Henh?

Results page is updated. 

 I have nothing much for you tonight.  Except that we talked about the whole ‘moving more’ thing at the meeting and they say that a person definitely SHOULD be eating their activity points (extra food points you earn for exercise).  I don’t love the idea of eating more because it goes against everything that the ‘diet world’ has always told us.  BUT, if you think about it like a car, it makes sense.  If you put a fixed amount of gas in your car every week and drive the exact same amount of kilometers every week, it should be just enough.  But what if you decide to drive your car an extra 25km in that week.  Probably it would need more gas.  And evidently, so does your body.  So I will eat the extra activity points.  And I will make SURE that the food that I pick has a good nutritional value.

See y’all tomorrow.

6 Comments

  1. Tarable said,

    October 23, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    I’ve certainly heard some conflicting reports on the topic of “To Eat or Not to Eat” activity points lately. One leader says yes, definitly eat them and one leader says no way.

    Personally, I’ve always had more success when I do eat them. So that’s what I’ll continue to do – even though, I sometimes feel bad about it. But that’s thanks to the stupid conflicting advise of the WW leaders.

    Actually thinking back on it, it is usually the very fit and active leaders that have said to eat the extra points and it’s the floopy doopy leaders that say not to. I’d rather be fit and active than floopy doopy.

    I say eat them.

  2. Lady Shanny said,

    October 23, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    I think the feeling bad is about the whole “must suffer” while on a “diet” thing. But I am going to eat them because I AM A CAR. I’m going to make sure that what I eat for my activity points is in relation to the amount of effort I put out. For instance, I don’t think I’ll eat Pringles after the walk, but a hardboiled egg should put back the energy that I burned. Down with floopy doopy, long live fit and active!

  3. lost said,

    October 24, 2007 at 1:09 am

    our leader here in germany actually says that you don’t have to but can eat your activity [bonus] points BUT no more than 12 a week. so even if you exercise every day for 5 points, that doesn’t mean you can go crazy and have a big pizza by the weekend. using them on the same day one something good [like that egg] sounds like a good idea to me though… oh and GREAT results this week! 🙂

  4. willamina said,

    October 24, 2007 at 7:43 am

    I dunno. When I trained for a marathon back in 2001, I ate whatever the hell I wanted and maintained a reasonable healthy weight. So it doesn’t seem like there should be some invisible cut-off as to how many of the activity points you can eat.

    You’re losing weight at a phenomenal rate and even if it slows down a bit you’ll still be doing great, plus you’ll be strengthening your body and building muscle. So don’t skimp on the food! You’ll be too tired to exercise then.

  5. katapilla22 said,

    October 24, 2007 at 10:11 am

    I’m not familiar with the WW plan and these ‘activity points’, but I do believe in the ‘gist’ of the idea and that is you need to fuel your muscles in order to burn more calories etc. I also agree with LS this it’s important these points are “quality” points, which I think is key when it comes to losing weight. We all know that old saying calories in, calories out… well if you’re adding in exercise and extra food to fuel that exercise but it’s TOO many calories, then you’ll likely only maintain your weight. So it is a fine balance if you still want to lose.

    Something I find is even more important is the timing of these calories. I think it’s important to never let yourself go hungry. I was trying to explain this to someone the other day, and well, couldn’t find the words to answer why…so I did some research and found someone who put it into perspective much better then I could.

    “We’re so used to hearing people talk about eating less food that it’s become weight-loss doctrine. But as you remember from the physiology of metabolism, you have to eat more often to change your body composition. The new philosophy I want you to keep in mind is “energy balance.”
    Researchers at Georgia State University developed a technique to measure hourly energy balance — that is, how many calories you’re burning versus how many calories you’re taking in. The researchers found that if you keep your hourly surplus or deficit within 300 to 500 calories at all times, you will best be able to change your body composition by losing fat and adding lean muscle mass. Those subjects with the largest energy imbalances (those who were over 500 calories in either ingestion or expenditure) were the fattest, while those with the most balanced energy levels were the leanest.
    So if you eat only your three squares a day, you’re creating terrific imbalances in your energy levels. Between meals, you’re burning many more calories than you’re taking in. At mealtimes, you’re taking in many more than you’re burning. Research shows that this kind of eating plan is great — if your dream is to be the next John Candy. But if you want to look slimmer, feel fitter, and — not coincidentally — live longer, then you need to eat more often. In the same study, subjects who added three snacks a day to three regular meals balanced out their energy better, lost fat, and increased lean body mass (as well as increased their power and endurance).
    In a similar study, researchers in Japan found that boxers who ate the same amount of calories a day from either two or six meals both lost an average of 11 pounds in 2 weeks. But the guys who ate six meals a day lost 3 pounds more fat and 3 pounds less muscle than the ones who ate only two meals.
    There’s science to support the fact that more meals work, but the plain-speak reason it works is because it does something that many diets don’t do: It keeps you full and satiated, which will reduce the likelihood of a diet-destroying binge.”

  6. MamaBearJune said,

    October 24, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    I don’t do the point thing either. But when you are active, I think it’s good to get lots of protein to fuel the muscles, which burn more calories. Lady Shanny, I loved the posts about your walking to work. Your determination is quite admirable. You could have easily made excuses about what wasn’t available, but you did what you needed to do to make it possible. You have every right to be proud of that.


Leave a Reply

