Like Christmas Eve

I’m totally excited about walking to work tomorrow.  That’s right, the day has finally come!  I just got back from the plant where I dropped off all my stuff (clothes, makeup, hairdryer, shoes….all the stuff I don’t want to hump back and forth every day).  I installed a hand held shower head, cleaned the bathroom with bleach, put up the privacy screen, got an electrical outlet set up and now I’m ready!

Are you guys sick of hearing about this yet?  I can’t help it.  This is the first time EVER that I’ve willingly exerted effort when I have a perfectly good car to get me somewhere.  It’s the first time EVER that I’ve inconvenienced myself and tried something totally different. 

I’ve taken all the safety precautions that I can by getting a head lamp and a high-visibility vest.  I think I’m going to leave a little earlier tomorrow so I have time to work out any kinks with getting ready at work.  If I’m super ahead of schedule, that will leave me time to have a nice, relaxing coffee before I have to start work.

I’m totally set.  I’m a little nervous about doing it, but it’s not something that will take me hours every day.  29 minutes either way and I’m done. 

Wish me luck, I’ll let you know how it went tomorrow (and then I’ll stop talking about it, I promise!).

4 Comments

  1. lost said,

    October 23, 2007 at 1:22 am

    i think it’s awesome that you’re going through with it. WAY TO GO! 🙂

    i started riding my bike to work again every morning [and it’s only 15-20 minutes each way] and overall it’s going good. i mean, i did it for six years when i didn’t have a car, so… still, there are tough days where it’s hard – when you have a nice, warm car in front of the house – to bundle up and ride your bike in 30 degrees. but hey, it’s for a good cause and we can do it! 🙂

  2. willamina said,

    October 23, 2007 at 6:23 am

    I actually really like hearing about it :-). So… how did it go??!

  3. hueyea said,

    October 23, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Way to go! I also enjoy hearing about it. So one question though. With the train and walking. How far are you from work?

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    October 24, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Hi Hueyea! From my door to the parking lot at work is about a 16km drive (a little under 10 miles) each way. The walk that I’m doing is 2.5km each way. Right now it’s about a 13 minute mile for me on the way there and a 16 minute mile on the way back, uphill. I was able to shave a minute off each way today, and I know it’s not super fast, but I work pretty hard at it and I think it’s pretty impressive for someone who doesn’t do ANY kind of physical activity.

    I had to stop going to Aquafit after only 2.5 weeks because of the chlorine aggravating some previous skin issues, but this is WAY better anyway.


Leave a Reply

