That wasn’t bad at all!

OK, inaugural bridge-march completed!  A little over 2km each way and it was FINE!  It took about 29 minutes from my house to drive to the station, ride the skytrain 2 stops, get off and get walking.  29 MINUTES!  Some days it takes me that long just to get out of my neighborhood.

So, I will be walking to work.  I have only one more thing I have to do and that is make sure that a hand-held shower can be put on the tub in the ladies room and find/install an electrical outlet for my hairdryer and straightener.  So I won’t be able to start bridge marching probably until next week, but other than that, I’m good to go. 

I figure that I will take all my stuff and drop it off at work on Sunday night when they open up for graveyard shift (I am usually at hockey on Sunday nights until around 10 anyway, so it’s just a hop skip and jump from there) and then drive over to work on Friday evenings to collect said stuff.  I already have duplicates of my hairdryer and straightener and I will get duplicates of things like face wash, so all I’ll be carrying in the backpack is my lunch, wallet, change of clothes and some cosmetics.

I’m almost good to go!

I’m off to shower and then lay around on the sofa while my Curried Butternut Squash soup is cooking.  If the recipe is good, that might make it to Recipe of the Week.

And Mareuze, have a fantastic trip to Italy!  I’m jealous!

And a BIG thanks to my mom for coming with me today!  You didn’t have to do it and I really appreciate that you did!  Now can you tell Carey that it isn’t bad so he can stop worrying?

6 Comments

  1. willamina said,

    October 20, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    I’m so excited that the bridge march went well! That’s great news! Anything that reduces your time in traffic and exercises you at the same time is a great innovation :).

  2. Bev said,

    October 20, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    It was fun, any time spent with you usually is! Glad it all worked out….and the rain held out too.
    I’ll send the message to him telepathically (sp), apparently we are already on the same wave length!!

  3. desperatewriter said,

    October 20, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Congratulations, LS! Good for you!

  4. katapilla22 said,

    October 20, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    The bridge walk sounds like a great plan. You know I used to commute for over an hour both ways to work??!?!! (Have no idea how i did it for so long!) Commuting is so stressful and well, stress adds weight. I think you’ll notice a drastic change once you start this program! It’ll be hard starting out in the fall/winter, but come spring and summer those mornings will feel so refreshing!

  5. October 21, 2007 at 11:11 am

    […] That’s great, Lady Shanny! Maybe someday I’ll catch on to your […]

  6. hueyea said,

    October 22, 2007 at 7:00 am

    Way to go! What a great idea! Less stress and exercise, you can’t beat that combo!


Leave a Reply

