OK, OW!

Big flippity-flippin’ surprise, I don’t like physio.  The lady was really good, very professional and kind of sweet.  She didn’t creep me out in the slightest!

But, OWWWWW!!!!  Here’s what she told me:  my sacroiliac joint on the left is inflammed, the two joints above that are ‘crunchy’ (her word, not mine), my pelvis is out of alignment and I have a pinched nerve in my lower back.  The ligaments that are supposed to be holding everything together are stretchy and loose (that’s bad) and because of that, every step I take causes the bones to rub together, increasing the inflammation and pinching off the nerve a little more.  It sort of makes me wonder how I’m getting around these days because all of that sounds BAD! 

Here’s the good news.  I don’t have to stop the walking and this is all correctable.

Here’s the bad news.  She wants me to go back twice a week for the next 3 months.  Ummm….no thanks?  First of all, if I’m going all the way out there twice a week that means I have to drive twice a week.  Second, it’s REALLY FAR and third, she only works late one night a week so I’m supposed to somehow make arrangements to do this during work?  That wouldn’t be a problem, but if I WALK to work I can’t come in much earlier because the Skytrain doesn’t start that early and I still have to get ready at work which takes me about an hour.  If I stay late to make up the time that means I’m walking home around 6pm which is not desirable.

So, although she’s very nice and she ‘specializes’ in the SI joint issue, I think I’m going to have to find somewhere closer to either work or home.   Or somewhere that is on the Skytrain route so I can still get the walking in.

And here’s the REALLY BAD NEWS:  I’m not supposed to wear high heels or cross my legs.  Seriously?  You know I’m a girl, right?  Unless I’m driving, I’ve got my legs crossed and unless I’m in bed, I’m wearing heeled shoes (except for the walking).

So I don’t know.  Do I just suffer through the pain and try to correct this myself with stretches?  Do I go all the way out to Coquitlam twice a week and not walk?  Do I pretty much void all her evaluation work this evening and go find somewhere else?  I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do yet.  It seems that more thinking is in order.

6 Comments

  1. katapilla22 said,

    November 29, 2007 at 9:35 am

    My two cents: there should be nothing more important then getting your spine in a healthy condition. Find a PT person that works with your schedule and get all healed up! And the part about not crossing the legs will play a huge role in getting your pelvis in alignment. I’m no dr, but I had been advised by my chiro to not do the same at one point and it’s a hard habit to break, but it did make a difference.

  2. Marueze said,

    November 29, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Yes, find someone who fits in your schedule but take care of your health you will appreciate it when you are older. I am twice your age and wish I took better care of myself when I was younger and it wasn’t as if I abused myself. But health is important. That is why I am glad I was always a vitamin girl. The best thing you are doing for yourself is getting your weight under control.
    🙂
    Since you enjoy the walking stick with it.
    Asa 6″ tall woman myself I’m surprised to hear that you wear heels. I personally where more flat, except in the summer. Occassionally when I go out I where a dressy strappy kind of shoe but not wearing heels isn’t the end of my life . Maybe if I had a 6’6″ man in my life I would wear them more.
    The crossing of the legs I identify but you will get used to that cross them at your ankle.
    At least you know if you start taking better care of yourself you will be feeling ducky soon!

  3. p4pretention said,

    November 29, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    Spines are fairly important, ditch the heals and do up some physio!

  4. MamaBearJune said,

    November 29, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Oh, mercy. Take care of yourself! I say find a more convenient location if you can but if you can’t – make it work to see this gal. Living in pain is definitely not a favorable option. My husband has an arthritic hip with no lubrication left at all. The surgeon looked at the xray and said he was surprised he was walking at all. It really hurts to even watch him walk. 😦

    And yes, crossing your legs is NOT good for you. You should cross your ankles instead if you have to cross something. 🙂

  5. Tammy said,

    November 29, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Ok don’t think I’m a quack but if you have time to read a book pick up a book by Dr. John Sarno called Healing Back Pain. This book saved my life. My pain was back spasms and they would lay me out for days. After reading this book I finally figured out that they were triggered by my brain not my back. It sounds kooky but it really worked for me. It’s not just for back pain but anywhere that your brain can manifest pain. It really did change my life and completely “healed” my dependency on chiropractors. My library has it in stock, maybe yours does too. Good luck and I hope you feel better soon.

  6. CreativeChicen said,

    November 30, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    I have low back and pelvis pain myself. I’m only 30, but it’s been happening for years already. Have you considered trying a chiropractor? It’s the only thing that helps me when mine goes out/gets bad. I’m a total clutz! So I tend to fall down a lot or bump into things funny…or sit on my foot at work (BAD!!!) When it hurts to lift my leg, or my knees start hurting, I go for an adjustment. It’s amazing! And I have a super low co-pay, so I try to go often to keep myself in line. Just a thought! It’s not painful and doesn’t take long. What ever you do, good luck to you.


Leave a Reply

