A Morning Stroll ~ UPDATED

I got up this morning and decided that since I was on hiatus all last week, I should get out and march over the bridge this morning.  I also thought I should test out the NEW new shoes (picked them up yesterday) so I didn’t have to test them on Tuesday morning.  So off I went at 8am this morning.  NEW new shoes are better.  Definitely fit better although I will have a bit of a blister problem for awhile.  Nothing I can’t work with though.  The shin splints are still there a bit, but I took it a bit easier when they started to act up and made sure to do all the stretches that the pedorthist told me to do, so I’m hopeful that I will eventually get past that. 

I took this picture for you as I made my way over the bridge (click to enlarge)

train-yard3.jpg

So I’m all exercised up and ready for a visit with my grandparents.  It’s my Grampa’s 75th birthday dinner.  They haven’t seen me since August 12th, and I’m not really ready for them to start making comments about my personal appearance.  I was hoping that they wouldn’t notice that I’d lost almost 25 pounds, but I don’t think I’m going to be able to avoid it.  I’m not quite sure what I’m going to say yet.  Also, I know that they are going to be eagle-eying everything that I eat, which is another reason I hauled ass over the bridge this morning.  I definitely needed those activity points so that I can eat a reasonable amount of food (maybe a sliver of birthday cake) to keep the questions to a minimum.  I’ll give y’all the update either tonight when I get home or tomorrow morning.  Also, my sister is going to take a new picture of me for The Journey in Pictures today, which will be updated, again, either tonight or tomorrow morning.

I’m off to have a shower and a little nap before I have to go get ready.

I truly hope you are all having a lovely weekend. 

UPDATE:  The Journey in Pictures is updated with a new photo from this evening.  And the dinner went fairly successfully.  My hope was that they wouldn’t notice, but after having seen the pictures side-by-side, I realize they would have to be blind not to notice. My Gramma made one comment and did a weird eyebrow wiggling, winking thing (not sure where she was going with that), but my sweet sister diffused the situation and that was the end of it.  Dinner was good, a small piece of angel foodcake was eaten and now I’m home in jammies and on the way to bed. 

8 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    November 11, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    you a smart girl! 🙂

  2. Marueze said,

    November 11, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    You certainily are inspired and at least you are prepared!

    I know all about the eagle-eyeing that gets done when a person has accomplished some weight loss.

    At least being aware you will be further prepared and you never know they may surprise you.

    I crack up because at times my family goes from checking out and suggesting that I was eatting too much. To now being concerned that I don’t eat enough. It just boogles the mind. They still have their food issues but enough time to monitor mine also. I just know I have to do what is right for me. It is a slow process because I will always have to watch.

    Stay encouraged!

  3. Tarable said,

    November 11, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    Good luck tonight.

  4. ladybeams said,

    November 12, 2007 at 7:41 am

    I love your “journey in pictures.” You are a brave girl! Of course, I would probably be stronger about sticking to WW if I was looking at my pics more. Congrats on your weightloss. You’re right. Your Grandparents would have to be blind not to notice!
    I’m glad to hear you’re able to get back to walking again. I’m sure part of your stress was the lack of endorphins that you usually get walking to work. As for other things to get rid of stress, I find especially if I’m really pissed, cleaning house takes care of a lot of frustration. It isn’t neccessarily fun, but it helps and you accomplish something good at the same time. (Looking at this place, I obviously don’t get pissed enough!) LOL

  5. Tarable said,

    November 12, 2007 at 8:32 am

    Your pictures are awesome. That’s such a great way to track your progress (besides the scale).

  6. Krystle said,

    November 12, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    Oh. My. God.

    You’re before and after pictures are… infreakincredible!!!

    I have to do some of them, too!

  7. willamina said,

    November 12, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    I love the photo you took from the bridge…

    And speaking of photos, your latest results photo = WOW!!

  8. hueyea said,

    November 13, 2007 at 10:35 am

    Your transformation is unbelievable. Your grandma had to notice, I’m sure the wink thing was a “way to go” cheer. You look absolutely beautiful.


Leave a Reply

