The Big 1-0

This week I made it to the ‘lose 10% of your starting weight’ week at Weight Watchers.  Where I got this:

002.jpg

It’s a copper plated key chain.  The symbols are a ’10’ for the loss of 10% of starting weight, a star which signifies reaching goal weight and a key which signifies lifetime membership.  As I understand it, as you do those things, you get little charms for your keychain.

To be completely honest, I’ll never use it.  BUT, it’s a very nice, physical symbol of what I’ve done in the last 9 weeks.  As is Little Nano, the ipod that I bought as my personal reward (remember how I didn’t want to go to the spa?  Nano is what I got instead).  Granted, I’ve been using Nano for 2 weeks now, but that was neccessary for the walking.

I’m a teensy bit annoyed that the ‘big moment’ came today of all days.  We had some HUGE personnel changes at work this morning that none of us really saw coming, so my moment (which the woman at the counter FORGOT about and then lipped me off when I asked her to mark it down for the meeting) was overshadowed with stress and unease.  Which is why, I believe, that the number on the scale wasn’t a little lower.  I KNOW that I’ve lost more than 0.6 this week.  I know because I can see it and I can feel it.  But this was a really horrible day and by the end of it I had a terrible tummy-ache (T-able, I can only imagine how you feel).  Also, I didn’t walk to work today (I’m off until at least Friday morning) and I can certainly tell that I didn’t.  So I’m a little disappointed in the result, but it’s probably not entirely unexpected.  I had the ‘good pants’ moment earlier this week and several people commented on my ongoing weight loss and those are the results you can’t measure with the scale.  Right?

I’m off to hibernate under the covers and hope for a better tomorrow.

14 Comments

  1. twinsunplus1 said,

    November 7, 2007 at 5:48 am

    Congratulations on your 10%. It is a big milestone. You’ve gotten there so quickly too! Way to go.

    What is your next goal?

  2. November 7, 2007 at 8:08 am

    Congrats on the 10%! And you are right…there are many ways to measure success without a number on a scale!

  3. Tarable said,

    November 7, 2007 at 8:29 am

    My loss was very small as well and I do chalk it up to the complete disaster of a day. My body felt sooooo bad and yucky at weigh in time and it didn’t feel that way when I got up in the morning. Stress does terrible things to the human body.

    Congratulations on 10%. That’s really a terrific milestone.

    PS: I HATE it when the stupid WW workers are stupid and forget things or can’t add/subtract your weight properly! So annoying.

  4. unabashedworshiper said,

    November 7, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Congrats on the weight loss and reaching your 10% goal. Keep up the good work and get out there and exercise because it will help with the stress and make you feel better if not emotionally then physically.

  5. ladybeams said,

    November 7, 2007 at 8:53 am

    So happy for you! 10% alone would make a heck a difference for me. Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. JanB said,

    November 7, 2007 at 10:42 am

    Well darn it all, I am going to be your cheerleader then!! I am excited for you and waving my pom poms, don’t let the WW people who see this as their job get you down. We’re excited for you here at TFTS!!!!!!

  7. willamina said,

    November 7, 2007 at 11:35 am

    This is such an awesome achievement, Shanny 🙂 I know it must be tough, but try not to let the dark doings at l’office detract from your ability to appreciate all that you’ve learned and accomplished so far along your journey. More than your actual weight loss, I’m impressed by all the soul-searching and research you’ve done to find out who you are, what you like, and what makes sense for you. And that’s something no scale and no crappy work situation should be allowed to take away from you!

  8. November 7, 2007 at 11:37 am

    congrats on the 10%, you are doing a great job!

  9. hueyea said,

    November 7, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    Congrats! Way to go on the 10% ! I’m sure the other charms will be heading your way soon! Oh, just to let you know, don’t actually use the little key chain, it doesn’t lock very well and you’ll end up losing your keys and charms, like me, oops.

  10. MamaBearJune said,

    November 7, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    Congrats on reaching your 10%! Sorry about the other stressors. Hope tomorrow is a better day for you.

  11. November 7, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Great job on your 10%, that is just awesome!

    Can you e-mail me when you get a chance? Beth at scaletales@gmail.com, I can’t seem to locate your e-mail on your blog, otherwise I would e-mail you.

    THANK YOU!!

  12. desperatewriter said,

    November 7, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    Yay! Congrats on the 10% That’a fabulous. It’s a good way to balance out the bad part of the day. Even if you had to fight for it. Hope you feel better soon!

  13. Marueze said,

    November 8, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    10% woo hoo.
    I happen to enjoy the “token” giftees which WW doles out for our losses. A keychain works as a great anchor. I remember my mom getting a pin with a fake diamond…upon reaching her goal many moons ago. I had gotten a enormous keychain before. I like the fact that there are charms. Don’t forget you are entitled to a pair of clapping hands after 16 weeks of straight attendance. They often forget to “hand” those out. Pardon the pun. I often tell my lecturer/leader that at this point I have an entire audience of charms…but still haven’t regained the ellusive “key”. But that’s ok, I know I will get there again someday.

    As will you! Keep up the great progress.

  14. Lady Shanny said,

    November 8, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Ladies! So many lovely ladies, so many lovely comments! Let me respond to a couple of them:

    TWINSUNPLUS1: My next goal is 40lbs. I think it’s a manageable chunk. Actually it’s less than I had to lose to get to the 10%. The prize at the end of that one is a Canuck’s T-shirt. I’ve never wanted to buy one because I was too fat….and I figure 40lbs down is a good reason and probably it should fit me for a while.

    UNABASHEDWORSHIPER: I know…I’ve never been at the point where I felt like I needed to exercise, but this last week of being on hiatus for 4 days has been hard. My body definitely likes getting to do a bit of work. I was supposed to go and pick up the NEW new shoes on Thursday night, but what with the work situation, I just came home and crashed. So next week I’ll be back at it, and I can hardly wait. Shin splints, you better be healed!

    JANB: Thanks for the cheerleading….I think some of the pom-pom glitter might have made it over here….

    WILLAMINA: The personal ‘work’ has really been the hardest. It takes so much mental stamina, but I have most of the big stuff figured. I have one post coming and then I’ll have pretty much uncovered all the demons…that I know of!

    MARUEZE: I do enjoy the ‘gift’…don’t get me wrong. I like having it as a symbol of what I’ve done. I think the tokens that they give out are fantastic….my 16 week mark falls on December 18th, which, incidentally, happens to be my birthday. So I’ll make sure to get them to remember.

    THE REST OF YOU! Thank you so much for the congratulations and the praise. I appreciate it so much that you guys take the time to send a note.


Leave a Reply

