This Post Might Be Contradictory

“Best of all, Christmas means a spirit of love, a time when the love of God and the love of our fellow men should prevail over all hatred and bitterness, a time when our thoughts and deeds and the spirit of our lives manifest the presence of God.”

Alright, take that quote in whatever way it works for you.  The reason that I put that particular one up is for what it doesn’t say.  It doesn’t say that Christmas means what food you’re going to eat.  It doesn’t say that Christmas means whether or not you’ve decorated your house.  It doesn’t say that Christmas means that you’ve spent a ludicrous amount of money on gifts. 

What it does say is that Christmas is completely a season that is kept in your heart.  In fact, in all the quote databases that I use, I never did find one that mentions Nanaimo bars or buttertarts. 

I do have to say that in the last 5 years I’ve enjoyed far less all the work and planning and listmaking and shopping and cooking.  It is just so much work for what ultimately turns out to be one day.  I’m also reminded more each year of what I don’t have yet.  I find it hard then, to get ramped up for all the add-ons and extras that really just make me a little sad. 

It’s also difficult to watch all the commercials and movies on TV that show the perfect holiday party and the perfect families and the cute kids.  Unless you actually have the life that they are displaying, if you compare yourself to that idea of Christmas, you can feel as though you’ve come up short.  I do, anyway.

Please don’t think that I’m being depressive and cynical about Christmas because I’m really not, I just had some things that I wanted to say about the season in general.

So, as I was sitting here in my cozy clothes with my caramel flavoured coffee (watching football) I was thinking that this is exactly what makes me happy.  I would certainly add in certain things should the opportunity present, but this is pretty close to perfect for me.  I guess maybe I’m simple like that.  And that’s why my Christmas doesn’t need all the extras and adornments and stress.  All that stuff doesn’t really mean anything to me anymore.  Maybe it did at one point, but I suppose I’ve found what makes my heart happy and now I don’t need all the extras to try and find happiness in the season.  I’m already there.

8 Comments

  1. Hilary said,

    December 9, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Reminds me of this quote from a psychologist:

    “I am for being, as opposed to having;
    a lived life rather than an obsessive pursuit of happiness”

    Sounds like you are well on your way to realizing that you may already be there :).

  2. December 9, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    that’s awesome that you’ve found what you need. Let others do the running around. :^)

  3. Tarable said,

    December 9, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    I agree so much. I’m not all crazy on Christmas (as we have discussed) and I don’t think it’s fair that we all have to have the same idealic Christmas just because it’s what we’ve always done or because it’s what somebody else thinks it should be done.

  4. Carol said,

    December 10, 2007 at 3:21 am

    Hi, how do I get a pass word for you above blog? I love following your day to day weight loss etc and have felt inspired by it. Please continue to motivate us, Thanks, Carol. Australia

  5. Krystle said,

    December 10, 2007 at 7:52 am

    You took the words right out of my mouth in that paragraph. Heck, the whole post! You’re such a good writer… πŸ™‚

    Do you have a password for the above post? You may email it to me… krystle.kinneman@gmail.com

  6. CreativeChicen said,

    December 11, 2007 at 10:09 am

    I need a password too…

    sommer_brown@yahoo.com

  7. Ms. Karen said,

    December 12, 2007 at 10:18 am

    Awesome post, and I can completely relate to the sentiment. There are no decorations up at my place yet, and I’m just not in the mood to do it. I feel bad because the offspring would probably enjoy it, but I’m so tired of the whole “gotta get it done BIG” and moremoreMORE! attitude that settles in every year at this time.

    Yes, I’ve enjoyed the material gains of getting stuff, and my parents spoiled me horribly when I was young (only child) so that was hard to grow out of, but I have. Now it’s about a quiet morning with family, dinner with more family, and a nice nap thrown in somewhere. It’s about a day with no computer, TV, or game consoles, just some books, board games, and nice music on the stereo.

  8. katapilla22 said,

    December 12, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    password for me to please.

    oh and i’m not fussy on the holiday myself. went skiing for it last year…skipped out almost entirely! hee hee


Leave a Reply

