New Year’s Eve Post #1

resolutions.jpg

Guess what today is?  Monday?  Nope.  New Year’s Eve?  Yes, but no.  Give up?  It’s just another day.  It happens to be a day that lots of people get off work, that lots of people go to parties and most people are up until the wee hours.  So why does this day make people think that they should overhaul their lives?  I have to admit, I’m a little bit guilty of that, in a way.  I’ve always used December 31st and January 1st to re-organize my kitchen and bathroom, clean up the spare room and, a couple of years ago, repaint my living room.  It’s nice to give yourself a fresh start, but making ‘resolutions’ on one day that are supposed to impact your life forever is just silly.  It sets you up for failure because chances are, you haven’t actually given the idea enough thought or made enough of a plan to get it to work. 

Quit smoking?  Great idea.  Lose weight?  I’m with you all the way.  Straighten out your finances?  Probably a good plan.  But to just declare that effective January 1st you are going to start doing all that?  It’s a recipe for disaster and feelings of failure. 

So, how about this year we try something different.  How about this year we do one small thing (like eating more vegetables) and then let that small thing grow into another small thing.  Before long, you’ll have one big thing and it won’t seem torturous or overwhelming.  If you can take your one small thing and really pay attention to it and do it properly, I am willing to bet that before too long you’ll find you’re ready to make another small change.  Your original one small thing won’t be a challenge anymore and you’ll need to add in something else. 

As my New Year’s Eve gift to you, click this link.  GoGo Brooks is her name and she is so smart and intuitive and well-written.  She has a quote up right now: “Do the next right thing” and I think how she explains it may affect the way you look at resolutions and change in general. 

2 Comments

  1. GoGo said,

    December 31, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    You really do give me way too much credit, Lady S., but I have to admit, it makes me feel good :). Thanks for the props and for just being you!

  2. ladybeams said,

    January 3, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I am one that uses the New Year as a starting point for re-organization. I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions so to speak, but it is a time for me to go over my goals and my plan for getting there. It is the one time of year I look over last year and take the time to look at me and where I am, and where I want to go. In keeping with your “the next right thing” I do break everything up into babysteps, or short, medium and long term plans. I’m afraid if I just do the “next right thing” when I get there, I won’t know what it is. LOL.

    Happy New Year. I love your new “changes”.


Leave a Reply

