Last One, I Promise

Clearly, my posts of late are boring the crap out of people….readership has taken a huge nosedive….but this website is mine and the whole point is to help myself.

But, as I promised, I will not post anymore about the walking.  Except for the Day One Review, which I will do in point form to keep things short.

1.  This morning’s walk = 21 minutes

2.  This afternoon’s walk = 25 minutes (it’s 1/3 uphill on the way back)

3.  The bridge sidewalk is completely covered with ladybugs.  Which is kind of cool until you just about sprain an ankle trying to avoid them.  Then you just turn the iPod up so you don’t hear the crunching.

4.  Bicyclists over the bridge are ignorant jack-asses (Tarable, you were SO right).  They don’t seem to understand that there is a finite area for you to move over to get out of the way of their Handlebars of Doom as they go zipping by at Mach 3.

5.  Getting ready at work is NOT my idea of a good time. 

6.  Any toxins I may have had, or may accumulate on a daily basis, should be flushed out by all the sweating.  Holy crap!

7.  I need to quit smoking.

8.  I am incredibly out of shape

9.  I’m in this for the long haul, slanty rain or not!

 I’ll be back to post weigh-in results tonight and then I should be back to regular Lady-Shanny style posting tomorrow.

6 Comments

  1. willamina said,

    October 23, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Go, Shanny!

    As for the vagaries of readership, don’t sweat that, for the love of god . . . this blog is for YOU, above all else ;).

  2. Tarable said,

    October 23, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    Told you, those cyclists are bastards!

  3. twinsunplus1 said,

    October 23, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    Congrats on making it (and getting ready for work!).

    Cyclists + bridge = WTF?

    I might not comment, but I’m still here reading….

  4. October 24, 2007 at 7:03 am

    I just quit smoking in June! you can do it!!

    and I too am out of shape!

  5. katapilla22 said,

    October 24, 2007 at 7:53 am

    1+2=46 minutes of cardio a day! Nice!
    3. “No actual lady bugs were harmed in…”
    4. Bicyclists in Stanley Park are ignorant jack-asses TOO! I find that the elbows up, lock and load technique seems to work. At least your elbow hitting them in the arm will make the handlebar to the stomach more tolerable.
    5.Not envious of this one. For YEARS i used to do the gym in the morning, and even though I had the full shower set up there, I hated the whole ritual of getting ready in some place that wasn’t my own bathroom.
    6.Remember to drink lots of water to replenish the water you lose through sweating. =)
    7. I concur, but I realize it sounds so easy to do for someone who is a non-smoker .
    8. I have no idea what your physical fitness level is, but I do know that It’s never too late to get in to shape. Sounds like you’re on the right track and you’ll be amazed at how quickly you’ll see improvements! Keep it up Shannon!
    9. Ya the rain part SUCKS in this province! But I must admit, I always feel so accomplished after working out in the rain. Just knowing that I could have stayed in bed, which is clearly more appealing, but pushed through it anyway is such a good feeling.

    Just remember…there might be a day where you just don’t feel like doing the walk. If you opt out of it for one day, don’t beat yourself up later for it. It just means you deserved the break….

    Awesome job Shannon!

  6. katapilla22 said,

    October 24, 2007 at 7:55 am

    OH…and I would still like periodic updates on the walking situ.


Leave a Reply

