The Fight is ON!

This morning when I got up, my lower half wasn’t feeling too bad, so off I walked to work.  For the next 10 hours, I had to keep looking down at my left leg because it was completely asleep from the knee down and I wanted to make sure it was still dangling there.

So that put me in a fine mood for the rest of the day; frustrated, upset, crabby, irritable, irrational and argumentative.  Lovely!  I was feeling totally defeated and I had the intense urge to just give up.  I should realize by now that this is the fourth week of the month and I get the ‘giveups’ at this time (and it’s weird because fourth week actually doesn’t coincide with any other monthly event).  I don’t want to drink the water, I feel like things are slipping away from me a little and I don’t want to play this game anymore.  I do the exact same stuff in the fourth week that I do the other 3 weeks of the month but it doesn’t bring me the same results either mentally, emotionally or physically.

Then I decided that I will just have to fight harder.  Do better.  Try more.  Because I am NOT giving up.  Not this week, not next week, not ever!  I will just have to remember that I’m going to feel a little crappy and tighten things up a little.  Because I want, no I expect to get the same results (mentally and physically) all 4 weeks of the month.  The fact that the feeling of doing well is missing is what kills me.  I don’t like it.  I can handle a tiny loss once in awhile, but I don’t like not feeling like things are going along well.  And it certainly doesn’t help right now that I’m suffering a bit (OK, a lot) with the exercise.

So I’ve made a Fourth Week Standard Operating Procedure that will hopefully get me through each month.  Feel free to borrow or steal part or all of the FWSOP for yourself!

FOURTH WEEK STANDARD OPERATING PROCEDURE

Responsibility

It is my responsibility to know when this week is coming and to put the FWSOP into practice.

Objective

Maintain the feeling of well-being (or at least just the feeling that I’m doing everything I can)

Actions:

Be extremely accurate in counting points and measurements of the food that I eat and do NOT go over

Be very diligent about having just ONE cup of coffee and then pay attention to how much water I’m drinking.  Make sure I drink at least 3/4 of my requirement before I leave work for the day

Walk to and from work EVERY day.  If I’m hurting or not feeling well, walk anyway, just take it a bit easier

Have at least one thing to look forward to on the weekend (besides sleeping in)

Get plenty of sleep.  If that means going to bed early then go and don’t worry about the time

I think this FWSOP should go a long way to making me feel better emotionally and perhaps it might also even ward off Tiny Loss Week a bit.

(By the way, I haven’t put a recipe up this week.  I need to figure out how to do the weekly recipe without the links bogging down the sidebar.  I have some ideas and I’ll try them on the weekend.)

6 Comments

  1. buddabelly said,

    November 30, 2007 at 11:33 am

    You go girl!!!! So proud of you!

  2. hilary said,

    November 30, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    Miss Shanny, here’s a quote I just saw that made me think of you:

    “Don’t let the fear of the time it will take to accomplish something stand in the way of your doing it. The time will pass anyway; we might just as well put that passing time to the best possible use.”
    ~ Earl Nightingale

    Be good to yourself in the midst of all these uber-goals, okay? Especially while doing the physio stuff.

  3. Jenn said,

    December 1, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    I think your doing amazing!!! It so hard to keep up especially when you feel defeated! You have done amazing and you will continue to do so!

  4. Marueze said,

    December 1, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Don’t be discouraged.

  5. katapilla22 said,

    December 5, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Hi Shannon,

    I love your FWSOP! I think it’s good to have written reminders…I’m ‘visual’ that way. I have a a paper calendar on my fridge and I write down everything I do for exercise on it…that way I know when I see lots of white space that I need to step it up again. It definitely helps.

  6. February 24, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    […] want it and then you flip out?  That was my day today.  Granted, I’m at the beginning of Fourth Week and this is the first time I’ve had to manage FW while also being a NON smoker.  Does that […]


Leave a Reply

