A Mean Test

This last week has been a really brutal test of endurance and discipline and committment.  Let’s recap, shall we?

Monday ~ couldn’t get past my street due to traffic problems.  Came home, waited an hour, tried again.  Took an hour to go 1.5km.  Walked over the bridge (in the new shoes) with really bad shin pain.  Walked home Monday evening and then took the rest of the week as a hiatus which meant sitting in traffic every day, both ways for really long periods of time.

Tuesday ~ Major re-organization at work.  I don’t want to get into it here, but suffice it to say there are several people who are seeking new employment.  Big-wigs from production, admin and sales are in our office during this time.  Never an easy time.

Wednesday, Thursday ~ still on walking hiatus.  Starting to feel squirrely with no exercise.  More people from other divisions show up.  Large amounts of stress hanging thickly in the office.  Go grocery shopping on Thursday evening and come home to find that my house key has worn down to the point that it no longer works in the door.  Lovely!  Explain to landlord why it is important that she “look for your copy of the key, and NO, I will not wait an hour until your company leaves”.

Friday ~ well respected and good employee gives resignation due to ongoing health issues.

Friday Evening ~ Lady Shanny has a nervous breakdown….but then comes to a realization.

Realization:  This week is definitely in the top 3 for bad weeks I’ve had over the last couple of years.  The bad-ness of the week causes me to want to hole up in my house for 3 days (YAY Long Weekend) with a whole bunch of fatty, starchy, crappy food and comfort myself like there’s no tomorrow.  This is not an effective way of coping with the bad-ness though.  Mostly because it would undo everything that I’ve worked really hard at this week (even through the turmoil).  Because it is not a sustainable way to deal with stress.  Because the turmoil will not be lightened by consuming a large mushroom pizza.  Using food (especially that kind) in that way is what put me on this journey.  It’s ultimately a cop-out for dealing with the feelings and emotions, because if I eat the large amounts of crap I can focus on feeling guilty and failure-esque, instead of dealing with the issues at hand. 

There will never be a ‘good time’ to lose weight.  It will always require effort.  Life doesn’t stop and wait while you get down to the weight you want to be at.  Life doesn’t actually care that you are trying to accomplish something.  You just have to learn to accomplish your ‘something’ while living life.  And unfortunately, living life comes with the good, the bad and the ugly (although The Ugly would be less so if she washed her hair and stopped over-using cheap perfume that smelled like the odor-eliminator garbage bags)(sorry, was that mean?).

OK, back on topic.  If food is the only way that you know of to cope with bad days, bad news, mean people, sadness, lonliness, unhappiness, anger and even all your positive emotions, then I’m afraid that whatever hard work you do and successes you accomplish will be undone by the eating. 

We have to find a better way.  We just have to, it’s that simple.  Suggestions for how you diffuse stress without using food are MORE than welcome.

7 Comments

  1. pantrypuff said,

    November 9, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    Boy you are right — there is no good time to lose weight. And the holidays are going to make it even harder because food is going to be everywhere, all the time.

    As for stress: I know the best thing to do is find alternatives to munching like exercise or knitting or busy work while watching tv or whatever. But sometimes, eating is just so comforting, On days where I know I need to eat a lot, I plan my meals really well — have lots of healthy snacks around and eat low-fat meals to compensate for the extreme snacking.

    Great theory, right? Eh. I need to stick to it.

  2. Bev said,

    November 10, 2007 at 1:34 am

    Sometimes I just watch really mindless TV. I probably couldn’t tell you what it was I watched but it’s better than eating, sleeping seems like TOO much of an escape, exercising is too much work. And when the real ‘awfulness’ passes, a walk and then a nap. I have to be careful when I wake up though because I’m still half asleep and can eat unconsciously.

  3. Tarable said,

    November 10, 2007 at 7:28 am

    As I sit here at 6am because I can’t sleep because I am so hopped up on stress from all the awefulness at work – I struggle to find an answer to this. Although I think that sometimes when it gets really bad, it might be ok to allow yourself a couple slices of mushroom pizza. (But not an entire mushroom pizza).

    Also I know that one of the best stress releivers is exercise. Maybe not running on the treamill until you almost pass out – but a walk outside can do wonders to clear the mind.

    Hope you have a good weekend – away from the awefulness.

  4. Tarable said,

    November 10, 2007 at 7:29 am

    Also I apparently can’t spell awfulness properly.

  5. Marueze said,

    November 11, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Stress Stinks…3 days back to work & I realize that it really is a trigger for my bad eatting habits.

    Tarable is 100% right – about having your pizza. Just don’t eat it at home. Point it out. Maybe have 1 slice & a salad. Or go for 2 slices of an individual pie. Just point it out – 2 slices are about 14 points. That is do-able if you think it out. If you put off the crave or substitute you will consume alot of calories/points and still not be satified. This is one craving you can give into. Better though if you don’t bring it home.

    To deal with stess instead of food….
    Shop
    Read
    Clean/reorganize the house
    Knit
    Call/ visit a friend
    Go to the movies
    Get out of the house Exercize/Take a walk
    Take a nap

    Analyze what is going on that is making you stressed.

    Try anything that will distract you.

    As you see there are alot of different things to do. Some more enjoyable than others.

    Hope you get un-stressed soon.

  6. November 12, 2007 at 2:02 am

    […] can I have another AMEN, for Lady Shanny! I am so with you on the eating to cope thing. It’s the hardest thing I’m finding to […]

  7. hueyea said,

    November 12, 2007 at 8:40 am

    Hey Shannon,

    I had a really crappy weekend and almost threw in the towel. The only thing I can think of to make things better is talking about it. Hope your enjoying your long weekend. I almost felt like making mine a three day weekend also.

    Hang in there with me, okay?


Leave a Reply

