Happy Boxing Day!

Hi there!  How was your Christmas?  Did you have a nice time?  Did you get nice gifts?  Eat good food?  Take a nap?  Are you braving the crowds for the Boxing Day sales?

My answers to the questions above:  Lovely.  Yes.  More than I could have asked for!  Yes.  Yes.  Hell no!

Christmas was a lot of driving around for me, but worth it.  Christmas Eve was spent at my mom’s in Langley with the family plus my sister’s best friend and her boyfriend.  Good food and good company.  Christmas morning was at my sister and her boyfriend’s house, again with the family and this time with the addition of Patrick’s sister.  It was nice to have a different group of people rather than just the 5 of us.  When we finished opening gifts, we went outside to find it was snowing.  We had a white Christmas here on the Lower Mainland, the first one in 10 years.  Driving home from Sister’s was a bit interesting, what with how slippery it was.  It took me two tries to get up the hill to my house and then moments after I walked in the door, my mom phoned and told me dinner was a couple of hours early.  So off I went again, out into the snow.  I figured that when I came home from my mom’s I’d be parking at the bottom of the hill and walking up, but after only a couple of tries again, I made it onto my street.  Turkey dinner was good, although as I’ve said before, it doesn’t really do much for me.  I’d be just as happy having tacos.

After dinner last night my mom figured that I should tell my grandparents what I have been doing as far as diet and exercise goes.  I agreed, thinking that it’s Christmas, everyone is generous of heart and they probably wouldn’t be ridiculous about it.  Plus, some of the gifts that I received probably seemed kind of odd to them and there were some references made over the last couple of days to walking over the bridge and Weight Watchers.  So I bit the bullet and started out by telling them about walking to work.  Their reaction couldn’t have been colder if I’d told them I was planning on running away and joining a lesbian circus.  So in the midst of the akward conversation I decided that I wouldn’t mention WW or how much weight I’ve lost.  I let them think that I was doing the walking to avoid traffic (which I was, originally) and then they launched into a discussion on fuel cost and whether transit fare was cheaper or about the same as the gas I would burn if I drove.  It was very unnerving. 

My mom figures that we’ve chastised them so many times and for so many years about not mentioning food, diet or weight, that they are now gun-shy and not willing to go there.  That’s fine, but I don’t think that’s what it is.  I’m not entirely sure WHAT it is, but they seemed bitter….or sullen….or…I don’t know.  I’m not going to spend any more time worrying about it; it is what it is.  I have enough people in my life who are proud of me and what I’ve done and continue to do, and even if I didn’t, I’m proud enough of myself for a whole parade of people!  My grandparents never will understand that weight loss is not just about the loss of fat.  It’s about finding who I am under a protective shield and then letting that shield go.  It’s about allowing myself to be a little scared but to keep going anyway.  It’s about respect and courage and determination in life.  I think it was Tammy who mentioned a twinkle in the eyes in a comment one day.  If it were just about the loss of fat, there would be no reason for a person’s eyes to brighten.  If the eyes are the window to the soul (and heaven knows, my face and eyes give me away all the time) then I think the twinkle has to do with an inner happiness and pride in yourself.

I think I did pretty well over the last couple of days.  I stayed right to basics until Christmas Eve dinner and then had what I wanted, but not to the extreme (several of the recipes were WW anyway).  Christmas breakfast was french toast and the best banana cranberry bread I’ve ever had (I think I’m going to put that one through the recipe calculator and see if I can get the points down) and then Christmas dinner was no problem at all.  I hope to be down tomorrow at weigh-in but we’ll have to wait and see. 

I’m pretty glad that things are getting back to normal. I do much better with structure and a plan.  I’ll zip out to the grocery store tonight and pick up a couple of ingredients to make some turkey recipes and then I have to work until 11:30 tomorrow.  Working all day on the 28th and then off until January 2nd.  I’ll put the weigh-in update on the Results page tomorrow evening.

And finally, here is my gift to you.  You may already have this or you may be as excited about it as I was.  Either way, you can’t return it!  Go HERE for a calculator that allows you to put in ingredients and measurements of a recipe you’re making and then press one button and the program calculates the nutritional information (just like you would see on the side of a package).  The database is HUGE for ingredients; I haven’t found anything yet that wasn’t in there.  If you want to save your recipes that you’ve done, you need to log in/sign up (it’s free) but if you’re just doing it as a one off each time, there is no sign in neccessary.  Enjoy!

11 Comments

  1. pantrypuff said,

    December 26, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Hey! I used Sparkpeople for quite a while to count calories, now I just write it down. The internet is so awesome about helping track such things

  2. Krystle said,

    December 26, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    SparkPeople is so awesome! 🙂 I’ve loved that site for a LONG time.

  3. katapilla22 said,

    December 26, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    You looked absolutely fabulous on C-Eve…and you DID have a very pretty sparkle in your eyes! Thanks for all of the delicious food and terrific company!

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    December 26, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    Kathleen, you are welcome anytime, anywhere! Thanks for coming!

    (and thanks for the compliment!)

  5. p4pretention said,

    December 26, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Thanks! That is very helpful!

  6. Bev said,

    December 26, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    I think their reaction sucked and I’m really not sure why it was that way. I’ve tried figuring it out and give up. I think their body image views of us are even worse than our own. Even though I haven’t lost what you have, there has been no comment (and it’s at least 2 sizes). I’ve noticed lots of stuff in the last while that shows they are getting older, it makes me sad and a bit scared. This may all be part of that.
    Nevertheless, I am one of those that is proud of you and a supporter all the way!

  7. Tarable said,

    December 26, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Glad you hear you had a nice Christmas.

    I’m almost looking forward to work tomorrow for a little bit of routine! I’m sure that will wear off within the first hour.

  8. ladybeams said,

    December 27, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Thanks for the link to ‘sparkpeople’. I had never heard of it before. It looks quite useful.
    Glad you had a nice Christmas, in spite of your grandparents. It sounds like your head is in a very good place. Keep up the good work.

    Boxing Day is my birthday! Yes I was out in some of the madness of the after Christmas sales, but it really wasn’t as bad as I expected.

  9. writinggb said,

    December 27, 2007 at 10:15 am

    Ah, don’t worry about the grandparents! You KNOW what you need to do, and feeling better physically and emotionally is its own reward, right?

    Sounds like you did all the right things during the holiday — the big thing for me is not to feel deprived. So I was glad to hear thast you ate what you wanted, within reason.

    Thanks for the link, too 🙂

  10. Hilary said,

    December 28, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Maybe it’s not charitable to say this, but sometimes people are angry when we change. Or, if angry is to strong a word, maybe mistrustful. Like they don’t know what to do with/make of us. I hope you won’t let your grandparents get to you too much. We’re all here for you!

  11. Marueze said,

    December 28, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Jumping in late on this but sometimes people have a way of pushing our buttons whether they mean to or not. My Mom who is one of my biggest supporters and always seemed to tell me I was wonderful/ beautiful, etc., etc., will sometimes just give me a comment out from left field telling me that I’ve gained weight and gotten fat. When in the meantime – my weight may be up but I’m far from fat. My doctor verified that for me yesterday.. . . Don’t know what it is but it just is.

    I have learned or constantly continute to just try to ignore or just get over it. I can’t change what is said, just how i react to what is said.


Leave a Reply

