Bad Little Blogger!

Did you think I’d fallen off the planet?  Nope, I’m still here.  Saturday and Sunday were super snowy and I pretty much stayed close to home (except for hockey and the lovely snowy tailgate).  And then?  Bye-bye snow, hello torrential rain.  Being the rather stubborn individual that I am, I decided that I would walk to and from work regardless of the monsoon we were having (and regardless of the fact that I do not own rain gear).  And I got SOAKED!  Monday wasn’t too bad, my clothes dried before it was time to go home.  Today though?  Soaked completely through to the skin.  Hair soaked all the way through my toque and ballcap.  Soaked all the way through my ‘water-resistant’ jacket, through the t-shirt and through the longsleeved technical shirt I was wearing.  3 layers, all soaked.  My soggy pants wicked all the water into my waterproof shoes and through 2 pairs of socks.  Have I mentioned that it was POURING?!  And NONE of the clothes were dry when it came time to walk home.  Fortunately today, I got to walk home with Tarable so it took my mind off the fact that the water that was soaked into my shoes was squishing up between my toes with every step. 

OK, I realize that I’ve passed the point of informative and meandered right on over into whining.  I will end the water-walk-talk by saying two things:

                         It was lovely to walk home with Tarable…even though we agree that the disparity between our leg length means we cannot really be effective exercise buddies.  Plus, during the walk home we saw the most incredible, bright and vibrant rainbow….AND THE SUN CAME OUT FOR 36.3 SECONDS! 

                         I bought a pair of rain pants today.  They are waterproof men’s Coleman pants.  I paid $20 for them and they are as ugly as you would assume men’s rainpants to be.  But I don’t care.  At least I’ll be dry and comfortable.  I didn’t want to spend a tonne of money on nice technical pants because they won’t fit in a short time and that would be a waste (the good stuff is expensive!).  The sucky thing is that the pants I got are a men’s small (who woulda thunk) and they just fit.  So I will be cinching them up and making them work until the end of this winter.  Then next winter I can get the nice, lighterweight ones (maybe in pink?).

Moving on.  There was a bit of a commotion at the weigh in tonight.  I lost 5 pounds this week, which brings my total to -38.8 in 13 weeks (average loss = 2.98 lbs/week).  Everyone wanted to know what my secret was and what I was doing to make this work so well.  Again the WW leader mentioned the laxatives (Marisa, if you’re reading this, stop saying that!) which really bugs me (even though I try to smile at the meeting) because I am working my ass off at this.  I know that other people are working just as hard and perhaps not losing as much.  But everyone’s body is different!  The plan works and if you follow it, your body will lose at a rate which is safe and healthy for YOU!  Apparantly my body is one of the ‘results not typical’ ones.

So I will list a couple of the things that I do that may be helping in my loss.  I don’t know if they work or if they even matter, but I was asked.

                          First, I track.  Every day.  Every meal. 

                          Second.  I always know what I’m going to be eating.  Breakfast and lunch are always set and made ready the night before.  Dinner is usually up in the air, but it will usually be something that I’ve cooked previously and frozen in individual servings.

                          Third.  The water.  I drink AT LEAST as much as they recommend (I’m not even sure what that is anymore).  When I’m feeling a little crappy or under the weather, the first thing I do is drink water and see if that’s what the problem is.

                          Fourth.  The exercise.  I’ve chosen to get 5km (3.1miles) of cardio in every day.  You may not choose that.  You can definitely lose the weight without the exercise but it is going to be slower and things may not end up being as tight and firm as you would like them to be if you don’t try to move around a little.  Exercise is something that I am not comfortable writing about because I know what it’s like to be preached at to ‘just go do it’.  I also know that the actual act of doing it is SO much harder than those preachy people think if it’s something you’ve never done before.  I managed to find something that works for me and my schedule and my life.  I found something that I was comfortable with and where there was no one watching me or judging me or competing with me.  Just me, my iPod, the bridge and the rain.

