New Year’s Eve Post #2

collage1.jpg

Good grief!  Is the person in the first picture the same as the person in the last? 

I’m not going to recap the entire year, mostly because I have the worst memory in the history of the world.  And I’m not going to recap the last four months, mostly because that’s what the archives on this site are for.  What I am going to do instead is give credit where credit is due. 

The transformation that you see above was (and continues to be) my own journey, but there are so many people who have made that journey easier to bear.

Tarable ~ I am so grateful for our newfound friendship.  We are different, you and I, in so many ways.  And yet in the stuff that matters, I think we are friend soulmates.  I care so much about you and sometimes I wish that I could take away anything that makes you feel bad.  Since that’s not possible, I can only tell you that I will always be here for you, I will always care what’s going on it your life and I will always be a soft place to land if you need it.  Thank you for all your kind words, for your support, your encouragement and your humor.

Hilary ~ We’ve never met and yet it feels like I’ve known you all my life.  You’re a light in the darkness, sunshine in the rain, a flower in the snow and an angel with all the right words.  Your spirit shines through your writing and it is plain to see that you are so caring and loving and beautiful both in body and heart.

Mareuze ~ Again, you’re someone I’ve never met but am blessed to know.  The comments that you leave are so logical and caring and experienced and they mean the world to me.  You give me pieces of your life and your experiences and that means so much because sometimes I feel that I’ve over-exposed myself on this website.

Carey ~ I don’t need to go there again, but just know how grateful I am for our friendship this past year.

Princess Darcy ~ It’s hard to have someone out there with the same bone structure and the same genes and the same general experiences and know that I wasn’t measuring up to what was possible, that I was letting the negative run my life.  I saw what was possible because of you and I couldn’t lie to myself anymore that what I had created was all that was possible.  It was a hard, sometimes painful lesson to learn.  I want to thank you for always supporting me in whatever and however I was doing.  Your compassion and understanding during my ‘dark time’ last year and your support when I decided to do this was overwhelming.  I know that by ‘relation’, we love and care about each other, but your ability to show that emotion is something that I aspire to. (start putting your name on your comments so people know who you are!)

Mom ~ I know that you’ve always been proud of me no matter what, but your amazement as I change physically and your willingness to comment on it makes me want to keep going.  I know that I don’t always seem appreciative of the comments, but inside my heart is smiling!  You came on the inaugural bridge walk.  You were with me when I got the shoes that changed my exercise world.  You’ve been with me when I was trying to find clothes to wear.  It may seem like such ordinary stuff but it means a lot to me that you are willing to get involved in this journey of mine.

Katapilla ~ You’ve always been such a good friend to my sister and I am honored to get a taste of that for myself.  You’ve been through a lot this year and yet you still find the time to comment and email me.  I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your views and thoughts and opinions on whatever the issue of the moment is.  Oftentimes it’s a point of view that I hadn’t considered or hadn’t yet managed to form into a clear thought.  Thank you!  (my voodoo baby is stitched into the inside of my running jacket!)

Everyone Else ~ Obviously, there are other people that I’ve missed.  Pantrypuff for making me laugh, Buddhabelly for rocking your journey (and for singing me Happy Birthday in the comments!), Krystle for calling me an inspiration.  p4pretention, ladybeams, siggy, mamabearjune, janb, Empress, marieclaude, Carol from Australia, anonymouse, desperatewriter and many, many more!  (if I’ve missed you, I apologize profusely…comment me and I’ll add you to the Super Hero List).  You are all the reason that I keep writing this website.  You are motivation and inspiration and logic and advice and experience.  You have answers when I have questions, you have encouragement when I have doubts.  From the bottom of my heart, I thank you for your support.  Thank you seems so insignificant and small and doesn’t nearly express the gratitude that I have for you.  But thank you is all I have.

Happy New Year, lovely and beautiful people.

8 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    December 31, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Thank you for your kind words and I will continue to stay as involved as you want me on your journey.
    You have been an inspiration to me.

    The best year is coming your way.

  2. Marueze said,

    December 31, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Good Golly Gosh! Thank you so much for the kind words, sentiment and gratitude.
    It is so thoughtful for you to take the time out for all of us out there. I just got home from a really sucky day of work, being one of the many who are involved in the financial end of an “institution”/hospital and month end is month end, even if it is NYE! My boss came back from having a week off to just gripe about everything, I’m guessing she didn’t feel well or had not such a great week. Any who, to come home and start checking out the assorted sites that I read and find such a lovely, heartfelt message was quite the elixir to help me feel better. Thank you for putting yourself out there.
    Now if I can only stay as focused on the plan.
    Happy New Year to All.

  3. Lady Shanny said,

    December 31, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Hi Mareuze,

    I’m glad that I was able to take a bit of the sucky out of your day. Coming home to a comment from you very often does the same thing for me.

    Happy New Year!

  4. Anonymouse said,

    December 31, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Happy New Year, Lady Shanny! Thanks for all the inspiration!

  5. Tarable said,

    January 1, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Thanks Lady Shanny, that was very sweet and made me get a little lump in my throat.

  6. katapilla22 said,

    January 2, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Thanks Shannon! I’m glad you are sharing your journey and I get to be a part of it! Happy New Year!

    Love,
    K

  7. ladybeams said,

    January 3, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    So glad you posted the headshots on here. It is such a great tribute to all you have accomplished with your weight. There is such a fantastic difference between the top 3 and the rest. It’s awe inspiring and just incredible to see the change that way. You go girl!

    Happy New Year to you and you were so sweet with your thank yous. Quite the heart to go with that new body!

  8. Krystle said,

    January 4, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Thanks Lady Shanny, I really appreciate it. You truly are an inspiration, you have no idea.


Leave a Reply

