Nice Image

Alright, so I’ve noticed with all the walking that my legs and my arse are starting to look much better.  And I got to thinking (and talking…if you know me at all!) about how I could make my upper body start to match the lower.  So one of the boys at work lent me a DVD that he got with a set of dumb-bells. 

It probably seems kind of obvious what exercises you can do with a set of dumb-bells for the upper body, but as a NON gym go-er, I really didn’t know where to start.  Enter the DVD. 

So there’s me, standing in the living room on my yoga mat, in my skating reindeer nightie and slippers, doing concentration curls, hammer curls, flys and a bunch more upper body exercises.  Ha, nice image, right!  I sure do hope I can lift my arms to brush my teeth tomorrow!

It actually seemed kind of silly, but then I remembered a quote I’d read somewhere:  “I’m not there yet, but I’m closer than I was yesterday.”  So yes, it is probably kind of ridiculous for me to be lifting free weights in my living room, but you have to start somewhere and somewhere happens to be here, today. 

Building some muscle will help with weight loss in the long run.  For those of you ladies who don’t want to lift weights because you don’t want to get ‘huge’, just remember that the average weight training MAN only puts on 3-4 pounds of muscle in 3 months.  It is incredibly difficult for women to put on muscle, even when they are in the gym for hours a day.  Simply put, you are not going to put on massive amounts of muscle, you will just tone and tighten.  By lifting weights or doing other weight bearing exercises, you are going to speed up your metabolism (muscle burns more calories than fat) and strengthen your bones (especially important for women).   So don’t let the phrase ‘building muscle’ deter you.  You already have muscles, everyone does.  Just give them a little something to do and your whole body benefits.

Chances are that my pajama-clad weight lifting is not going to show any noticeable difference, but I will keep doing it because as far as stages in this journey go, I’m ready for this one now.

6 Comments

  1. desperatewriter said,

    November 20, 2007 at 12:02 am

    I am happy and proud for you. I think you are doing GREAT!

  2. Lucy said,

    November 20, 2007 at 12:39 am

    Hello from England again. This morning was weigh in day for me and I was down 0.75lbs which is pretty good considering the week I have had! Means I am down 47.75lbs now. I love the quote about not being there yet but being closer. That’s genius. Also the free weights in PJs- been there done that!!!
    Really enjoying your posts, thank you for taking the time to post them. Keep up the good work.
    Lucy x

  3. Denton said,

    November 20, 2007 at 8:17 am

    I am so impressed. I dont know what to do with my two little weights. Now I see why people watch those DVDs! I think I have some somewhere that McDonalds was giving away once – now I actually want to use them 🙂 Thanks Lady Shanny.

  4. hueyea said,

    November 20, 2007 at 8:30 am

    Hey Shanny, Just caught up reading while I was away. You’re doing great! I remember when I first started weights and thinking they’re not doing anything but then was told, I need to get the layer of fat over them before I’ll see them! LOL I now have a 2 pack working towards the 6 pack abs! 🙂

  5. ladybeams said,

    November 20, 2007 at 9:42 am

    I am so glad I stopped by to read this! I just finished yacking on my blog about exercise still being one of my biggest hangups. Once again you have inspired me. I actually have a nice set of weights that I haven’t even blown the dust off of in years. I’ll have to see about a DVD. That’s one kind of exercise, at least if I do the ones standing, that doesn’t require much room. I’m not too worried about getting too much muscle. As an old broad, I’d just be happy to get some back that don’t seem to work anymore! LOL

  6. Marueze said,

    November 20, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    WORD! Yes, weights are great! I try to do free weights don’t know all the moves. I work with the “Hoist” machines which is bacically arms, shoulders, legs and core. They say that when you do this kind of stuff it will take 6 months to see any real difference. I notice definition, however, at this point the weight isn’t flying off of me. But I do believe that my food indiscresions are reduced. I also agree that my metabolism needs the reviving up. Great to hear your are shaking stuff up! This way you won’t be bored.


Leave a Reply

