Eep!

To start off, let’s talk about the password protected post.  It’s just one post, not the whole website that was passworded.  It seems that I was a bit cryptic with how to go about getting the password though.  I put my email address as the title of the post and then figured that y’all would just email me for the password.  I guess it sort of worked.  If you still want the password, email me.  If not, don’t worry about it.  It’s nothing life changing or earth shattering, just something I didn’t want floating around unrestricted on the internet. 

Now, this week’s weigh in.  Up 0.4lbs.  What? Yes, the first UP I’ve had in 14 weeks.  And it was only up a teeny, tiny bit.  I wasn’t surprised by the increase but I was still a little disappointed.  Last week’s loss was a little crazy (5lbs) especially because I had thought that I would have had a tiny loss or stayed the same.  Crazy because 5lbs is 17,500 calories and there is NO WAY that I burned off that many calories in one week.  The body is a weird thing, isn’t it?

No worries though.  I think (and this might be me putting a positive spin on it) that a small gain week like the one I just had is not the worst thing in the world.  It re-focusses you and reminds you that if you aren’t putting your best fork forward every day, bad things can start to happen.  Not that I wasn’t doing my best, just that I was coasting a little bit.  I certainly haven’t been feeling any strain in what I’m doing and that’s not really where I need to be.  Without being obsessive and preoccupied about it, I do need to concentrate on what I’m doing and why.  The weight loss doesn’t just happen by itself, it needs hand holding.  This is also why I am a HUGE proponent of weighing in every week.  Skipping the weeks that you think aren’t going to show up all that nicely on the scale is just a silent way of lieing to yourself, and we all know how important it is to at least be honest with yourself.  We all know that, right?  RIGHT???  Right.

So, now I have one week to go before my birthday (which falls on weigh-in day) and I would really like to be down 40 pounds in total on that weigh in.  That means that I have 1.6 to lose next week.  I think it can be done but I’m not going to be mean to me if I can’t quite get there.  I still have quite a long way to go after the 40 and so there will be future weeks that the losses will come if not right this instant.  My body has dropped a considerable amount of weight in a pretty short period and I wouldn’t be surprised if it needs to adjust a bit.  So, there will be no Shanny-slagging here tonight.  There will only be another (perhaps more focussed) recommittment to the coming week. 

11 Comments

  1. Krystle said,

    December 11, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    You have such a great attitude! It’s just one week, and you’re that much more aware now. 🙂

  2. Bev said,

    December 12, 2007 at 12:04 am

    Good for you treating yourself nicely. Get hard on yourself when you know you deserve it, not when your body is readjusting. It’s probably good it happened this week, not the next 2-3 when there will be more and different food around. Getting refocussed now will get you over what could potentially be a more difficult time.
    You’re doing awesome and we’re all waiting for the new results picture.

  3. Hilary said,

    December 12, 2007 at 6:02 am

    There absolutely will NOT be any Shanny-slagging!

    A gain of .2 after losing a large amount of weight in one week last week could definitely your body saying “Whoa, WTF is going on?? I need to stabilize a tiny bit here and make sure I’m not starving.” Or that very small fluctuation could be some salty food you ate earlier in the day leading to your body clinging to extra water.

    Only you can know if you what level of effort is doable and appropriate for you, so don’t go flogging yourself over this, okay?

  4. CptMom said,

    December 12, 2007 at 7:46 am

    You are doing great! And yes, often when we have a big loss one week, then we have a smaller loss the following.

    So, keep up the hard work and enjoy your birthday!

  5. Lisa Kay said,

    December 12, 2007 at 7:47 am

    Good for you – it always helps to consider the past week when looking at the current week’s weigh in.

    Best wishes to you as you try to reach the 40 pound goal by your birthday. I hope you make it – and, either way, Happy Birthday (early)!

    God Bless!

  6. December 12, 2007 at 8:14 am

    You do have a great attitude like Krystal said! How exciting that your birthday is next week! I hope you meet your goal so you can really celebrate BIG!

  7. December 12, 2007 at 8:58 am

    Great job on keeping everything in perspective!

  8. MamaBearJune said,

    December 12, 2007 at 11:27 am

    I’ve just been reading about “thermic” eating, which is eating plenty of protein, which takes more energy to break down, so you actually can burn more calories just sitting around. So maybe that’s what you did for the big loss last week? 🙂 The Abs Diet for Women book has a lot of great info in it about that kind of stuff.

  9. Lasserday said,

    December 12, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    Congrats on getting down almost 40lbs!! that is amazing. i was just noticing that your last picture was a while ago (pounds wise)….are you gonna let us see how great you are looking? 😉

  10. JanB said,

    December 12, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    GOod job you have been doing. Don’t worry about the fractional stuff, it’s just your body adjusting. We fluctuate by 5-10 pounds throughout the day.

  11. Marueze said,

    December 12, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Wow, with all you have accomplished you are very close to your goal. If you get there great. If not the world won’t end. Think of your average weight loss per week – Goodness – There are people in the meetings who if we looked at our books at the end of the whole amount of weeks….basically we have stayed the same. I know you are but just be grateful for whatever progress you have made thus far.
    Full steam ahead.


Leave a Reply

