Weekend Plans

I just spent the last hour setting up and playing with the new iPod nano.  Shanny likey!  Shanny especially likes the NHL podcasts!

Tomorrow I am going to do the walk to work (yes, I know it’s Saturday) in the afternoon.  I’ve never done it before, so before I can make an informed decision about whether or not this is going to be something that I incorporate into my life, I need to see what it’s like.  I also need to time the walk and Skytrain ride and see how long it takes.  I understand that it’s uphill on the way back, and once we’re on the south side of the bridge, there is no way to get back except walk.  That will be a LOT of exercise for one day, but I’m ready!  Ready, mommy? (I’ve convinced my mom to join me on the inaugural bridge-march)  Fortunately, there is a Starbucks at the end of the first leg, so we’ll be stopping for some refreshments before we march back.  Cross your fingers that it doesn’t rain (too hard).

Also this weekend, I think I’m going to have to break down and buy a couple of new pairs of work pants.  The ones that I’ve been wearing look bloody ridiculous, they are so big.  And even though it’s nice that they are loose, it doesn’t do much for me when I look in the mirror and see really baggy clothes.  I hope to find a really good deal somewhere, because I do not plan to be wearing them for very long.  I can’t really justify spending a tonne of money on pants that shouldn’t fit in a month or two.  I’ve been having to cinch up the Lulu-Lemon pants that I wear around the house and to yoga, but I won’t be buying any new ones of those until I know I’ll be wearing them for a good long time.  My sister gave me a bunch of work pants, but I’m still a few months out on those.  I’m excited to already have a bit of a wardrobe for when I get down closer to an acceptable weight.  And it didn’t cost me a dime!

That’s about it.  The only other thing of interest to report is that I’ve been really good about not eating empty calories.  I’m actually going to make a change to one of my lunch-time staples.  I have never loved the idea of eating deli meats (even though I love them) because of the chemicals and nitrates.  So starting next week, the deli meat goes.  Which will do good things for reducing my sodium intake, I think.

And finally, the very, VERY sad news.  The 1 point Chocolate Muffins (recipe can be found HERE) are not actually 1 point!  I’ve calculated what I think they are (2 points) but I’m going to check with my WW Leader as it’s her recipe.  I’ll give you the update on Tuesday night when I know.  I am SO sorry!  We should have known it was too good to be true!

I’ll be back tomorrow evening and I’ll let you know how the bridge-march went.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

4 Comments

  1. lost said,

    October 20, 2007 at 2:47 am

    good for you about the walk to work. it’s great that you may have the chance to take a shower there (and decision regarding that issue at work?). i’d been thinking about walking early in the morning before work but a) i really can’t drag my butt out of bed that early and b) it’s still dark at the time and the walking-route is kinda scary and lonely so… unfortunately my gym doesn’t open until 9 am so i have to keep the after-work-workout which is hard a lot of times, especially after a long, tough day at work…

    i can’t wait to wear my smaller clothes again. i have a lot in a size 16/18 that i love and i’m not THAT far away. hopefully by christmas i’ll fit in those clothes again.

  2. Lady Shanny said,

    October 20, 2007 at 8:00 am

    I’m with you about the clothes. I have some I really love and I can’t wait to wear them again.

    The decision about the shower has not been made yet, but there is a laundry tub (don’t ask) in the ladies room that I am going to add a handheld shower head to. I’ll just wash my hair in there and have a sponge bath until the shower thing gets sorted out. If I wait for someone to get going on the shower, I’ll be dead before that ever happens.

  3. Marueze said,

    October 20, 2007 at 11:21 am

    So smart you are to give it a test run/walk. Back when I was working on losing the original chunk of weight I insisted on only walking because 1. I love to do it 2. the gym in the past had been something that once I missed a session or two I would abandon the plan.

    I used to do the walk 1 hour to work from where the bus lets me off in Manhattan. The shower thing… as long as you can sponge it & have a change of closes if it is cool enough you may find that you don’t perspire too much. I changed and sponged and applied makeup and never felt uncomfortable. In the summer I would do it on the way home due to the heat factor.

    But I even asked my co-workers that I was friendly with & I was at a Wall Street firm where there were some snobby / overly groomed individuals and they said that I was fine. Something like that would get you send to Human Resources. LOL.

    Even if you do it once a week that is a great thing to do.

    As for week end plans…I’m off tonight to Italy…I’ll miss your tales of your journey.

    I don’t know what time I will have to get on the Internet. But I know when I get back I will be reading about your continued progress.

    Hopefully, I will be able to hold my own emerging myself into this cultural / culinary experience.

    Inasfar as I lost 1.8 today I feel I am within the zone and will enjoy and make sensible yet tasty food choices.

    Loved your advice to me by the way! Thanks, & Ciao, Bella!

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    October 20, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Mareuze, have a really, REALLY excellent time in Italy! Don’t worry about us, we’ll be here when you get back! 🙂

    Enjoy every minute and every bite!

    Ciao!


Leave a Reply