                          And finally, perhaps more controversially.  I don’t cheat.  Not to say that I don’t indulge, but it goes on the tracker as a food choice.  Nothing and I mean NOTHING gets by the tracker (that said, I do let the mandarin oranges slip by.  You get 2 for 1 point and if I’m hungry and at home, I will have one and call it free…I figure I’m practicing for being a little more lax but still responsible).  The controversial part of this is that people say that that kind of tracking and watching isn’t sustainable.  But I say, why not?  Do you track your expenses?  Do you write in your daytimer or use your email calendar?  Tracking (or keeping track of) your food choices is just something else to keep an eye on.    

So that’s it.  If those little tips help you, then great.  But you have to find a way of living that works for you.  This is a forever plan so forcing yourself to do something for a short period that you have no intention of keeping up is not going to serve you well in the long term.

That’s about it for me.  I’m back to regular posting, I apparantly just needed a couple day’s break.  And be sure to check on Thursday for the recipe.  I haven’t fixed the main recipe page yet, but I will post one for you this week that is SO GOOD! 

Bev et al:  I anticipate having a new “Journey” picture posted the weekend of the 15th of December.  Stay tuned.

19 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    December 4, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Picture! Picture! Picture! That’s me chanting for a NEW updated The Journey in Pictures photo.

  2. Tarable said,

    December 4, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    I must say that I quite enjoyed walking with you today. It made it seem not nearly as far as it has in the past. And thanks for being patient with me, as my short little legs furiously tried to keep up with your longer ones. Much longer 🙂

    Congrats on the big loss tonight. That’s awesome.

  3. Lady Shanny said,

    December 4, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    OMG Tarable! Did I kill you?

  4. Becky said,

    December 5, 2007 at 4:46 am

    Congratulations on the weight loss! You must be feeling great. Thanks, too for the tips. I’ve been doing just about all of them and is probably why I am having success too. I say “about” because a few days when I felt crappy I didn’t exercise. I waiver between the attitude of “no excuses” to “sometimes you just have to give yourself a break!”

  5. pantrypuff said,

    December 5, 2007 at 7:21 am

    Wow, congratulations! You’ve renewed my commitment and today I will start tracking everything again.

  6. December 5, 2007 at 8:02 am

    Congrats! You are doing AWESOME! That is dedication to walk in the rain, not once, but twice! You are crazy girl!

  7. unabashedworshiper said,

    December 5, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Congrats!!!! Don’t get sick though (staying wet for long periods of time is not good for you… tsk tsk 🙂

  8. Tarable said,

    December 5, 2007 at 8:29 am

    No! You didn’t kill me, but I felt bad that you weren’t getting your usual workout because my legs don’t cover as much ground!

  9. hilary said,

    December 5, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Are you a shorty like me, Tara? I’d probably be in the same boat as you, trying to keep up ;).

    Shanny, that makes me mad if someone at your meeting was insinuating that you are using laxatives! Grrrr. You work too hard to take care of yourself for anyone to hint at that.

    I’m really glad your results are gratifying! For the record, though, I’d read your blog if you didn’t lose a single pound. Like most chronic dieters, I know most of the weight loss stuff backward and forward (hello, shelf of diet books!) . . . so really I like to read your posts because hello, you are AWESOME any way you slice it. For the record ;).

  10. Rose said,

    December 5, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Congratulations on your weight loss! I really enjoyed reading your post. I can see you put a lot of time and effort into writing it. Come visit my blog. Blessings, Rose

  11. MamaBearJune said,

    December 5, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    Wow, you are doing such a fantabulous job!!! YOU should be the leader, not the twit who is talking about laxatives. Sounds like a passive aggressive B****. What a yuck thing to walk in pouring rain and be soaked for so long.

    When I was in basic training I got shin splints so I walked the physical test and so did my best buddy who was about half my height. She took at least 2 strides for each one of mine and we kept pace together. I’m sure it was funny to watch. 🙂

  12. katapilla22 said,

    December 5, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    That laxative comment irks me! We see this in our business…ppl can’t seem to fathom that we’ve had the success we’ve had from just doing one thing, just like you with your weight loss. And the one thing: hard work. Insinuating someone is cheating is the lazyman’s way of not owning up to what THEY have to do themselves to get that same success. Keep up the good work! You’re doing awesome!

