the last 4 months.  I really do have a horrible memory, but more than that, the last 4 months are worth thinking about and the first 8 are not.

LADY SHANNY’S PERSONAL YEAR IN REVIEW

In 2007, I gained:  self-respect, a new outlook, some amazing new friends, my collarbones, a twinkle in my eye

In 2007, I lost:  45 pounds, some old hurt that was holding me back, the need for anti-depressants

In 2007, I stopped:  my negative self-talk, my compulsive eating, thinking that perfection was the only answer, letting apathy take over, publishing to my original website

In 2007, I started:  exercising, healthy eating and the research of such, being honest with myself and others, believing that I deserved more than I was giving myself, making sure that I know that only I have the power to run my life, Lady Shanny Says

In 2007, I was hugely satisfied by: my commitment to myself, the growing success of this website, building and maintaining my social circle, learning to exercise and not hating every second of it

In 2007, I was frustrated by: how often I was getting sick and the severity of each, the lack of attractive clothes in my closet, my inability to get over a particular person, the lack of stability at work

In 2007, I was so embarassed that I: allowed myself to spin out of control, made a spectacle out of myself on a daily basis, didn’t put forth any effort to be a better Lady Shanny, couldn’t see the trees for the forest

Once again, I: bowed to other people’s desires too much, allowed other people’s opinions to govern my behaviour

Once again, I did not: quit smoking, put enough in a savings account, move to an area I would rather live in

The biggest physical difference:  is obviously the great deal of weight that I’ve lost

The biggest emotional difference: is the clarity and knowledge I have now and how I choose to use it, my willingness to be a little vulnerable in certain situations, my growing ability to trust people

Why did I spend even 2 minutes:  rehashing the past, caring so much what other people thought, groaning about things I couldn’t change and ignoring that which I could

I should have spent more time:  reading something other than blogs, being outside when it was warm, being assertive and selling my thoughts and ideas, asking for help when I needed it rather than forcing myself to do it all

My biggest regret:  is how much time I’ve wasted over the last year and those that came before

Next year I’m going to:  well, this one smacks a little too much of resolution so let’s just say that I will continue to “Do the next right thing.”

 

5 Comments

  1. Me said,

    December 31, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I can’t wait to see what this next year hold for you! And yes, doing the next right thing. For me that is the xing out of the desserts. A resolution, yes. And definitely the next right thing. Hope you will continue to follow my journey.

    http://www.weightloss2008.wordpress.com

  2. Carol said,

    January 1, 2008 at 3:21 am

    Shanny.
    I plan to do this 2008 what you did in 2007.
    Thanks and I hope 2008 brings you everything that you wish for. (Dont forget that when you take the step and visit Australia that you come and stay with us.. Take care Carol

  3. tomax7 said,

    January 1, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    Me too, I’m going down the path you blasted through.

    😉

    Laila has a good point over on her blog – you have to get angry enough to do it. Right now I’m upset over allowing myself to get so big, I need to raise that a notch.

  4. MamaBearJune said,

    January 1, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    You look so wonderful! You’ve made great progress this year. Here’s to an even better year in 2008! 🙂

  5. Sybil said,

    January 2, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    I love the end of the year review questions! Think I’ll add it to my list of things to do this week.

    Your photos are amazing and very inspirational. Congratulations and keep up the fantastic work.


Leave a Reply

