Because I WANT to!

I was the definition of craptastic this afternoon.  Cramps and irritation and bitching and bullshit, oh my!  I was SO looking forward to getting outside and walking away from it all.  By the time I got changed and was heading out the door though, it was getting dark and a bit chilly out.  Not to be deterred (I REFUSE to be deterred by even shin splints, blisters or the flare-up of sciatica in my arse, never mind the weather), out I marched.  Down the street, across the cross-walk, up the sidewalk and….oh….look……Starbucks has its heaters on…..it looks so cozy and indulgent….but I am walking home so I can’t stop……or can I?  About 30 steps past Starbucks, I stopped, turned around and went back.  The glow of the heaters, the promise of a gingerbread latte and the dusky light outside was too much to resist.  And why should I resist?  Just because I’m supposed to be ‘walking’?  I had nowhere special to be, no timeline to meet and dammit all if I can’t realize that the REASON that I noticed the heaters and got to stop and have a coffee was BECAUSE I was walking. 

I’m really looking forward to the first day that I’m walking and it snows.  REALLY, REALLY looking forward to it.  I grew up in a northern climate and I miss the snow.  I miss the snow smell and the snow sky.  I miss how falling snow can quiet the surroundings.  I  miss the magic of a first snowfall.  I want the big fluffy flakes to fall on me.  I want to make my footprints in the snow.  I want to see it balanced up and teetering on the bridge guardrails.  I want to hear my feet crunch in the snow or squish in the slush.  That’s one of the major selling points of this walking thing; not the snow, but being outside.  Being IN the weather rather than staring at it out the window.  I feel like I’m a part of the world rather than an observer when I’m outside day after day.  I feel like I’m in on a secret that not everyone gets to know.  Is that odd?  Do you get what I’m going for here? 

One other thing to note?  When it’s already dark outside and you are walking along at a pretty good clip, it is a bit counterproductive to also be laughing your head off and sending text messages.  Good thing for the rails on the bridge sidewalk or I would have been pate about 3 times.  That must’ve been quite a sight for people driving past; Lady Shanny in full safety gear, phone in hand, iPod cranked, laughing and texting and bouncing off the guardrails every 40 feet.  Nice!

Oh, and by the way?  One of you was my 5000th visitor this morning.   5000!!!!!!!!!!!!  That’s fantastic!  I get so much support and encouragement from you guys.  Quite often a commenter will tell me that they are inspired by what I’m doing and the pictures and the words.  It makes me blush every time I read that, but then, I’m inspired by each and every one of you!  Even those of you who don’t comment…..you come here day after day to read about what’s going on and I appreciate that so much!  We’re all living crazy lives with so much to do, and that you guys take 5 minutes to come and see what I have to say?  Well y’all are just remarkable.  Ultimately, I just wanted to say that if I inspire you I think that’s fantastic.  But you inspire me too, just by showing up!

4 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    November 14, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    You almost make snow sound fun! I miss some of those things you say too but the thought of driving in it or plunging the dog in a bathtub BEFORE I go to work to get the snowballs off her feet makes me not miss it one little bit.
    ….and before I go, I just want to say that I like the way you think. Your comment ‘the reason I noticed the heaters and got to stop and enjoy Starbucks was because I was walking’ is nothing short of brilliant.

  2. Lucy said,

    November 15, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Hello! First time posting but I have been reading a couple of weeks now. I know this is a bit gushy but who cares; I love your writing not just what you are writing about but your style too.

    Its so inspiring to read someone going through the same as I am. I have lost about 50lbs and have about another 20ish to go. This time of year is terrible for loosing weight. There is nothing nicer than snuggling up with Hot Chocolate, a big warming dinner, staying in bed all day, driving everywhere as its so cold…..I could go on!!

    Keep up the great posts, I’ll keep on visiting that’s for sure. Hope everything keeps going well for you. Take care.

    Lucy, 21 from England

  3. Marueze said,

    November 15, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    Dramatic weather. . . .I love it. Love to be in the middle of it.

    I remember several storms, no’easters when I worked on Wall Street, treking over to the South Street Seaport, Pier 17 where there is an outside deck. Enjoying the way the weather just took over the city. eventually shutting it down. Slipping and sliding as I walked through the snow.

    Nothing is better than a blustery day. Bring it on. I bet you get extra resistence when it is windy out and burn more calories. LOL.

    Enjoy your walk, Latte yourself when you get home. I know it doesn’t taste quite the same as the Latte in Starbucks there is the certain aura that takes place in a coffee house. But you know how much better you feel after your walk. It is like the annoying gym. I dislike going but I ache afterward but “feel” better in the long run. Keep up the great work!

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    November 15, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    Lucy, not gushy at all! Who wouldn’t like to hear that someone loves their writing? I certainly like hearing it. Thank you!

    I’m so glad that you commented. CONGRATULATIONS on your huge loss so far! That’s incredible, you should be very proud!

    You’re the second ‘overseas’ person that I know of who is reading and I think that is so cool!


Leave a Reply

