Isn’t that nice!

Isn’t it nice when a plan comes together?  When what you are eating is actually starting to have a benefit to your body rather than just weight loss?  It certainly motivates me to continue to avoid crap and eat the healthier, cleaner foods that our bodies were made for.

Let’s review.

Yogurt, cottage cheese and cheese strings ~ I have one yogurt, a cup of cottage cheese and a cheese string every day.  And I’ve definitely noticed that my fingernails are stronger and growing faster and my hair is shinier.

Bananas, apples, kiwis and oranges ~ the vitamin ‘C’ in all of these, while I can’t be positive, has so far been able to help me avoid getting even a sniffle….and if you know me at all, that is impressive!

Almonds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds ~ definitely assist in keeping a satisfied feeling for longer (especially if you combine the almonds with a fruit).  Notice I didn’t say ‘fuller feeling’.  If my problem was eating only when I was hungry, I wouldn’t be here.  The problem is feeling satiated and content, not munchy and bitchy.  And the seeds definitely help with that. (watch the sodium content though)

Soy beverage, tofu ~ aside from really enjoying the ‘dairy & meat alternative’ products, I found something interesting online about the soy based products.  Evidentally they are high in naturally occuring tryptophan (the ‘drug’ in turkey that makes you sleepy).  Every night, about 30 minutes before bed I have a soy latte.  I started doing it 8 weeks ago because I needed the sweet fix and I HAD to have something before bed so my tummy didn’t growl at 3am.  In the last couple of weeks I’ve noticed that I have to time the latte to pretty close to bedtime because I started to get really zonky.  Like I couldn’t keep my eyes open anymore.  Now, the levels of tryptophan (an amino acid that triggers the production of seratonin, which is one of the hormones that brings sleep) in soy beverage is about .28g/125ml and turkey has .33 for 125g, so I can’t say for certain that is the cause.  But perhaps (and DesperateWriter, you may want to try this) when you have conditioned your body to a particular event or item shortly before bed, it is a signal that it’s time to get sleepy.  Either way, it’s a really nice side effect.  And soy/tofu are healthy and good for you.

Sea Salt ~ I replaced my regular table salt with the coarse Sea Salt from Victorian Epicure to try and reduce sodium intake.  Sea Salt has a more subtle taste and the coarse texture is nice because you can actually see the salt on your food rather than just taste it.  It has more of a crunch to it and is more pleasing to the palate (mine, anyway).  The jury is out on whether or not sea salt actually has less sodium in it than table salt, but I find that I use far less of it than the fast flowing table salt and in that way have decreased my sodium intake without actually eliminating salt.  Just a reminder, the human body NEEDS sodium.  It is an essential mineral that helps control and regulate hydration.  Just don’t overdo.  Go HERE for an easy to understand article about why and how much sodium you need.

Fibre, fibre, fibre ~ without getting all disgusting on you, the increase in fibre in my diet has been handy.  Not only does it do the obvious, but once my body got used to the extra bulk, I found myself getting less bloated and feeling less toxic.  I believe that ‘toxic’ feeling contributes greatly to when I’m having a ‘fat’ day. 

Water ~ Skin?  Nice.  Hair?  Nice.  Unless you’ve been living under a rock for awhile, you probably know all the benefits of water; eliminating toxins, lubricating joints, delivering nutrients to cells, helping brain function, regulating body temperature, flushing out fat cells and much more.   Drink up, kids!

So that’s it for my diatribe on the health benefits ASIDE from weight loss that I’ve been experiencing since I began eating healthier and cleaner.  Anyone else?  What have you noticed?

1 Comment

  1. willamina said,

    October 30, 2007 at 6:30 am

    I love hearing about these non-scale victories (NSVs)! I’m so glad you’re reaping the benefits of a nutritious, varied diet 🙂


Leave a Reply

