Just What I Needed!

Hockey!  In a couple of ways provided me with exactly what I needed to renew my slightly lagging motivation and remind me why I’m doing this.

One of the players is a firefighter and I have made no secret of the fact that I think he’s incredibly good looking.   Unfortunately, Mr. Firefighter has never made any indication that he was the slightest bit interested in me, and he still hasn’t really.  I’m fine with that, but it sure felt fantastic to have him come up to me and tell me how good I look! 

Not that I’m doing this for anyone but myself, but let’s be honest, being attractive to the opposite sex is a pretty worthwhile side perk.  Especially that particular member of the opposite sex. 

Also good for the motivation and inspiration was the weather.  It was so beautiful and snowy and wonderful out while we were tailgating.  I love the snow.  I love the quiet that it brings, I love the flakes collecting on wool jackets and toques, I love the way it looks like jewels falling beneath the street lights.  I just love it and it does something good for my soul.  It also doesn’t hurt that I’ve lost a lot of weight and can now dress in many layers to stay cozy and not look like a giant marshmallow. 

And on a final note before I go get under my electric blanket?  If the snow scares you or you’ve never learned how to handle your vehicle in it, STAY HOME!

5 Comments

  1. Carol said,

    December 2, 2007 at 3:23 am

    I have just found your blog and I am loving it. You are an inspiration to so many and have such a positive outlook on life. Please adding to your blog, I enjoy it so much. You are doing such a great job with your weight loss, I know you are going to succeed big time.
    When you come to Australia you will have to visit.
    Take care, Carol

  2. Becky said,

    December 2, 2007 at 6:34 am

    I stay off the snow and ice – not that we have *that* much in N Alabama, LOL! Around her if you see a snowflake, people rush to the store to buy up all the milk, eggs and bread – still cracks me up. Woot on the firefighter!!

  3. Marueze said,

    December 2, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Woke up this morning, to snow in New York, not alot, but they are threatening that it will turn to ice & icey rain. Love snow, as you so elequently described it. Nothing like some fresh snow to make you want to flop down and make snow angels. It is the Ice and icey rain that are evil.

    I enjoy walking in the snow, it is so crisp, and just different. Just as walking barefoot on the beach is so different too. I believe that both add to the workout too.
    **********
    Complements, especially of that nature are the most wonderful non-caloric, non-retail therapy inspired fuel for anyone.

    Understand exactly what you mean about doing it for yourself, yet know / experienced what you mean about wanting that feeling.

    Human nature makes us ego driven. But we must take pride in our accomplishments, we need that as our FUEL to keep going, especially as you say in previous posts that there are good weeks and bad weeks. I have good days, hours, and minutes too.

    Complements, are sweet and nourishing without any of the calories.

    Enjoy them while they abound. 🙂

  4. hilary said,

    December 2, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Nothing like a genuine compliment to warm you up on a cold winter’s day!

  5. desperatewriter said,

    December 4, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    Amen on the people who don’t know how to drive in snow!!!

    I myself am a snow girl. Love it love it love it.


Leave a Reply

