Admit Defeat? I Think Not!

Well folks, the new shoes are great!  Except for the excruciating pain I’m still feeling in my shins.  A reliable source suggested that I haven’t quite healed from the ‘ridiculous shoes’ pain yet and that by taking a couple of days off and then starting again, I may be able to eliminate or decrease the pain.

For those of you who have never suffered through shin splints, let me make it really clear.  The feeling is one of extreme muscle fatigue mixed with bone pain.  It’s not fun. 

Although I have no intention of giving up the walking, I do have to stop for a couple of days.  This morning after I struggled to work and got ready, I was sitting at my desk with full body chills and prickly heat.  I don’t know that one has to do with the other, but I can’t really afford to take the chance.  So I will be driving to work until probably Thursday.

I’m sad and frustrated, but in my heart I know it’s for the best. 

8 Comments

  1. Princess Darcy said,

    November 5, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    You should take the time off! I remember running five days a week up trails, down hills on my shin splints… it gets to the point that you can’t control the motion of lowering the front o your foot, so it kind of ‘flopps’ down… very painful… Remember… I had to take six weeks off after I got mine, so make sure you’re not being dumb and take some time off right away!

  2. desperatewriter said,

    November 5, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Yeah, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with taking time to let yourself heal.

  3. willamina said,

    November 5, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    This is only temporary—please don’t let yourself get too down over it. You went from 0 to 60 on the walking to work thing, and your body is cranky over it. Just keeping eating right and pat yourself on the back for all that you’ve been accomplishing. Listen to your shins and ease back into the walking when they settle down.

    You’re doing so great, and another part of this whole process is learning what constitutes taking good care of yourself. Right now, it’s giving your legs a bit of a rest ;).

  4. Bev said,

    November 5, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    All athletes have to work through ‘stuff’. Be kind to your legs, they’re the only ones you have. Maybe you could ice and heat alternately, or just ice like the nice boy at Kintec told you.

  5. Tarable said,

    November 5, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    You’re certainly not admitting defeat but instead listening to your body when it tells you that you need to rest and repair. I know it’s hard to do this when you’re just getting into a good groove, but like Princess Darcey said, it’s better to rest for a while now instead of having to take 6 weeks off later.

    This is a milestone you know. To be at a place that you can realize what your body is asking for and give it what it needs instead of ignoring it. Not unlike making the decision to be join WW and committing to a healthy lifestyle. Why would you keep doing something that is hurting you?

    Good for you for taking a break.

    A thought: aquafit might be something good to do right now as it is no impact but still keeps you in the exercise mode? Probably wouldn’t hurt your shins.

  6. The Empress said,

    November 5, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    I agree with Tarable about aquafit. Its what I did to get back into the swing of things after a knee injury that stopped me from doing anything for 6 weeks. Also, yoga might be a complimentary activity to help stretch out your muscles so you don’t cramp up.

  7. Marueze said,

    November 6, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    Don’t be so hard on yourself. I agree with all the above and if you are able to do the Aquafit pain free – that might be the ticket.
    I was suffering with a sore shoulder from weight training. Being away on vacation has given it the opportunity not to hurt anymore…But the test will be tomorrow when I go back to the gym myself. I’m not thrilled but always feel so good afterward. I hate that told you so look that I get from my friend when I say that. But it is the truth.

    Feel better….

  8. hueyea said,

    November 7, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    Ice, Ice, baby. Hey, your doing great! Let yourself and your legs rest. When you get back on your feet make sure to ice them when your done. My doctor told me to go for the ice not the heat. I listened to her and I can now run pain free. So cold, so cold. Love that song!


Leave a Reply

