Well THAT’S Better!!

Thank you to all you lovely people who wished me strength and endurance. 

While I was at work today, dreading the walk home, I came to a realization.  I’m not racing anyone.  I’m not going to win a prize for shaving time off the walks.  Just the shear fact that I am out there doing it, every day, is absolutely enough.  So this afternoon, I left work and walked.  Not marched, not speed walked, not jogged, not walk-runned.  I just walked.  I walked quickly enough to get my heart rate up and get a bit of a sweat going, but not so quickly that my footsteps were really heavy and jarring.  (I am a heavy walker at the best of times)

And it was fine.  I could still feel it in my legs but not nearly to the extent of causing me to cry.  The walk actually seemed quicker since it didn’t feel like someone was hitting me on the shin bones with hammers every step.   And now that I’m at home, I feel refreshed and re-energized, rather than beat down and defeated.

Lesson learned!  Just like when you cheat on the diet, you’re the one that gets screwed.  Evidentally, when I try to compete with myself physically, I end up doing far more damage than good. 

Also, I think that the $20 shoes I bought at Wal-Mart 4 years ago are perhaps not sufficient for what I’m doing now and are a big reason for my shin and ankle pain.  So this weekend I will go and get new shoes.  Impact absorbing, gel cushioned, properly laced cross-trainers.  Because I need them and I deserve to have decent shoes!

Also, last night when I was looking at the hockey schedule (Beer League) and realized that we have a game tonight at 8, I could not for the life of me see going to it after having had to suffer through my ‘commute’ home.  But I didn’t suffer and now I’m totally jazzed about going.  I love going and I was a little bitter and twisted last night that my new exercise was starting to interfere with my already really small social life. 

I’m back in the game, baby!

HERE is a really good article on shin splints, what they are, why they hurt and what to do about it.  It tends to keep mentioning people who run, but walking, especially if you are heavy-footed and create a lot of impact when you walk, can also cause it.  It also mentions that ‘dramatically increasing workouts’ will cause this condition.

8 Comments

  1. Krystle said,

    November 1, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Ughhhhhh Shin splints hurt like a son of a b!tch!!!!!!!!!!! I sure hope your legs get better. I can remember crying like a baby, my legs hurt SO bad.

    I started working at Target in high school, and after wear my 5 year old Doc Marten’s, and not having the shoes laced because it wasn’t “cool…”… I wallowed over, and bawled at night because my legs hurt SO bad. Even just tender to the touch.

    Yikes. Bad memories!!!

    Slow and steady, wins the race, right? Right!

  2. Krystle said,

    November 1, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    Ugh, I hate how my name always links to my regular blog… here is the link to my diet one….

  3. willamina said,

    November 2, 2007 at 6:32 am

    Yes, you DEFINITELY need to get a good pair of walking shoes! It’s an investment that will save you so much pain! Prevention is a good thing :). Best of luck shoe-shopping this weekend!

  4. Siggy said,

    November 2, 2007 at 8:30 am

    I know exactly what the pain associated with running is like. Check out a place like the Running Room when you go out lookinh for shoes. They can do a few tests on your feet and put you into a shoe that is right for you. I did and my feet/shins thank me all the time.
    So true about ‘racing’ not anyone but yourself. Wheter you run/walk or simply walk, feel good about the fact that you and only you can make or break your routines.
    For the water retention thingy…I guess being a guy I shouldn’t have the same problems but I know that I do…but a little trick I use is having some cantelope nearly every day. It really helps keep the water ‘flowing’. That and adding some type of citrus (lemon or lime) into the water you drink. (works for me)
    Keep it up, you are doing an amazing job!

  5. desperatewriter said,

    November 2, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    I think you are doing great. 🙂 And yes, you deserve the investment of a good pair of shoes!

  6. Princess Darcy said,

    November 2, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    I came up as anonymous last time! ME! Anonymous! How awful!
    Anyway, no offense to the girl who suggested running room, but they don’t know squat… most of them have no training other than basic retail training. Go to Kintec or some place where they’re actual pod… whatever they’re called… not podietrists, but they’re pod something… they’ll make you walk on the treadmill and see what your gait is etc… to see if you need motion control or whatever…

  7. Princess Darcy said,

    November 2, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    Hahah…I didn’t mean offense to the ‘girl’ who suggested running room when it’s really a dude.. sorry man!

  8. Marueze said,

    November 3, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    Getting the proper shoes and finding the proper pace is important to you getting your walking in place. Walking is a great exercise and works wonders, especially towards consistant weight loss. I’m not really a fan of the “E” word, but walking helped in facilitating the process of losing weight for me especially the first 50 lbs.
    BTW, thanks for the well wishes on the Italy trip. It was absolutely wonderful. In testimony of all the walking. . .I enjoyed all different kinds of delicious meals, lovely wines and decatent gelato and pastries (sometimes twice daily). At weigh in this am I was down 1.4lbs. That is pretty good. I attribute it to all the walking that was done.
    So my recommendation is to find your pace, variate it at times and keep on trucking. LOL.


Leave a Reply