  13. hueyea said,

    December 5, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Great job Shannon! I’ve just finished catching up and rereading some of your posts to inspire me! I’m off to the gym tonight!

  14. Tigerlilly said,

    December 5, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Wow.. you are doing fantastic!! Cant wait to see the new picture, you already look fantastic!

    Keep up the good work, and thanks for being inspirational!

  15. Marueze said,

    December 5, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    AWESOME…says it all.
    You got alot going for you.
    1. a plan
    2. determinination
    3. you are willing to get the excercise in
    4. drinking the water
    5. food journaling
    6. kejeping focused
    7. support group (meetings and on line)
    8. you are willing to do what you have to do to stay on track
    9. a back up plan for the plan
    10. you enjoy cooking the right foods
    11. youth
    12. height

    Must I go on!

    Sometimes when people at the meetings ask what you are doing and you start mentioning stuff. . . . I know their eyes glass over. . . .then the buts, and can’ts come out.

    They want a magic answer, like you found the magic beans. (Sometimes I understand where they are coming from)
    I know it is hard work, because when I used to do all that stuff I lost very well too, except now because I am losing the aging battle. But if everyone were willing to do all the stuff that you do they would be more successful,

    BTW. So glad that you got the right rain gear. If you find you have to pin them why don’t you try suspenders instead?????

    Keep on being my dieting inspiration! You rock!

  16. Lady Shanny said,

    December 5, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    My comments to the comments.

    ALL: teehee…I love you all, you are the most amazing support system!

    Hueyea: nice to see you again!

    Kat: yes, the laxative thing is starting to get really rude. This is about the 4th week she’s said it. I get where she’s coming from, she doesn’t want other people to feel bad that they might not be losing as quickly. But it sure makes my hard work and sacrifice and effort seem insignificant. Not that I really care what the WW group thinks, but COME ON!

    Mamabear & Unabashed: ya, the wet thing? Not so nice. I’m actually a little surprised that I’m not sick. Usually at around this time of year I get some killer virus/illness that knocks me out for 2 weeks. So far, just a little sniffle. Nothing I can’t handle!

    Hilary: yes, Tara is definitely less tall than I am. And thanks for loving me and my blog, weight loss notwithstanding! I definitely feel the same way about you, peanut!

    Mareuze: I LOVE that you made a list for me! I still can’t wipe the smile off my face! The rain pants have a pretty good cinchy belt, so I might look dumb but they should stay on. I love the idea of suspenders though. Maybe for all my dress pants that don’t fit! 🙂 Tarable and I were talking about the working hard and not getting the respect/encouragement. And what she said, smart girl that she is, is that people have to realize that what I do has absolutely nothing to do with what they do. That there isn’t a limited amount of weight that the group can lose every week and I’m hogging it. I refuse to stop going though, just because they are turning weird and not nice.

  17. ladybeams said,

    December 6, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    I just wanted to say congrats! on your loss.
    Tracking works so well, and I know it’s sustainable. I did it before, I just haven’t been as good at it this time, but I’m fixing that. It’s been part of the system for a long time. I don’t think they would keep on it if it didn’t work. Someone obviously either doesn’t know what they’re talking about, or it’s something they can’t do so it makes themselves feel better if they say no one can do it. You’re definately proving them wrong. You go girl!

  18. Marueze said,

    December 6, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Tarable hit the nail right on the head. Sounds like the little green worm of envy has reared it’s head at your meeting. It still goes back to “your list” you are not just talking the talk, you are walking the walk. Literally. LOL. 🙂

  19. buddabelly said,

    December 7, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    LS I’m proud of you and who gives a garsh darn how you did it — point is YOU know you did it, you’re doing it and you’re doing it right.

    And we know it too 🙂

    Congrats on the loss!!!


Leave a Reply

