Almost Missed It

When I was putting my laundry away this evening, I was trying to shove the pile of ‘donation’ clothes over so I could get into the closet.  I figured since the pile is growing at an ever faster rate, I should make sense of it and then go and drop the stuff off tomorrow.  So I went through my closet (again!) to weed out that which has gotten too big.  As I was doing it I thought I should try on some of the pants that my sister gave me (nothing larger than a 14) and see how much longer until I could start wearing them.  And it’s a good thing I did.  One of the pairs was too big already and 3 of them are perfect.  There are about 5 more that should fit in about a month and 2 that will likely be sometime next year.  I didn’t think, for one second, that I would be wearing a 14 already.  YAY!!!!!!!!!

It’s funny though, because although I can see the difference when I look in the mirror, part of me still thinks that I am GIANT.  That’s why it’s nice to be able to put a certain sized garment on.  Even though all manufacturers cut clothes differently, and I generally don’t care about the number on the tag (anymore), it’s still a little boost to the ego and motivation to keep going to put on a smaller size.

I’ll put a new ‘Journey’ picture up, hopefully after next weekend.  I wanted to wait until I was 10lbs lower than the last picture.  So next weekend I’ll be with my sister who can take the picture (right?) and I should be at least 10lbs lower effective Tuesday evening.

5 Comments

  1. lost said,

    November 4, 2007 at 2:43 am

    that’s AWESOME. a size 14 is GREAT. i’m already kinda slipping after only four weeks. sometimes i think i won’t ever make it. i’d be MORE than happy with a size 14/16 … 😦 but hey, GREAT JOB! 🙂

  2. pantrypuff said,

    November 4, 2007 at 6:52 am

    YAY! That’s wonderful! I am always amazed by the difference in people’s body shapes. I weigh 154 (5’2, BMI 29 or something) and I wear a 14. I can wear some 12s but not usually. I think I have a very thick middle and big-ass hips!

  3. Bev said,

    November 4, 2007 at 10:32 am

    I knew it!! 🙂 Good thing you tried the items on, and now you saved yourself a miserable pants shopping trip (even though I WAS going to help you!)

  4. Marueze said,

    November 4, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    Fantastic!
    I’m in the 14/16 range right now. On vacation I brought some older clothes that I left there for charity also.

    Unfortunately for me, even at my low weight of 180 lbs. I will probably still be a 14. If I lose more weight than that I constantly hear that I look sickly. So I’ll settle for the 14s.

    I’m in this for the long haul and for the health reasons. If looking good is the side effect I’ll throughly enjoy it.

    Congrats to you. Also, on the new shoesies!

  5. Anonymous said,

    November 18, 2007 at 9:48 am

    HI Shanny,

    Just trying to catch up on your posts since my departure to a land of sunshine and surfing.

    “I can see the difference when I look in the mirror,”….one day you’ll try on something too big and it will just click. It’ll finally sink in the magnitude of your success. You’ll be like Shit! That’s a lot of weight! And although it seems like a long journey now, it’ll feel like it happened overnight!


Leave a Reply

